Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 16, 2013

In 2008 while visiting my son, an English teacher in Qinzhou, China I entered his high school lunchroom to find a small cluster of students around an American woman with a translator. She was inter... more

July 31, 2014

Blessing Hands started with high school scholarships to the Peasant Farmers children and poorest of children in Southern China. It has expanded to the needs of these schools by now providing water purifiers, ambulances, medical personnel and the list goes on.

Betty Cutts gives tirelessly
of her time and energy enrolling nationals as well in her goal of getting these children through school. They now provide university scholarships as well. I have met and become friends with several of the recipients of this charity. Following them as they are now college graduates with good jobs sending money back to their parents and siblings to help pull them out of the extreme poverty felt by so many rural areas of China.

Amazing results for the investment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to clone Betty a few dozen times.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 16, 2013


In 2008 while visiting my son, an English teacher in Qinzhou, China I entered his high school lunchroom to find a small cluster of students around an American woman with a translator. She was interviewing students who had asked for a scholarship to pay their tuition cost so they could remain
in school. Their families were too poor to pay the modest fees charged by the public school system in China. As she qualified each student for a scholarship another would then sit down before her and present his request. The process seemed very straight forward. When the last student was through I introduced myself to Betty Cuts and was treated to a friendship that has lasted and lasted. I discovered she represented Blessing Hands Charity which, at that time only granted scholarships to high school and college aged students.

The funds that provide those scholarships come from donors who will correspond with the recipients and receive updates on their progress through the school year. When I learned that the Charity had no paid staff and all the funds went to the students I began to understand the dedication and commitment Betty had to provide the most benefit to each student possible. Since our first meeting the scope of the Charity has enlarged to provide pure drinking water to rural schools, medical aid to children of the most rural areas of China and this may only be the beginning of what I see as a total commitment to the peasant Farmer’s children of rural China.

Over the 6 years I was in China I supported several College students with scholarships through their university years and now follow their careers as they have left behind the peasant life they started in and have become productive participants in the Chinese ascension into the Global Economy.

The vision that started Betty on this amazing trip has continued to grow as her base of supporters pass on the word to others of what great things come from participation in Blessing Hands scholarships and projects.

Jerry Dickison

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Betty Cuts with 25 more just like her

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I started donating to "Blessing Hands" about six years ago. What Betty has done really inspires me to help those in need. Betty consistently puts her love, her time, her gift and her heart in helping those in need through this nonprofit organization. I really admire her. I believe what this nonprofit organization have achieved has great impact to those students and families who are poor and in need in China. I will continue contributing to "Blessing Hands" as much as I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

This charity was truly born out of love for others. Their mission and vision have such a great impact in the lives of the children and community there, as well as in the lives of those of us involved here. We are really blessed to have this opportunity to serve and be involved. What strikes me as a great feature is that this organization is truly there to serve, from top down, everyone volunteers their own time and money for others. There is so little overhead so the money goes to where it is supposed to go: to the children. This is a wonderful example of how "Love does", just go and do good for others... no hidden agenda, no coveting of glory, no greedy people... just kindness in action. It is through the little ripples touching the lives of others that we make a difference. I will continue to encourage and support this great group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 9, 2013

I pay the tuition for a child to go to high school in China. I recieve correspondence from my young friend there. I know I am helping someone who wants an education. I am thankful for Blessing Hand... more

October 17, 2013

I am proud to be a part of the work that is done by Blessing Hands.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

I pay the tuition for a child to go to high school in China. I recieve correspondence from my young friend there. I know I am helping someone who wants an education. I am thankful for Blessing Hands and Betty Cutts for doing this great work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger. If I had more money I would give more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I met Betty at a conference where she came up to me and asked for help. I listened to her story about how Blessing Hands helps poor Chinese children have an opportunity for an education.

A few months later Betty and I connected and spent a weekend completing their system and loading in all
the students and Donor information. Betty was tireless in the mission to complete the task. We accomplished her goals so she can communicate with all the students and sponsors easily.

Betty and the Blessing Hands team are dedicated to their mission and persistent in making a difference in the world. I'm happy to help.

Tom Politowski, CEO
Nthropy, Inc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

We sponsor three children through Blessing Hands: a college student, a middle school student, and an elementary school student. The amount of money Blessing Hands collects for each is very small, yet provides so much to these children. They all write letters to us, and they seem very motivated to learn and so appreciative of our sponsorship. Blessing Hands seems to encourage them to reach out to others in their area, and to pass their blessings along.

I have known Betty Cutts for 40 years, and I have great respect for all she does. She cares for each child, and visits China often to check on all facets of the charity. She is a very intelligent woman of great faith, integrity, and compassion, and she is a great friend to so many.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

in an era when many non-for-profit foundations extract immense expenses for operation, it is a rare treat to find one as selflessly devoted as blessing hands aka betty cutts has with financial integrity, using extremely limited resources, impacted so many less fortunate lives. Many of these less fortunate have acquired an education they otherwise would never have received, and now are contributing to society. My brother and i also operate a non-for-profit in Hong Kong, and have known this organization since 2002

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them with more resources

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013


Blessing Hands has help me distribute Peace Postcards in China, www.peacepostcards.org and I have helped with tuition for several students.
Allan Weiss, Founder
Peace Postcards

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

I have known about Blessing Hands and their mission for a number of years now. At first, I didn't know that much, and I didn't get involved, but I paid attention to what I heard about them. Finally, I went to a couple of events where Blessing Hands had an information booth. When I really looked over the material, I realized how much difference they were making in the lives of poor, deserving Chinese kids, and I also was amazed at how much they could do with a small donation. I have since made several donations, and I intend to do more in the future. I feel that for a given amount of money, a donation to Blessing Hands can make more difference in the lives of people than any other nonprofit group I am aware of. A really small amount of money can result in a child getting an education... first through middle and high school, and if they do well, through college. And after this, the recipients will most likely help others in their family and their community to also get educated.. so the results just snowball!
Blessing Hands also provides water purficication for schools in poor, rural areas--literally changing the lives and the futures of all in those communities.
If you don't have unlimited wealth, but you want to help others, there is no other organization that I know of more deserving of your support --- a small donation really does make a difference -- and when you donate, you will know exactly what your contribution is going for. If it's for a student, you will receive genuine communication from that student.. your help will change their life, and their gratitude will change yours !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do more to publicize the work they do.. somehow personalize the kids who benefit from their mission.. show more Americans that in spite of our "rivalry" with China, these kids are sweet, beautiful, and desperately in need of help --- and most of all, spread the word about how a small donation can make such a monumental difference in the life of a child.. and probably the extended family and community of that child.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

That was my first time to be a volunteer in a nonprofit organization. I feel good about this experience and think that Betty is really a nice person. She is pretty energetic and because of her, I fall in love with to be a volunteer! I really hope that Blessing Hands can make big difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Contribute their talents in Internet Technology, Accounting, art, social media, advertising, access or any other talent to help our rural Chinese Students.