Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

Birthline provides emotional support, material assistance, referrals to other community resources for any pregnant woman, as well as women with small children.
We believe it is our obligation to encourage women to choose life and then support them in that choice.
We do this by offering our
friendship, giving food, formula, diapers, clothing and referrals
to the community, including their own faith based church so as to help any pregnant woman, and women with small children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Birthline offers hope and a helping hand to women and families often facing desperate situations. The volunteers encourage women to build a life for themselves and their families by connecting them with resources for education and job training, as well as helping them with immediate short term needs of food and clothing. The volunteers care very much about the women they serve and their children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2012

As a 10+ year volunteer of Birthline, I find it to be all I hoped for and more. It really does give its clients much of what they want and more of what they need. It is a life-saver for many. I als... more

June 18, 2013

Since I've been volunteering at Birthline for a number of years, my only regret is that I'm getting older and will someday not be able any longer. Birthline is fulfilling for both the volunteer as well as the client, as they interact to find ways to solve problems. When a client says she is so thankful that we are there for her, it is the most wonderful feeling. And knowing that all donations go to provide services for the clients (there are no paid staff) makes it even more gratifying.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue doing as we have done over the years: making those changes that result in Birthline being even more of an asset to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

As a 10+ year volunteer of Birthline, I find it to be all I hoped for and more. It really does give its clients much of what they want and more of what they need. It is a life-saver for many. I also feel it is well worth the donations I give as well, since there is no paid staff and all the funds go into keeping it going all these 33+ years. When we take a picture of a mom and her new baby (one for our wall and one for mom) and present her with a layette of all new clothes and other items for her baby, it is a wonderful feeling, for us as well as for her.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2013

more

June 8, 2013

My husband & I have been volunteering at Birthline Monday evenings for just about 2 years. This is the most amazing place. In particular Birthline welcomes everyone who has chosen to parent their children regardless of color, creed, citizenship etc. We see all kinds of needs come through the door and watch folks leave with real help & encouragement. Birthline is a blessing to clients & volunteers alike.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Birthline is a great resource to the community. It helps women and young children by providing them with clothing, books, etc. It is staffed by volunteers who love what they do. It's an honor to be a member of the team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

After twelve years of volunteering with Birthline of San Diego County, Inc. I continue to feel blessed to to work with so many wonderful people who serve women (and their children in San Diego) who are in turmoil. It is truly a privilege to work towards the common good of my sisters in Christ. MAF

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I am a volunteer at Birthline and have personally experienced the saving power of this organization. We do more than hand out diapers and formula. Women come to us scared, lonely and desperate. They leave knowing that they are not alone. We care and these women can feel it. Birthline has made me a more caring person. I love being able to put a smile on the faces of these beautiful women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

My daughters Brownie troop earned their Bronze award helping Birthline. They saw first hand how their work and donations helped the mothers-to-be. It also showed them how difficult their struggles were, just providing the basic needs of their families. They do great work at birthline for both emotional and tangible support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I am a volunteer at Birthline and am so proud to work with all the wonderful people and volunteers there. I teach full time at a college and volunteer on my lunch hour. I usually come there beaten down by all my work stress, but after spending an hour with the warm and awesome people there, I leave feeling uplifted and proud of the work I do and the people I work with. Susie Hutchins

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Catherine Ewers started Birthright during 1979 in a garage behind the rectory at St. Jude's Shine in Southcrest. Catherine's philosphy was that every women has the right to have her pregnancy be a joyful time in her life. And, every child has the right to live. Seeking to expand on what she started with Birthright become Birthline of San Diego County in 1990 with centers in Clairemont and Chula Vista. In 1988 she was among six counselors from Birthright to be honored at the White House by President Regan during a meeting with prolife organizations. My 20+ years as a volunteer has seen amazing growth as Birthlne continues with inspired volunteers who counsel mothers with children who need clothng, food, diapers, formula, and resource references that include food sources, housing, medical, child care, legal, etc. Imagine the emotion when a mother places her baby in a volunteer's arms and says, "Thank you for helping me keep my baby!"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend time with babies while their mommies access social services; organize the donations room; stock the shelves of the Corner of Good (food pantry), Garden of Smiles (children's clothes/toes/shoes) and Closets of Hope (women's clothes/shoes); answer the phones; counsel and comfort young mothers; research grant opportunities; perform community outreach calls; plan a fundraiser; write thank you letters/notes; enter information into database; create awareness campaigns; help with annual activites: Walk for Life and the Christmas Party. dust, vacuum & clean. Volunteer