Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

Big Sunday helped to make our school look FANTASTIC for the start of our new school year! I am constantly amazed at how much the colorful walls/murals make a difference for our staff and children. I am so appreciative of all of the people who volunteered their precious time to come out and make a difference at our school. The murals were very student friendly and oh so colorful. I can't thank Big Sunday and their volunteers enough for brightening up the school. They are an awesome organization that certainly deserves the highest awards.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

If there were 10 stars on the 5 star rating, Big Sunday would get 15 from me. Wow! What an organization! Big Sunday's staff was so organized and courteous with all of us at Normandie Elementary, a school in South Central Los Angeles that I could never get tired of saying thank you to them.

Big Sunday's team led by Mr. Levenson and Berenice with the rest of their team could move mountains. They brought in a team that transformed our dilapidated walls at our 110 year old school and made them look new and freshly painted with murals that are student friendly. I can imagine how hard they worked to transform our school and for that all I can say is THANK YOU!
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

I have worked with Big Sunday for more than 6 years through the schools where I have worked. Big Sunday has sponsored beautification days, providing materials, tools, volunteers, water, and many essential supplies. Recently Big Sunday brought over 100 volunteers and literally transformed our school campus, cleaning, planting, painting and repairing. We took part in the back-to-school project and received backpacks, school supplies and a huge amount of much needed materials that were donated for distribution. They are the greatest!
November 19, 2013

more

November 19, 2013

Big Sunday is truly the most spectacular non-profit organization that our FAMILY has ever encountered! There are thousands of wonderful organizations, but none that are this inviting, inspiring, organized and heart-lovingly-fulfilling for every member, of any and every age, of our family. Big Sunday has completely re-wired the word Community Service in all of our hearts and minds to Community Passion - Love, Support and One-ness. Through Big Sunday and because of Big Sunday, for the last 6 years (almost 6!), my children and I have had some of our most favorite and special times together, with leaving our electronics back at home or in the car and being fully together while working, creating, building, organizing, etc., for those who are in need ...and when our time in each day or activity is through, we all feel happier, hug each other a little longer and tighter and know that we have made a difference and will hopefully add a little love and happiness into the heart of someone whose day could really use a little glimmer of hope, love and kindness. These are the moments that you can't buy. Even though our time at Big Sunday or working with Big Sunday is for others, it is truly our favorite gift to ourselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring more friends with us to help more often.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

To say that Big Sunday has changed my life -- and the lives of thousands of people -- is an understatement.

Over 10 years ago, I got my first glimpse of what Big Sunday was all about. I started volunteering on a small scale, making lunch and doing craft activities with Ability First, an
apartment complex for adults with disabilities. After two years, I became Social Action Chair at my temple and had access to hundreds of volunteers. I got "promoted" within Big Sunday and was asked to create a carnival for foster children at Penny Lane in North Hills, while their foster parents participated in classes. With over 80 volunteers, we set up a homemade carnival, fed them hot dogs, hamburgers and ice cream, found a DJ who offered her time, set up donated bouncies, and gave out tons of prizes, including a trip to Disneyland! This was all free to the families, of course, thanks to Big Sunday and the many donations we snagged. The kids never could get over that they didn't have to pay for any of it. I ran that highly rewarding event for four years and I believe it continues on today.

Meanwhile, as Social Action Chair, I modeled our many temple activities after Big Sunday. I completely (with permission and blessing!) plagiarized their brochures and ideas and implemented them into our temple social action activities. Our participation EXPLODED. For example, over 400 people joined in for our annual community giving day (aka "Mitzvah Day"). Not bad for a congregation of 600+ families. I attribute much of this success to the Big Sunday format which simply WORKS.

For the next three years on Big Sunday, I co-led a food and clothing collection with a local school board member. We tapped into our suburban school district and collected truckloads of important items for local shelters and food banks, while our school kids sorted and delivered. They loved the hands-on feeling of helping out alongside our superintendent, and organizations were thrilled with the bonanza of donations.

For the last two years, I have been working with L.A. Family Housing. They house homeless families temporarily, and we volunteers serve them lunch and do many fun games with the kids like Perler Beads. We take family pictures for them and give them frames and albums ... something simple that they often don't have. They love it!

The biggest thing to say about Big Sunday is what happens outside of Big Sunday. Thanks to their Holiday Giving List, I have a decade-long relationship with Covenant House in which my family donates gift cards to their youth every Christmas. I won a Volunteer of the Year award from Penny Lane, and my family joins another family later in the year to volunteer for L.A. Family Housing's "Birthday Club," giving gifts to the kids in the shelter whose birthdays fall that month.

Big Sunday has changed my life, the lives of hundreds of volunteers I work with, and thousands of people whom I have been honored to meet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... I only wish I lived closer to the headquarters so I could do more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This was my third time to volunteer with Big Sunday. Like my first two experiences it was a well planned event that was to benefit underprivileged children and families in the greater Los Angeles area. The staff from Big Sunday were professional and friendly. I would volunteer for this organization again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My family has been involved in Big Sunday for over eight years in many different roles. We have all volunteered at different events, I have organized many events as a Captain during Big Sunday Weekend and my kids have planted many flowers and painted many walls. The one stand out emotion for us is gratitude. We are so fortunate in this large metropolis to work with a nonprofit organization that truly gets the meaning of community service and that it is a bridge to forming ongoing relationships with other individuals and groups. Its about making connections, breaking down barriers and creating a future that holds a place for all of our children. When you are doing things with Big Sunday all the cliques that are so common (for whatever reason) are non-existent and volunteers work side-by-side towards common good. They operate year round now and there is always something to participate in - for an hour or for a whole day - but there is no doubt that you will leave knowing that what you have done has had a powerful impact on a child, a senior, a veteran, a family, a school... the list is endless.

We have also chosen Big Sunday as an organization that we donate to. Having been involved for so long we are convinced that the dollars we invest goes directly to the programs that change lives and make a diffrence.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Hello, My name is Maya Nichole and I'm a 12 year old Philanthropist in training! "Big Sunday" gives me the opportunity to give back to lots of kids while feeling good inside. The events are so fun, I don't even realize I'm volunteering!

~Maya~
@LILMayaNichole on twitter

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

In May we held our annual Big Sunday hosted by Sinai Akiba Academy. Children had the opportunity to work alongside their family and community volunteers to clean and beautify our center. This was a very successful event, as it reflects our willingness to come together as a community to provide a welcoming environment here at BPCDC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes at this time

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Big Sunday is an absolutely amazing organization! They provide help to so many other charitable organizations, schools, etc. In my experience, it is rare to come across an organization that touches the lives of so many people through so many different charitable causes! They never fail to be friendly and enthusiastic, and continually plan new, fun activities to involve volunteers and other charities which they serve.

Our organization (Hope Mill, Inc.) serves the homeless. This year Big Sunday provided not only volunteers for our Big Sunday Weekend, but more recently provided pull-top canned goods and bottled water to include in our CarePacks for the homeless! Many lives will be touched, thanks to Big Sunday!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of a thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers