Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

The Black Women's Health Imperative provides unique, dynamic, timely leadership with bold vision and strategies. I am heartened by the company it keeps -- grassroots, everyday women who can be mobilized for culture change and policy change, as well as experts (researchers, health care providers, public health advocates, and others) and decision-makers at every level. It has been providing training and added resources to local organizations that work on Black women's health, been a strong presence and a vital voice in public policy circles, published an excellent book, and helped set the research agenda. The Imperative has a small staff that is working hard and working smart, making every investment count with a multiplier. It has a Board that includes the founder and many newer members, all committed to continuing the legacy while creating innovation. I have long wanted to be a donor to the Imperative, and am looking forward to that opportunity. It is a GREAT nonprofit and deserves GREAT support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012

more

June 16, 2012

The Black Women's Health Imperative is the only organization that speaks to the heart, body and soul of Black women. The work addresses our pressing health needs in a way that reflects our perspectives. It is the only organization dedicated to us. The self help work has enabled me to understand my inner struggles and provided me with tools than helped me form better relationships with my family and friends. My improved psychological well being enabled me to take better care of my physical health. All of this I do in the presence of my sisters who have taught me so much. Thanks for being a big part of my life

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

I first learned of the Black Women's Health Imperative 13 years ago as a graduate student in Atlanta. I was so happy to learn of an organization dedicated to promoting the health of black women that I served as volunteer for their Walking for Wellness program. This was the start of a long and rewarding relationship with the organization. I have worked with the Imperative on a number of projects ever since and continue to be impressed by the commitment that it has to improving the health of black women and families. The Imperative's Moving Beyond Pink breast cancer is a groundbreaking program that calls attention to the disparities and challenges facing black women with breast cancer. No other organization is doing this critical work of not only sounding the alarm, but training community leaders and advocating policymakers for resources that will raise awareness and expand research on why black women are more likely to die of breast cancer than women of other races. The Imperative has always focused on empowering women in the community to make healthy choices not just for themselves, but also for their families. I am so proud to see how the organization has evolved and expanded to reach a new generation of women through social media and community events. The Imperative is truly a Great Nonprofit that provides information, tools, social support, and a powerful voice for our health care needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

As a board member, I couldn't be more proud of the impact the Imperative has had on Black women in America. We train trainers to be health leaders in their communities, we provide extensive and accurate info on our website (that has become the "go-to" site for many journalists), and we inspire and encourage women and their families to live healthful lives. The data for Black women and their health can be daunting, but the Imperative focuses on what we can do TODAY to improve the outcomes for our lives. There is no other work that is more meaningful in my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

Where would we be without the Black Women's Health Imperative? There is no louder, stronger, more supportive advocate for the well-being of black women and girls. Because of the imperative, our communities and policymakers know our health issues matter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

The Black Women's Health Imperative is the ONLY resource dedicated to and for black women's health. As an advocate for black women, the organization provides unparalleled services and serves an unmet need in communities who need support most. It is with great honor that I lend my voice in support of a movement that was established years ago and continues to live on through strong leadership and a dedicated staff despite the hard economic times and the assaults against women's health and black women's health.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

i benefited by the Diabetes training and the support the organization gave me. I have been teaching ever since to thousands. i'm also on a Medical Practice diabetes teaching Advisory Council having benefited from my association with this organization. And I'm in awe of their advocacy efforts on the hill & ongoing educational teleconferencing that I take to congregants, i have a wide black audience .........Rev. Geraldine Pemberton

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

This is an amazing organization that provides invaluable research and resources for women in need. The leadership provides outstanding direction in meeting gold and securing assistance to better the community. Their list of achievemts is extremely impressive and it has encouraged me to continue to support thm because they hold fast to their mission and vision.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

The work that the Black Women's Health Imperative does is extremely important. The Imperative is committed to putting the health of Black women and girls first. Various programs and initiatives help to education women, policy makers and other stakeholders about what is needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

There is no other site solely dedicated to achieving optimal health for Black women. Understanding that our issues are unique and complex, I am so happy to know that I have an advocate in the Imperative: fighting for us in the halls of Congress, engaging young women in my community and working with providers to ensure access to the quality care we so deserve.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers