Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

With family histories of both cancer and diabetes, I have looked to the Black Women's Health Imperative website for accurate information to help me live well...and longer. I want a wonderful quality of life and the lifestyle tips, encouragement and FACTS are what I need to stay on track. I've walked with them, and attended programs just when I needed an extra boost! Who else is looking out for black women's health like them? I don't know of another national organization, and I'm totally grateful.--Living Better in Maryland Lady

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

The Black Women's Health Imperative has provided me with Leadership as well as Self-Help Prevention Education Training and Diabetes Prevention and Self Management Training. The leadership of these dedicated women has inspired me to be a better Community Leader and to keep my torch burning. The training I received has expanded my tools and enhanced my group facilitation skills. Their self help methodology for wellness is helping many women change their lives and their world. I am so impressed that I will support their efforts in any way that I can.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

Black Women's Health Imperative published a very resourceful book, Health First! The Black Woman’s Wellness Guide, which has been a personal blessing. At a time when I thought I was being more supportive of the organization's initiative, I received a wealth of knowledge in return that has help me with several health concerns as a black woman. I have found myself picking up the book and visiting the blackwomenshealth.org website for many of the answers that we, as black women, question about our health and those that we care for. I encourage others to purchase this wonderful book or refer to the website for much of our concerns.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I've known about the Black Women's Health Imperative for about 20 years. Their Walking for Wellness programs helped me start a fitness program. I was 320 pounds and didn't think that I could exercise for fear that I would have a heart attack - seriously! Then one day my friend from Atlanta told me about this organization and a walking program they had. The program was about taking small steps, getting together with friends and just talking. The idea is that Black women need support and need to talk about our problems and joys. It worked for me. Now I'm 129 pounds ligther and not afriad to exercise and talk. The program made me realize that I was eating because of depression. Walking helped me physically and emotionally. I hate that so many Black women don't know about the Imperative but they know Coach, MAC and Macy's. The Imperative deserves this award more than any other nonprofit!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

The Black Women's Health Imperative is one of the best non-profits around for many reasons. I feel honored to be able to spread their message here in my state of New Jersey. They do amazing work by helping women of color with their health, and I cannot want to tell everyone to purchase "Health First" which is one of the best reads around. I feel dedicated and inspired with this organization to continue to keep up the great work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I have been involved with the Black Women's Health Imperative (BWHI) for about 4 years. They have provided me and my daughter with tools and information to improve our health outcomes. My daughter and I volunteered to participate in the Girls Leading Our Way (GLOW) Program and it was not a dissapointment! GLOW helped my daughter and I have conversations about sexual health, self-esteem, body image and making positive choices. BWHI has also served my community be providing free health workshops on exercise and healthy eating and diabetes prevention. I appreciate the work done by the BWHI and look forward to continuing to be involved in future initiatives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Health First! is an amazing resource guide for Black women. The Black Women's Health Imperative produced a "gift" for us. 400 pages of great health advice for today's Black woman. Thank you Black Women's Health Imperative for caring about my health. No other organization does it like you!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I appreciate the Black Women's Health Imperative because they tweet useful information that has helped me live healthier. For example, I did not know about a Black woman's risk for breast cancer until BWHI started tweeting information. Now, I perform monthly breast exams. I hope that women continue to support this wonderful information. Their website is fabulous too!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers