Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

This is a wonderful rescue and sanctuary. They save the ones who would not have a chance of finding good homes from shelters and take in those from shelters that would euthanize them. Most of the cats are blind or vision impaired, or they may carry the feline immunodeficiency virus or the feline leukemia virus. The little ones are well cared for, have food, medical care, many toys, as well as attentive staff and volunteers. I have to applaud organizations to care about the ones this society would otherwise find undesirable or disposable. More power and donations to them!
August 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Blind Cat Rescue is an amazing organization that rescues blind, Felv+ and Fiv+ cats that would be euthanized in community animal control shelters. Alana Miller does this work as a labor of love. The sanctuary is amazingly transparent in what they do, broadcasting their activities online through Ustream video streaming, FaceBook and their own website. Donors can tune in each night to watch the boxes they sent being opened, receive thanks and chat with other cat lovers. In addition, they have a open house each month that is open to viewers so they can see not only the cats, but the entire shelter, which is the cleanest, most efficiently run shelter I have seen. They are a model shelter form which other shelters could learn something.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it larger!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Blind Cat Rescue is an organization dedicated to helping cats that very few people are willing to adopt. They are also incredible at engaging participation through their wonderful newsletter and community activities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have made 2 small donations to this organization. That's all I could do but I always get a personal thank you from Alana. I love that they welcome the public into their rescue via live streaming video. They very regularly open boxes of donations/gifts live. I may be several states away from this rescue but I will continue to watch online and help out whenever I can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have finally found a charity that actually lets you see where your donations are going. They post videos and pictures all the time. The owner, Alana, takes the time to thank each and everyone for everything they do for her sanctuary. This is the best place to put your money if you are looking for an animal charity. She also has a needs list on amazon.com..so if you want to send a product you can go there and pick something out for the kitties. My husband is so happy with the Sanctuary that he took the time to build some bird houses for it. There are kitties that aren't blind there so they can have fun watching the birds. Please give to them..they are worth it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Just a brilliant, huge hearted, selfless & dedicated small sanctuary taking in as many blind & FIV+ cats as possible that would otherwise end up euthanized for their 'lack' of adoptability. I donate monthly by sponsoring a gorgeous cat there so I hope many others will follow suit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was blessed and honored to be the mom to a blind cat for almost 11 years. The love you receive from these fur babies compares to nothing else. My little love Stevie Wonder crossed over 7/6/11 after fighting kidney failure for just about 2 years. I miss him more than ever, but somehow I found Blind cat Rescue and in some small way I feel like I still have contact with that love. Alana has a heart of gold, and it is most apparent that she loves these babies more than anything. God Bless Alena, Blind Cat Rescue and all of the fur babies she has under her wings. She is an angel on earth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Each time I have donated something from the Cats' Wish List or sent a small donation, I have received warm personal thanks from Blind Cat Rescue. It is clear - from the transparency shown on their web site, photos of the grounds, the visitors and most importantly, the cats, and the detailed descriptions of who they are and what they do - that they put the welfare of these differently-abled cats first and foremost. They do their part to educate the public about how "normal" sight-impaired cats can be, and encourage their inclusion as part of the family with just a few helpful tips and lots of love. It is my wish that they receive enough funding and volunteers so that all needs are met and BCR can keep going strong for generations to come. From a $5 cash donation via PayPal to purchasing some food, medicine or supplies from the wish list to monthly sponsorship of one or more blind kitties or a nice large financial contribution, you can be confident it is put to good use and very much appreciated.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Everyone at Blind Cat Rescue are so dedicated to saving blind cats and educating the public about how blind cats can lead happy, healthy, and fulfilling lives. Oftentimes, blind cats do not show well in shelters due to the shelter environment that is unsettling so without rescuers like Blind Cat Rescue they are doomed to death. The cats are well cared for and they will take care of them until the perfect home comes. It is amazing what these folks can do on a shoestring budget.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2010
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 20, 2010
3 people found this review helpful

I donate monies to several animal societies/rescue organization. most of the money goes to administrative fees, which I do understand. The acknowledgements that I do receive are often generic in nature. The Blind Cat Rescue is the only organization that I receive acknowledgment from within a few days after I mail a donation. They update me on what is going on with the cats, any expansion projects etc. When donating to this organization I truly feel I am making a difference for the cats. So much in fact that I have recently named them as a beneficiary for my retirement plan.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

see above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep it the same

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Play with the cats Volunteer