Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

Birthing Project USA is an awesome organization which began over twenty-five years ago as a grassroots organization by ten women and one man who truly wanted to make a difference in the lives of families from African decent. The Birthing Project is a true example of the power a few dedicated volunteers can have. Under the direction of founder Kathryn Hall-Trujillo, affectionately known as Mama Katt to those involved with the program, this once small group has come to support and empower families on a global scale. The beauty of the birthing project is that each individual involved truly wants to improve upon our future starting one baby at a time.
I always look forward to the yearly conference/meeting. It is an amazing time to be able to spend with women and men from everywhere with one common goal in mind.
Lastly I love the concept of Safe Birth Kits, which are only $5.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more funds available so more families can be touched in more communities by the birthing project

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Birthing Project USA is the perfert example of grass roots organizations. We provide cost effective practical social care and caring to pregnant women, families and communities both locally and globally. No other organization I know will come to the house and see "how you're doing". Birthing Project is the perferct fit for African American culture. A big thank you to Kathryn Hall-Trujillo for the vision that has open my eyes to the possibilities of volunteering.

Alice Rogers-Johnson
Southeast Arkansas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding to bring more communities and nations together and to enhance the national staff to support more local affiliates.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Birthing Project USA is an amazing organization. It helps to improve the lives of women children and families all over the world. Their national, annual conference brings women from all different walks of life together to share, bond, celebrate successful birth outcomes and to make improvements to the work being done for the next year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase the funding they have available to support themselves and the other Birthing Projects that have been established.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

The Birthing Project USA which is a volunteer effort that utilizes the strengths of the community to encourage better birth outcomes.

We are trying to keep more babies alive and healthy here in the Twin Cities of Minneapolis/St. Paul. This is our strategy! We are gonna support our moms
& babies and be there when they need us!

Minnesota's pre-term birth rate has grown worse. The change isn't drastic; the rate climbed just three-tenths of a percent last year, from 9.9 percent in 2011 to 10.2 percent in 2012. Among Minnesota's American Indians, 13 percent of babies are born prematurely, and 12.7 percent of black infants are, compared to 9.4 percent for whites.

Our work is to change this with using the Birthing Project USA model!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

My history with BPUSA began in 2007 as a volunteer community-based doula. I had the opportunity to serve women in my community who exhibited great risks for infant mortality due to their environment, lack of support during their prenatal period, & limited access to navigate resources in the community. After assisting more than 40 families toward healthy birth outcomes, I was saddened by the prospect of giving it all up when our local program lost its funding & we had to close our doors. As I continued to serve the community, requests for the birthing project services were continually being presented to me; so I inquired about continuing the program in my local community. I wanted to continue to volunteer my services to expand the legacy that was established by BPUSA. To date, my local community has been honored with 2 distinct projects, served over 300 families toward healthy birth outcomes & continue to provide programming in a unique way that garners proven results. It is my pleasure to volunteer my time & effort to serve in the capacity that I love: empowering & educating families to make healthy, evidence-based consent to birth with dignity, pride & respect. Thank you BPUSA for establishing the template to foster my calling.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them identify their brand & market it more effectively.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Birthing Project USA is an excellent organization.I have personally witnuess life changing positive birth outcomes.A new mother stated"Thank you so much for your support.I am now breastfeeding my baby.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Birthing Project USA is a remarkable organization that is saving the lives of babies globally. The work is done with a genuine love for the mothers and babies encountered. For 25 years, the BPUSA has been doing the work necessary to help reduce infant mortality rates.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I am Project Manager for an affiliate project of BPusa in Sacramento, California. This national and international effort has supported no less than 13,000 at risk babies. The support from the umbrella organization and leadership is phenomenal. We are encouraged to find high caliber volunteers to meet needs of babies at highest risk of infant mortality and morbidity in a way that makes sense for the individual community. In Sacramento we have a goal of lowering rates and preventing the children of pregnant teens in foster care from ending up in the system. BPusa has given us the tools to find little sisters, match them with sister-friend volunteers. As a result we have healthy, full term babies born into our project. Without our parent organization we would have a difficult time meeting our goals. But our success doesn't end at US borders. BPusa supports babies in 9 countries who face health care inequities to the tune of maternal deaths being an expected outcome. Thanks to the projects, safe birth kits are distributed preventing maternal and infant deaths in rural communities around the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to let more people know why it exists and have an opportunity to join us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

Review from JustGive
November 30, 2012

This organization is truly revolutionary. By building on the assets of the African-American community, and providing the kind of personalized, caring connections that at-risk moms and babies need to overcome the personal and social barriers to healthy pregnancies, safe births, and secure and stable families, they are truly making a difference where many social and medical services cannot despite their best efforts and intentions. By providing a trained, caring volunteer "Sister-friend" who can support the new mama with whatever she needs, help her make the best use of the services available to her, and to believe in herself and her right to a healthy life and family, the Birthing Project is bringing longstanding African values to a modern American problem that we have not been able to fix otherwise- the disproportionate prematurity and deaths of moms and babies of African descent. The founder Kathryn Hall-Trujillo is recognized nationally and globally for her pioneering work. You can help her found a Birthing Project resource center so that this project can be replicated more broadly. Now in over 100 communities worldwide and counting 13,000 babies born into the arms of empowered mamas, its success is unquestioned. Help spread the love to more at risk babies and mamas today, you can make a real difference. Donations made before 12/27 will help qualify us reach a crucial fundraising goal for 2012 that will qualify us for further foundation funding in 2013.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers