Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The first time I ever saw the BSO was from a performance on CATS. I wondered who they were...when I found out it was Bloomington's own community orchestra, I couldn't believe it. They were so much better than any community orchestra I'd ever heard. Several years ago I auditioned for the second violins. Suffice it to say, I've never looked back. I have never been so impressed with a nonprofit's musical direction, choice of repertoire, dedication, congenial spirit, contribution to the community, and level of excellence. I have seen Maestro Latshaw make music accessible to untrained listeners, volunteers give all they have and more, participated in "side-by-side" concerts with budding high school musicians, children's smiles at the "meet the instruments" program, etc. None of the eight Indiana University Orchestras, the POPS or Camerata (to my knowledge) do these things. Plus, the BSO affords those of us for whom music is an avocation the best possible orchestra opportunities in a town where there would otherwise be very few. I thank my lucky stars for the BSO!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have performed alongside the Bloomington Symphony Orchestra several times as a fill-in and was amazed each time at the level of musicianship and passion involved! Rehearsals (and concerts) have a clear structure and the musicians are focused on the end goal of delivering a great concert to the public. Their children's concert was brilliantly delivered, had an outstanding turn-out, and, best of all, gave dozens of kids the opportunity to have invaluable one-on-one learning experiences with the instruments! This is one community group that unites to perform their best and deliver enlightening, educational, and enriching concerts to members of the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a professor of nonprofit management at the top ranked (US News) program in the country. It is also my pleasure to donate to the Bloomington Symphony Orchestra and to serve as their sometime consultant on governance and strategic planning. I also helped paint their office!! In the end, this is a great volunteer-driven organization with a terrific artistic director, an energetic board and volunteer cohort, who produce amazing concerts. If you attended their Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique last month, your hair would still be standing on end. Go, BSO!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The BSO provides unparalleled entertainment as well as educational opportunities. From the musicians and director to the board members, talent and dedication abounds at the BSO. Few other cities can boast of such a well run, talented, and positive organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 3, 2012

Donna told my story. Word for word. I could not have said it more eloquently. more

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been playing violin in The Bloomington Symphony for many years and have experienced its influence on the community first hand. Of special value is its exposure and hands-on experience of music to children. But audiences too get to a treat, not only by listening, but gaining fascinating backgrounds to the music they hear and in an entertaining format. For the musicians it is a wonderful chance to make music, to involve family and friends. The Bloomington Symphony is a true intergenerational community, a celebration of sharing, among one another and with the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Donna told my story. Word for word. I could not have said it more eloquently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The BSO is a premier example of the rich culture of the Arts in Bloomington, Indiana. From the orchestra's masterful performances to the educational programs for the community's youth, every city should be so lucky!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For many years the Bloomington Symphony Orchestra has provided accessible concerts with a lovely combination of the classic and the challenging. Living in the shadow of an internationally known school of music, the BSO plays an essential role in reaching out to the non-university-affiliated and in working with high school students to help them see how to keep music in their lives. In recent years, the concerts have been especially engaging and informative. The collaborations with other arts organizations, the players' enthusiasm for their conductor, and the great music they make together have been a truly wonderful gift from the orchestra to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Bloomington Symphony Orchestra provides the opportunity for both amateurs and professionals to share in the glorious art of music making. There is something for everyone at every concert, and usually some surprises along the way. A great group of people conducted by the talented and fun-loving Charles Latshaw.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Bloomington Symphony Orchestra offers a rich and supportive outlet for amateur musicians to join together and share their talents, but it provides a much broader series of meaningful services for the local community. In my time with the orchestra, first as a volunteer musician and now as a board member, I've been able to take part in a series of remarkable musical musical events, from tackling monumental works in the standard classical repertoire--i.e., Mahler's first symphony--to introducing stringed instruments to children at an event designed to let kids "Meet the Instruments." Without deviating from its core mission of creating a space for musicians in the community to gather and perform, the BSO supports a series of educational and arts advocacy programs. For example, the orchestra maintains a collection of instruments that it repairs and loans to you musicians in Bloomington, it regularly collaborates with community artists and arts organizations, and it presents a free annual children's concert. Plus, I would be remiss if I didn't mention the incredibly dedicated, dynamic, and welcoming people who the make the orchestra special. The BSO is truly a gem.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Bloomington Symphony Orchestra is a wonderful organization that has provided a fantasitc opportunity for personal and musical growth. This has been the first orchestra I have joined since college, and I am very proud to be a member.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Play with the orchestra (rehearsals typically run 2.5 hours per week)

Usher at a concert

Attend a concert

Help with fundraising (stuff envelopes, contact supporters, etc.)

Help with the Children's Instrument Recovery Program Volunteer