Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.1755
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

My experience with BVA was life changing. Start to finish my VA Compensation Claim case was completed in less than four months. Big KUDOS to Ms. Claudia Perry and Ms. Cecilia Montenegro from BVA. They were kind, very helpful, sharp, professional, understanding, and well in-depth knowledge of VA and RP.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As the Founder and President of the Global Campaign Against Improvised Explosive Devices (IEDs) I can state without hesitation that BVA is perhaps the finest organization we've worked with in support of veterans and their families.

BVA's unfaltering support to our veterans, active duty and
their families has been manifest in their unqualified support not only whenever we needed it, but when others called for assistance. This extends beyond the military to their help in facilitating critical information sharing of blast trauma related data and research with the private sector and first responders especially in the make of the Boston Marathon attack.

At every opportunity and without hesitation on continually point to BVA as THE benchmark for what a a Veterans Service Organization should be and how it should operate. They literally set the standard.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As a recently retired representative of the American Optometric Association (AOA), the professional society representing doctors of optometry in both the private sector and those practicing in the federal sector (military, VA PHS), I would like to voice my opinion of the Blinded Veterans Association. I have had a long-standing working relationship with BVA officials that goes back for decades and over that time I witnessed an admirable arc of maturation and growth in BVA's representation product. My experience with BVA was not centered on direct member service but rather on BVA's advocacy efforts and I can report enthusiastically on the solid reputation that BVA enjoys with Members of Congress. It is my opinion that, year in and year out, BVA has been an exemplar for Veterans Service Organizations in their advocacy efforts before Congress and the administrative agencies. BVA has led the way in securing greatly improved services for blin rehabilitation, low vision, and, more recently, in polytrauma, traumatic brain injury and its effects on vision.
Writing from the perspective of a former representative for an individual membership association, I am most sensitive to individual members' assessment of their membership association. From an association staff perspective, its our sensitivity to members' charge of:"what have you done for us recently"; and, from the association member perspective it's "we pay our dues (etc) yet we wonder about the value..." This refrain from both the staff and member perspective has always been thus; it's the vdery nature of association representation no matter the endeavor. But rest assured, there is QUANTIFIABLE evidence BVA takes a backseat to no VSO when it comes to their committment to steadfast - and sometimes even aggressive - representation for BVA's agenda. Just ask to see the record of "points on the board" BVA has compiled for its members.

David S Danielson
American Optometric Association 1975-2013

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My name is Paul Davidson and I am the Federal Program Manager for Deque Systems Inc. Deque Systems is a Prime Contractor to the Veterans Administration where we test and partially remediate html content that is in the public domain as well as behind the VA firewall. Our goal is to significantly improve web accessibility for blind and disabled veterans who are dependent upon screen reader technology to interact with the agency content such as Insurance, Benefits and Career sites. Deque has had the good fortune to work with the Blinded Veterans Association as we identify use cases for these web sites. We have worked closely with BVA field staff to understand some of the challenges that blinded veterans face. BVA has outstanding staff and management that are committed to the cause and greatly benefit the disabled community and specifically our nation’s veterans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more access to senior executives who can make policy decisions on web accessiblity.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

My name is Daniel L. Wallace I am a 20 year veteran of the U.S. Army, in 2003 I was wounded by a car bomb in Iraq. After retiring I felled distant and unwilling to participate in any service organization. In May of 2013 I finally decided to attend the Hines school for the blind, it was there that I was introduced to the Blind Veterans Association. At first I thought that since I was partially blind that it was my duty to join. About a month later I was contacted by Christina Hitchcock and asked if I would like to attend the annual convention in Spokane WA as a member of Operation Peer Support. My answer was yes and it turned out to be one of the best decisions I have made in a long time. Meeting my fellow veterans rein stilled a sense of pride, camaraderie, and belonging that I have not felled in a long time. Words cannot express how grateful I am. Now it is my turn to try to help other veterans, and let them feel that they belong as well.


