Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

Birthing Project USA is an awesome organization which began over twenty-five years ago as a grassroots organization by ten women and one man who truly wanted to make a difference in the lives of families from African decent. The Birthing Project is a true example of the power a few dedicated volunteers can have. Under the direction of founder Kathryn Hall-Trujillo, affectionately known as Mama Katt to those involved with the program, this once small group has come to support and empower families on a global scale. The beauty of the birthing project is that each individual involved truly wants to improve upon our future starting one baby at a time.
I always look forward to the yearly conference/meeting. It is an amazing time to be able to spend with women and men from everywhere with one common goal in mind.
Lastly I love the concept of Safe Birth Kits, which are only $5.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more funds available so more families can be touched in more communities by the birthing project

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Birthing Project USA is the perfert example of grass roots organizations. We provide cost effective practical social care and caring to pregnant women, families and communities both locally and globally. No other organization I know will come to the house and see "how you're doing". Birthing Project is the perferct fit for African American culture. A big thank you to Kathryn Hall-Trujillo for the vision that has open my eyes to the possibilities of volunteering.

Alice Rogers-Johnson
Southeast Arkansas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding to bring more communities and nations together and to enhance the national staff to support more local affiliates.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

My history with BPUSA began in 2007 as a volunteer community-based doula. I had the opportunity to serve women in my community who exhibited great risks for infant mortality due to their environment, lack of support during their prenatal period, & limited access to navigate resources in the community. After assisting more than 40 families toward healthy birth outcomes, I was saddened by the prospect of giving it all up when our local program lost its funding & we had to close our doors. As I continued to serve the community, requests for the birthing project services were continually being presented to me; so I inquired about continuing the program in my local community. I wanted to continue to volunteer my services to expand the legacy that was established by BPUSA. To date, my local community has been honored with 2 distinct projects, served over 300 families toward healthy birth outcomes & continue to provide programming in a unique way that garners proven results. It is my pleasure to volunteer my time & effort to serve in the capacity that I love: empowering & educating families to make healthy, evidence-based consent to birth with dignity, pride & respect. Thank you BPUSA for establishing the template to foster my calling.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them identify their brand & market it more effectively.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Birthing Project USA is an excellent organization.I have personally witnuess life changing positive birth outcomes.A new mother stated"Thank you so much for your support.I am now breastfeeding my baby.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Birthing Project USA is a remarkable organization that is saving the lives of babies globally. The work is done with a genuine love for the mothers and babies encountered. For 25 years, the BPUSA has been doing the work necessary to help reduce infant mortality rates.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I am Project Manager for an affiliate project of BPusa in Sacramento, California. This national and international effort has supported no less than 13,000 at risk babies. The support from the umbrella organization and leadership is phenomenal. We are encouraged to find high caliber volunteers to meet needs of babies at highest risk of infant mortality and morbidity in a way that makes sense for the individual community. In Sacramento we have a goal of lowering rates and preventing the children of pregnant teens in foster care from ending up in the system. BPusa has given us the tools to find little sisters, match them with sister-friend volunteers. As a result we have healthy, full term babies born into our project. Without our parent organization we would have a difficult time meeting our goals. But our success doesn't end at US borders. BPusa supports babies in 9 countries who face health care inequities to the tune of maternal deaths being an expected outcome. Thanks to the projects, safe birth kits are distributed preventing maternal and infant deaths in rural communities around the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to let more people know why it exists and have an opportunity to join us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers