Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I adopted twice from Big Dog and then became a volunteer also because I love everything about this place! I love how clean the entire place is always kept, including the animals. I love that a home visit is required prior to adopting. I love they rescue from high kills and they are a never-kill. I love that they have a trainer that works with the more aggressive or damanged dogs. And most importantly, the workers really care about the pups.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work there full-time if I could!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My daughter and I volunteer at Big Dog Ranch Rescue and their events when we can. Unfortunately we don't get to do it nearly as much as we would like because we both work and she goes to school. We decided to try to foster dogs to help out a little more. Of course, the very first foster dog we took in, Ciara, a timid sweet little girl dog we just had to adopt. She is already part of the family and loves her big brother Max our 90 pound lab mix. Big Dog Ranch is so flexible with volunteers and has so many wonderful people on staff and many great volunteers as well. We think they do an awesome job hosting a lot of creative, fun events and they rescue so many dogs. All of the puppies/dogs rescued receive medical evaluations, treatment when needed and all are spayed and neutered. I am so grateful for all of the people who dedicate time and money to this incredible organization. They seem to do more and more and get better and better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I adopted my BC/Lab mix from BDRR and they have my greatest thanks. He is a great dog and a source of constant energy in my home. BDRR was also there to help when I saw a beautiful little BC/Lab mix on a high kill shelter website. With no time left for her, BDRR stepped up and helped to get her out of the shelter and into foster care with me. They saved her life and are helping get her to a forever home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been a Big Dog Ranch Rescue volunteer for about 2 years now and am proud to be associated with this organization. Our rescue group takes dogs, puppies and pregnant momma dogs who would be euthanized at other shelters. We take dogs found lost, tired, hungry, lonely, abandoned, sick, sometimes near death, and heal their physical wounds with medical attention and heal their emotional wounds with lots of love. Once rescued, their time is never "up" at the Ranch. They live there and are cared for until they find their forever home. In 2012, we saved over 100 heartworm positive dogs and over 1900 dogs found their forever homes. We go out into our communities and educate our children, friends and neighbors about rescue, kindness towards all animals, responsible dog ownership, and the importance of volunteerism. We partner with our local scout troops, youth groups, organizations and businesses to raise awareness and save lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer during the winter when I am in Florida. The workers and everyone associated with this organization are incredibly dedicated the loving care of the dogs. The events that bring the dogs out to meet the public are run smoothly and are one of the reasons that so many dogs are getting adopted to loving homes. No dog goes out without a thorough background check, to make sure the adopters have the proper facility to give the dogs a wonderful home that accommodates there needs. I fostered several dogs, and I cannot wait to get back to Florida so that I can continue with their mission. I write their thank you notes to the people who adopt every dog, and the letters that come back are glowing tributes to the success of the adoption and their experience with the process and professionalism of the staff .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move it to NY so that I can work there year round!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I have adopted 3 dogs from BDRR and have quite the happy family at home. I have an 11 yr rat terrier, a little terrier mix and terrier mix w/ lot of muscles. All are very thankful for BDRR helping them out in their time of need and waiting for us all to become a family. The staff is amazing and works so hard to help these dogs find their furever homes. Big Paw up!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I have been a volunteer at Big Dog Ranch Rescue for over three years. Adopted two rescues and cannot imagine life without them. What keeps me focused on this rescue is the amazing amount of dogs lives that are saved from high kill shelters; dogs that are neglected, abused, and unwanted and out of time. Not just from Florida, but surrounding states as well with emergency needs. The whole effect comes full circle when you see a hairless, emaciated demodex dog or heartworm positive dog leave with full health restored leave for their new forever home. Without tremendous support from the community, faithful donors, employees, volunteers and fosters, this would not be possible. Unfortunately, right now, they cannot all be saved, that hurts, but many are and that's what it's all about.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Adopted a wonderful black lab from Big Dog Rescue. Later found out she was in a high kill shelter in Georgia and was set to be euthanized in 2 hrs. Big Dog transported her down here with her 4 puppies. 5-paw organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2011

more

October 19, 2011

I've been a volunteer at the Big Dog Ranch Rescue for the last four months and it is a wonderful no-kill rescue and shelter organization that provides love and care to the dogs it rescues until can find them forever homes. They take in dogs that are on their last days at other shelters, and give them all the medical and physical care that they need, as well as love and care, no matter how long the dogs have to stay there. They have a wonderful facility with very dedicated volunteers and staff that truly love the dogs. I would strongly encourage and ask anyone that has the funds or time to donate to help them expand their work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my time spent volunteering with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them find additional donors to expand their work and save more dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 4, 2011

more

August 4, 2011

We adopted our puppy from BDRR in November of 2010. Throughout the entire adoption process it was very obvious how much the wonderful people at BDRR cared. During the adoption we visited the facilities and have since been back to volunteer. Ever time I am there, I am very impressed with the staff and the facilities. The facilities are well maintained and always clean. The dogs are happy, healthy and maybe even a little spoiled. It is amazing how well the dogs are cared for and how smoothly BDRR runs. Adopting our beautiful puppy has been the best decision we have ever made and I highly recommend this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adopting a pet of my own

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them the capabilities to take on even more dogs.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Walk/Bathe dogs and puppies, answer phones, write thank you notes Volunteer