Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 26, 2014

more

July 26, 2014

We adopted our little girl YOLO, formerly Yellow, from BDRR back in March. She has brightened up our home and is now a BFF to two little girls, ages 10 and 6. She was housebroken and knew basic commands. The staff at BDRR are a compassionate, loving, dedicated group of individuals. Even after the adoption , they were available to provide guidance, support and answer questions as YOLO
transitioned into her new home. As my girls would say, "YOLO is the best dog ever!" We are so very thankful that BDRR saved her life and rehabilitated her until she could find her furever home with us. Cannot imagine life without her. More importantly, my kids learned a powerful lesson and often tell others to adopt, not shop in order to help other dogs find a loving, forever home!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

When our German Shepherd mix of almost 16 years passed away, I was absolutely devastated. I had been to a BDRR fundraiser before, and had just fallen in love with their organization. The work that they do is wonderful, and a true service to our community. My husband and I immediately went down there, and looked around. I think the hardest part is adopting just one - I would take them all if I could! But after a few weeks of getting through all of the background work on us, and actually coming to a decision on a pup, we brought home our baby girl, Rina Beane! She was so small and thin when we first got her because they had rescued her from a kill shelter in Miami. Now she is a long-legged, 73 pound lap dog with so much puppy energy! She lights up our whole lives! I would recommend BDRR to any and every dog lover is who might be able to either rescue a pup or volunteer their time to such a worthy cause! As soon as we outgrow our town home and buy a home with a yard, I hope we can adopt another.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

My husband and I recently adopted "Lady" a mix lab. Lady is being trained to be a service dog for me. I was fortunate enough to meet a trainer that went to BDRR and chose a dog she thought would train well for me. Lady has been with Melody Owens, trainer/owner at Star Dog Obedience.

Our
experience with the Ranch Rescue was nothing but 5 star from beginning to end.

We have had many dogs in our life time from standard poodles, to minerature poodles, to shar-peis, to german shepherds, but "Lady" is the sweetest, most loving dog. She is approximately 1-3 years old, was house broken and is just fabulous.

I have never purchased a shelter dog before, now I would only recommend them. I love Big Dog Ranch Rescue and I love our Lady!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - they are great!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

We had previously adopted a pointer/hound mix from another shelter. Luna is now 2 years old and we were looking to adopt a puppy to be a companion to her and also because we're used to being a two dog home. We were very happy with the other shelter but they didn't have any puppies available so we took a chance after seeing the available puppies on BDR's website and drove up from south county to pay them a visit. While the road could use some paving, the ranch is very clean and well kept and the dogs were all well-cared for. We found an adorable 5 month old black and tan coonhound mix who'd been rescued from South Carolina running wild in the woods with her 5 brothers and sisters. After just 4 weeks Cinnamon and Luna are now inseparable and I can't imagine being without both of them. The counselor at BDR explained all the paperwork in detail and made sure we understood everything. Excellent documentation...shots, spay...even down to having a copy of the relocation contract from the South Carolina shelter. We were VERY happy with BDR. Thanks for helping us find our newest family member!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I adopted Frisco (a Mountain Feist Terrier) May 20th He is adjusting to his home very well. Full of energy and lots of fun. I cannot express how Wonderful Big Dog Ranch was in working with me. His Foster mom had to keep him a couple extra days as I was going out of town and didnt want to bring him home to only leave. Zara and all the volunteers work so hard and are truly dedicated!!!! I look forward to attending an event so show off how well and Happy Frisco and I are with each other.
Thank You and God Bless you all!
Ann Marie

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 8, 2013

My husband and I heard about Big Dog Ranch Rescue when they had a flood and needed foster homes for a weekend. We love animals and went to see how and if we could help. I came across a young male c... more

June 10, 2014

My husband and I fostered a dog from the ranch, when the ranch had flooding that jeopardized the safety of the dogs. We originally agreed to foster for the weekend, but after giving the dog a bath, love and attention and a much needed nap, I soon realized that I could not bear to take him back to the shelter without having experienced a loving family.
We have had Achilles for almost a year now and every day I am so thankful that I stopped in to lend a helping hand, by taking a big dog off their hands.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Solicit finances to expand the building, so that more dogs can be saved!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I heard about Big Dog Ranch Rescue when they had a flood and needed foster homes for a weekend.

We love animals and went to see how and if we could help. I came across a young male chocolate lab mix who was lathargic, shy, under weight and had been bitten by an infected
tick. The poor boy was on medication and all he wanted to do was sleep.
We took a chance on him for that weekend. As soon as we got him home and gave him a bath, he seemed to come around. We officially adopted Achilles not even a month later. We couldn't see taking him back to the shelter. He had lived his short life so far under undesirable circumstances.
I contacted Miami-Dade county and found out that when they picked him up, he was tied outside with no shelter, food, or water. The poor boy was almost a year old and had lived a crappy life!

If it wasn't for Big Dog Ranch Rescue putting the word out for help, we would have never known of this great, hilarious boy. The Ranch has thee best volunteers staff. They do an amazing job spending time with the animals to get to know their temperaments, and do their best to put them in homes where they will fit in best.

I really hope people can soften their hearts and donate however they can; whether it be their time, money, dog food, treats, toys, ANYTHING for these wonderful dogs who just want a chance to be a good dog!

We are proud to be the parents of our sweet boy Achilles!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Host more fundraisers and spread the word on the news! That's how we happened to hear about it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

My son, grandson and I visited BDRR about 6 weeks ago and were very impressed with what we found. Lots of staff and volunteers to take good care of all the dogs. We were interested in "Newcastle", a border collie/retriever mix. We were told the pup came from a hoarder situation and would need lots of patience and TLC. We brought Newcastle home and have never regretted doing so. He's adapted very well to our family and is enjoying his life now!
Thanks to BDRR for saving this wonderful dog!

Point of interest . . . they had several smaller dogs as well in case your family isn't suited to a bigger dog. Just saw on TV how BDRR rescued a family of dachshunds that had been in a bad environment. BDRR does such good work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 20, 2014

more

April 20, 2014

A few months ago, we found the BDRR web site after doing many online searches for rescue dogs. They have a complete list and picture of their dogs. We visited the ranch and found the staff to be very helpful and also very caring for their rescues. They also take care in finding a good match, i.e., to make sure the rescue dog is going to a proper home. We connected with a cute beagle and went through the adoption process about a month ago. The adoption counselor explained everything in detail and provided us with complete instructions on diet, feeding, vaccines, etc.

We would highly recommend the BDRR to anyone looking to adopt a dog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Response time to return phone calls needs improvement, but considering the number of dogs and workload, the delay is understandable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 28, 2014

more

February 28, 2014

I began following BDRR about 2 years ago. Instantly I noticed how connected they are to their rescues. To the staff, these dogs are souls that need love, repair, and affection, not just a number attached to a cage. I began donating to them what I could (which was not much) but they are so utterly grateful for every dime sent their way. 2 months ago, I was blessed enough to take home Mili, a 1 year old lab mix and had an instant conection. She was happy to leave the ranch to go home, but their a slight sadness to her to be leaving the place that had cared so well for her. 2 weeks ago we decided to take home Max, now called Murphy, or "BIG MURPH". When he left the ranch, our adoption coordinatior hugged him and told him she was happy for him, but she would miss him so much. The staff and volunteers just care so much. I never hestitate to send money, or donations, because I never have to wonder if they are putting it towards the right place. I have even become friends with Mili's "foster mom", Zara. There is a whole hearted dedication to this place and I can't wait to take home number 3!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

lets make it bigger! Whats another 30 acres???

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

We adopted our rottie Teco from bdr and he is the most loving and wonderful dog.
We walk twice a day for 30 mins and he's keeping me healthy.
He's great with other dogs and loves to follow me everywhere.
This is our second rescue rottie and we've been more than happy.
Your place
is super clean and I
would recommend it to anyone looking for a pet.
Thank you sooooo much.
Valerie and Lewis
I would like to send you pictures. What is you email address or Facebook connect.?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Walk/Bathe dogs and puppies, answer phones, write thank you notes Volunteer