Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.72345
Write A Review
June 25, 2014

more

June 25, 2014

This is a horrible organization! We visited over the winter and learned about an opportunity to feed the cats and have a private tour. We decided despite the cost, we were going to save up and purchase the tour as a gift for our daughter who was turning 18. Before I bought the tour online I emailed the facility and asked two questions: Is the tour still available and can I go and just take pictures. Their response was YES and told me how to book it.
We just recently were able to schedule a date for our tour. When my daughter mentioned something about me going and taking pictures they quickly said that I couldn't and I had to pay. We talked the founder who was rude but was willing to honor the deal if I could produce the email. I went home, produced the email and they said again, no. This time it was because I misunderstood what they meant, they were only answering one of the questions not both. It became all to clear to me that they were not going to keep their word. I was concerned too that they would cheat my daughter out of some of the things they published online so I cut and pasted the advertisement and said that this is what my expectations are for her tour. The responded back by telling me that they were not going to make me happy and were canceling her tour with a full refund.
But wait there's more. My daughter called because she really wanted to do this tour and plead her case. The first time she called and got the founder, he yelled at her and said he had nothing more to say. Then she called again and he hung up on her again. Then she called a third time (yes shes persistent) and he answered and put her on speaker phone and said "Im going to block this a$$hole". I later got one more email from him and I had to tell him to stop contacting me.
This is how they treat people. I really hope that they treat the animals better than they treat people.
DO NOT go to this place. From the top the attitude is bad so I cant imagine that the volunteers that work there are any kinder.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of the founder and his wife and put people in place that know how to work with people. He may know animals but doesn't know the first thing about working with the public. This situation could have been handled in a way that everyone left happy but they chose a different route.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Serenity Springs and I cannot applaud them enough for the love and care they are giving these gorgeous animals. Visiting here is unlike going to the zoo; it is not about food or gift shops, it is about education. Thank you again for the care you provide these creatures. I look forward to more visits and maybe even some volunteer time.

Donna

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013

more

August 7, 2013

My husband and I volunteer at Serenity Springs as much as we can it is the most rewarding experience we have been going out there for 2 years and hope to do it for many years to come

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
January 20, 2012

What an amazing place! I started volunteering 5 years ago and wow, what a lot we have accomplished over the years! As soon as you step on the grounds you realize how the name really fits, Serenity S... more

August 7, 2013

I have been volunteering at this facility for 6 years. This is one amazing facility. These animals are very well cared for and loved, you can absolutely tell when you go on a tour. I do not know how many people have mentioned how relaxed all the animals seem and how healthy they look although they have come to the facility in horrible conditions. See for yourself what an amazing facility this is before believing any negative comments or reviews by others. The staff and volunteers work very hard to provide these animals with a loving forever home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise more funds to help provide for more animals! I wish we could provide more advertising to get the word out about this amazing place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2012

What an amazing place! I started volunteering 5 years ago and wow, what a lot we have accomplished over the years! As soon as you step on the grounds you realize how the name really fits, Serenity Springs. The animals are all very well cared for and you can see the way they interact with the staff that they are truly happy to have been placed there to live out their lives. The staff works extremely hard to provide any exotic animal a home on a very tight budget. Amazing Place you must take time to visit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 4, 2013

more

August 4, 2013

I visited Serenity Springs 8/3/13

The tour was wonderful. the guide was very informative and most important all the animals were happy and looked well cared for! The staff was very nice. I will go there every time I visit Colorado! I had a great time! Thank you

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I take issue with this organization attending Fairs and allowing pictures to be taken with these animals. The babies they took to the Denver County Fair were miserable, locked in cages and allowed to be handled by all sorts. Shouldn't a sanctuary ultimately look to make their lives as stress free and natural as possible? Also, where do the babies come from? Are they allowing mating? Are they perpetuating the mistreatment and imprisonment of these animals? For a real sanctuary, check out the Wild Animal Sanctuary in Keenesburg Colorado where the animals are true rescues and allowed acres of land and natural pride and/or pack behavior.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 15, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I've visited Serenity Springs a couple of times and was disappointed in their presentation and the guide's attitude. The tour goes on a loop and the cat enclosures that are shown are nice and the cats seem content enough. However, if you look back towards the right side of the facility, the cats that aren't shown, they appear to have none of the luxuries of the ones on the tour. In fact, they appear to be on a concrete slab only. What really got me as a military family was the guide speaking about a smaller cat (a lynx I believe, its been a couple of years) that had been owned by a Soldier. When the Soldier deployed, he gave it to his mother to care for but she was unable. According to the guide, the mother begged serenity springs to take the cat and promised to pay monthly for its care. "But of course, " the guide went on," we haven't seen a single dollar." I found this to be very unprofessional. What was more irritating is the talk about how people are irresponsible with buying big cats then throwing them away landing them in rescues, but bragging about the SEVERAL cats they have from Las Vegas magicians, who when the cat will no longer cooperate ship them to the facility. It seems to me if a staff member is going to bad mouth a Soldier on a tour, they should say something about the apparently immense turn around on big cats by the magicians in Vegas. I also thought it was troublesome that they prohibit photography because according to the guide, "of animal rights groups complaints". Overall, the tour, or perhaps it is just the guide herself (I had the same one both times a year apart) seems shady and unprofessional.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

I've visited Serenity Springs quite a few times and even set up a private tour for my squadron. They are the nicest organization that I've ever had the pleasure of being around. They are more focused on the proper care of the animals and doing what is in the best interest of the animals at their facilities. I wish I had more time to be able to actually volunteer with their organization. But until I do, I'll continue taking tours and bringing friends and family members with me on the tours.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2012

more

February 26, 2012

I recently went on a tour of Serenity Springs, and I have to say it was the best $10 I have ever spent. I went on a day that was a little brisk, with snow on the ground, and it was possibly the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. Watching these enormous and incredibly graceful and fascinating creatures, in the snow no less, was like something out of a movie. Everyone NEEDS to go, and keep going back, I plan to!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 18, 2012

more

February 18, 2012

Serenity Springs provides refuge for throw-away big cats. The staff provide shelter food and medical care; the volunteers provide enrichment and for $10 per person, the public can get an experience of a life-time. Great place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

You must commit to at least 8 hrs per month. Volunteer