Thank you


Daniel L. Wallace


1SG (RET)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The organization, which is one of a kind in its support of blinded veterans, has many positive aspects. Firstly, the FSP Program and the Legislative Affairs Department and their advocacy for the rights of blinded veterans are outstanding. Where the organization lacks is in the areas of funding and leadership. It is unfortunate that many of the members do not "step up to the plate" and get involved, and this includes many within the ranks of the elected Board members. It is a “Good Ole Boy network and is highly nepotistic, to put it mildly. The Board members, by the By-Laws of the organization, have to come from the ranks of the membership. Although this may be a great idea since the Officers of the organization have a firm commitment to the goals and mission of the organization, this severely limits those who can serve in leadership positions. This has resulted in a limitation of those with sound business or non-profit experience serving in key decision making positions within the organization. Additionally, the key funding source for the organization remains Direct Mail solicitations. This is a financial resource drain and the Return on Investment (ROI) for this type of funding source is less than optimal. On another note, the membership will soon be facing a major crisis, since the majority of members are from the WWII era, and the lack of recruitment of “younger” members to keep the organization a relevant voice for blinded veterans will be in jeopardy when the membership “dies out”. Lastly, when you look at the IRS I-990 reporting form, the majority of funds do not go to direct veteran services. It can be argued that the reporting is skewed and that some of the funds are not counted correctly in the direct service area, but it is still the fact that this needs to change in order to be considered or ranked higher as an organization that people want to donate to in order to provide services to blinded veterans. It is quite difficult to give to an organization with a 0 or 1 star rating when it comes to non-profits. Although the BVA is a BBB accredited organization their non-profit ranking by all of those organizations who rate non-profits, such as Great Non-profits and Charity Navigator, have the BVA ranked in the 0 or 1 star rating category. So when you look for an organization to donate to, Caveat Emptor should be the final word on where your money should go.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the structure of the Board of Directors and the Officers of the organization

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013

more

June 17, 2013

By far the best nonprofit organization for blind veterans. Big kudos to Ms. Claudia Perry and her staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2013

more

February 20, 2013

To Whom It May Concern:
I would like to acknowledge how helpful and supportive the Blinded Veterans Association has been to me as a blinded veteran. They have helped me directly to get training and helped me deal with the emotional issues surrounding blindness and put me in contact with other
veterans in similar situations. They have been instrumental in the training that the VA provides at their various blind centers throughout the country. The support they have provided in understanding my benefits has improved my ability to deal with my blindness. Their local chapters provide an avenue of meeting other veterans in the community in which I live with similar conditions. I would strongly recommend that if you are a blinded veteran that you contact the BVA regarding benefits that you may be qualified to receive.
Best Regards,
James P. Huber

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2013

more

February 5, 2013

What can I say about the BVA? First I would like to say thank you to Claudia Perry and her staff @ the DC VA. They are a tremendous help to me in answering any questions I may have about my benefits and rights as a veteran. I use to be a member if another organization and every time I called for help with my claim itvwas always something and it would take forever to get a call back. It got to the point where I was all ready to give up about filling my claim. The day I meet Claudia and her staff was a blessing. For the first time I truly felt like I had someone in my corner helping me through the VA process. Again THANK YOU BVA!!!! My life is alittle bit more manageable because of your staff @ the DC VA.

MT

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2013

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
September 27, 2012

I believe that the Blinded Veterans Association has to look at there hiring policy. When the position for Executive Director became vacant, the job was announced on line and in the BVA bulletin. Th... more

January 19, 2013

Evidently the last reviewer was unaware of the way this organization is run. It is completely top heavy. Unless things change this organization is heading for a downfall !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I believe that the Blinded Veterans Association has to look at there hiring policy. When the position for Executive Director became vacant, the job was announced on line and in the BVA bulletin. The closing date for applications was Feb. 29, 2012. n order for an application to be considered, the applicant had to meet the first qualification of being a member. The new Exec. Director was hired almost 2 months later, AND, he was not a member when the applications closed. If he was not a member by Feb. 29, 2012, his application should should have been turned down. They hired someone who knows nothing about the organization, and met very few of the qualifications!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend some time at your local VA hospital with recovering veterans.