Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.72345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 4, 2013

more

August 4, 2013

I visited Serenity Springs 8/3/13

The tour was wonderful. the guide was very informative and most important all the animals were happy and looked well cared for! The staff was very nice. I will go there every time I visit Colorado! I had a great time! Thank you

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I take issue with this organization attending Fairs and allowing pictures to be taken with these animals. The babies they took to the Denver County Fair were miserable, locked in cages and allowed to be handled by all sorts. Shouldn't a sanctuary ultimately look to make their lives as stress free and natural as possible? Also, where do the babies come from? Are they allowing mating? Are they perpetuating the mistreatment and imprisonment of these animals? For a real sanctuary, check out the Wild Animal Sanctuary in Keenesburg Colorado where the animals are true rescues and allowed acres of land and natural pride and/or pack behavior.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 15, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I've visited Serenity Springs a couple of times and was disappointed in their presentation and the guide's attitude. The tour goes on a loop and the cat enclosures that are shown are nice and the cats seem content enough. However, if you look back towards the right side of the facility, the cats that aren't shown, they appear to have none of the luxuries of the ones on the tour. In fact, they appear to be on a concrete slab only. What really got me as a military family was the guide speaking about a smaller cat (a lynx I believe, its been a couple of years) that had been owned by a Soldier. When the Soldier deployed, he gave it to his mother to care for but she was unable. According to the guide, the mother begged serenity springs to take the cat and promised to pay monthly for its care. "But of course, " the guide went on," we haven't seen a single dollar." I found this to be very unprofessional. What was more irritating is the talk about how people are irresponsible with buying big cats then throwing them away landing them in rescues, but bragging about the SEVERAL cats they have from Las Vegas magicians, who when the cat will no longer cooperate ship them to the facility. It seems to me if a staff member is going to bad mouth a Soldier on a tour, they should say something about the apparently immense turn around on big cats by the magicians in Vegas. I also thought it was troublesome that they prohibit photography because according to the guide, "of animal rights groups complaints". Overall, the tour, or perhaps it is just the guide herself (I had the same one both times a year apart) seems shady and unprofessional.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

I've visited Serenity Springs quite a few times and even set up a private tour for my squadron. They are the nicest organization that I've ever had the pleasure of being around. They are more focused on the proper care of the animals and doing what is in the best interest of the animals at their facilities. I wish I had more time to be able to actually volunteer with their organization. But until I do, I'll continue taking tours and bringing friends and family members with me on the tours.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2012

more

February 26, 2012

I recently went on a tour of Serenity Springs, and I have to say it was the best $10 I have ever spent. I went on a day that was a little brisk, with snow on the ground, and it was possibly the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. Watching these enormous and incredibly graceful and fascinating creatures, in the snow no less, was like something out of a movie. Everyone NEEDS to go, and keep going back, I plan to!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The first time my family went out to Serenity Springs, I didn't know what to expect. We had only been in the Colorado Springs area for about 3 years, and had not heard a lot of information about the place. At work, I had a discussion with some co-workers about the Ligers out there. I honestly thought they were some kind of mythical creature, bred for their skills in magic. I was instantly intrigued. My husband, 4-year-son and I made plans to go out there that weekend. When we got there, we were immediately amazed at how many cats were visible from the parking lot. Like true cats, the moment my son left the car they began pacing along the front of the cage tracking his every movement. It was incredible and captivating. I had to remind myself there were 2 layers of chain link fence between us and the cats. When the tour began, what stood out most to me was the love and respect the volunteers and owners of Serenity Springs have for each of these animals. Each cat has a story. Some are sad stories, but the happy endings prevail because Serenity Springs is the forever home for many of these former pets or show cats. None of these animals were born in the wild, and none could survive in the wild if they were released. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about each of these amazing animals. Watching them interact with the tour guides made some of them seem as gentle as house cats. It was easy to forget how powerful these animals could be. The experience of getting to know cats of Serenity Springs was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. We had family come to town a few weeks later, and took them out to see the cats as well. After learning about the mission of this incredible organization, I can honestly say that I fell in love with the place. It would be easy to make an uninformed assumption about Serenity Springs. To decide that the animals are held captive against their will, and would thrive in their natural habitat. The truth however, is that many of these cats were once owned by humans who could not properly take care of them or control them. Without a place like Serenity Springs, these animals would end up euthanized because their humans chose to unsuccessfully try to make them pets. The one thing that is clearly seen from a visit to Serenity Springs is how majestic and regal these magnificent cats really are. Even after Colorado Springs is no longer my home, Serenity Springs and the amazing cats will always have a place in my heart. I am so grateful that this organization has the will and the skill to give these cats a home to live out the rest of their extraordinary lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012

more

February 17, 2012

Serenity Springs is a wonderful place to take someone who loves animals. It is a place that loves and cares for animals and Im glad I was able to go there in 2011 and get a first hand experience of what an amazing facility this is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 12, 2012

more

February 12, 2012

Serenity springs is a wonderfull place. The oppertunity is amazing right when you pull in the magic begins. The tigers have a special bond with the staff. We had the oppertunity to see some of the interaction such as one of the tigars sneaking up on one of the guides it was almost like a game of red light green light! What an amzing oppertunity to be so close that you can hear the cats purr and cooo. The lions made quite the impression talking well its more of a roar but beautifull to hear! The guides are verry sweet an knowlageable. I love it! How wonderfull these cats storys of privat ownershipp. My husbands fave are the ligars!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Serenity Springs is one of the most amazing places to visit, we have pictures of our kids and the baby tigers and we go out there very frequently to bring friends. They do family days and in July they do a bike rally to where you can camp.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

If it wasn't for Serenity Springs I would have never been able to see and play with these Big Cats. I think its great that they went through so much to save Snowmagic. All of the animals are incredible. Thank you for all your hard work and dedication.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

You must commit to at least 8 hrs per month. Volunteer