Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
321 Reviews
1234.725865
| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Stepping into Big Cat Rescue in Tampa Florida, I was overcome with a feeling of peacefulness, health, respect and ... something most pervasive ... Love! These animals had been mistreated at the hands of the worst that humanity has to offer, and now thanks to Big Cat Rescue, they are nursed back to health, given the best possible living conditions, and encouraged to behave as the wild animals which Nature had intended. As I walked through the sanctuary, I cried seeing the suffering these animals have endured through no fault of their own, and then I laughed with pure joy to see and feel their relief in knowing they will be safe and cared for throughout the rest of their lives. Big Cat Rescue is a true blessing to the animals!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I stumbled onto BCR's website years ago while looking up something else. I have been a supporter ever since. I had my eyes open to the magnitude of the problems regarding exotic pet ownership, and while BCR cares for wild cats, they advocate for all exotics to keep them in the wild where they belong. I have researched this charity to the fair-the-well, and can find nothing to object to. In fact, I applaude their ongoing effort to the cause, to make sure that exotic cats are never again used for man's selfish entertainment. This is the ONLY charity I have ever been involved with who's main goal is to someday shut down, because they are no longer needed. I believe so strongly in this sanctuary, that I spend a great deal of time talking about it to others in my community, and making them know where they currently are not.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

No specific event, just an overall feeling that this is the only charity out there that will use my gift they way they say they will.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Because I believe they need to have as much in the way of donations for this cats as they can get to enrich their lives, upgrade their enclosures, and gennerally make their captivity as pleasant as it can be made.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I regularly tell people that if they are looking for a good charity orginaization, that BCR is the best.

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am so impressed with the exceptional care BIG CAT Rescue provides the cats they take in from irresponsible owners and animal abusers who flaunt these majestic animals to line their own pockets. I have been so touched by some of the amazing rescues and the success stories with rehab and release connected with this organization. I can't wait to retire so I can volunteer with this wonderful group. It's comforting to know they are willing to take such great care of the discarded animals when some grow tired of them or the cats no longer make money for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After visiting BCR I have made it a goal to regularly donate (which I have been doing) and requesting others also to donate to this wonderful organization.... My tour included a knowledgeable guide who advised us on each of the cats, their conditions before coming to BCR, and how they are doing now. We were shown the minimum size of a cage mandated by law for a big cat and believe me when I say that living in something so tiny is horrifying to contemplate! The guides educate you on legislation that is in process to ban the sale and ownership of privately owned exotics. I learned so much during my visit, and I am learning much more as I go along. Please visit and support BCR and the legislation to ban sale and ownership of exotic animals!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The big cats need you, they are tortured and hurt. But if people like Big Cat Rescue help, we can make a difference. Big Cat Rescue is humane and caring. They try to release the big cats back into the wild as soon as they can. The cats habitats are big and natural. So if you have some money to help the big cats, please do so and feed a cat today!!! ~Sophia 12years old

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue providesa humane, nurturing home for many species of big cats. Additionally, they serves as national leader in the struggle to (1) educate the public about these magnificent animals and the steps necessary to protect them, (2) recruit and inform individuals to advocate for these animals, and (3) provide guidance to the staff of smaller sanctuaries who may lack the experience, expertise, or resources to handle a particular problem.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I really appreciate the work that BCR does for neglected, abandoned and injured big cats, as well as the advocacy they do to educate the public about the abuses of these wonderful animals. These cats are fortunate to have such dedicated employees and volunteers. The sanctuary is a wonderful place to visit. I enjoy their Facebook page, as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Why do I donate to this organisation and not to any other?

They do not breed to raise money, they do not abuse puppies in Malls to raise money, they work with volonteers mostly, they have only tours with a guide - so no-one can harm or disturb any of their inhabitants.

I could go
on like that for hours.

They are simply the best I ever heard of!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my several visits.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

August 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 20, 2010

I have been visiting and donating to Big Cat rescue for over 10 years. This is a wonderful and beautiful sactuary. They really try to educate the public during their tours. Another nice thing ia their... more

August 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This place is A TRUE sanctuary. There is no breeding allowed. The tours are guided so the animals are not harrassed & the public is kept safe. Since first learning of them many years ago I have visited quite a few times. I also let as many people as possible know about their great work. They are really focused on making changes to laws & informing the public of the horrible plights of animals kept as pets & performers. Big Cat Rescue is the last chance place for many big cats. Unfortunately they cannot take every one & turn away hundreds of animals a year because they do not have the room for them. Why is it that hundreds of big cats NEED a place every year? Because the should NOT be kept as pets or for photo shoots. The cats at BCR have nice large enclosures. They have ground & plants & trees. They have dens & the tigers have pools. One set of tigers even has access to a lake. If they can't be free then at least they have peace & safety here. Hopefully their stories(as told by the tourguides & available to read online) will change you. If you have a chance to visit-please do so. It will forever chance your thought process about big/wild cats in general. Be a voice for the cats. Donate if you can. They have a great website & free screensaver downloads. Alot of good educational things for adults & kids. They ARE making a difference in the lives of these cats & the future laws concerning animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

see above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had the money I would help them find several hundred acres so they could have more room to house more animals.

April 20, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I have been visiting and donating to Big Cat rescue for over 10 years. This is a wonderful and beautiful sactuary. They really try to educate the public during their tours. Another nice thing ia their enclosures are kept as natural as possible...letting the natural grasses & trees there so the cats can have something other than a concrete cage like the zoos have. Wonderful, caring and hardworking organization. visit next time you are in the Tampa area. You will not be disappointed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have toured their sanctuary and been an advocat for over 10 years. I read their ezines and recieve their newspaper. I tell everyone I know about them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Learning about the different cat species and seeing how they have tried to keep the natural trees and grasses there for shade and enhancing the beauty.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Very knowledgeable and caring.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Buy a very huge tract of land away from all the urban sprawl. They could then take in alot more animals. They also could do more about educating the ignorant people who keep wild animals as pets......which they have to end up rescuing.

Ways to make it better...

It is sad to see how over the last 10 years or so the way the urban sprawl has taken over the surrounding area. It used to be in the middle of nowhere(more or less) and now is surrounded by a mall and shopping centers.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Continuing to stay isolated when they are so in the middle of everything...like neighborhoods and shopping centers.

One thing I'd also say is that...

This is the best attraction in Florida & the money goes to the cats. They go out of their way to rescue animals when they can. They are great educators so, hopefully, things will change for the better for the cats in the future.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
November 3, 2011

Big Cat Rescue is an AMAZING place. Not only does BCR provide excellent care to the cats, BCR's staff, volunteers, and supporters have been making great strides in changing legislation regarding exoti... more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with the Big Cats for years, and couldn't imagine not being a part of BCR!
Everyone from the staff to interns and volunteers care deeply for the animals are are incredibly dedicated to the cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 3, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue is an AMAZING place.
Not only does BCR provide excellent care to the cats, BCR's staff, volunteers, and supporters have been making great strides in changing legislation regarding exotic/wild animal ownership in the private sector.

This invokes criticism and downright
attacks from private owners and breeders because the end of animal exploitation/ownership affects their livelihood.
The attacks come from those who have never been to Big Cat Rescue, and have never experienced the cats in their large, clean enclosures. The cats at BCR are happy and healthy.

The health of the cats of BCR is no secret. Any time a cat is having a procedure or is in the cat hospital, updates are posted on the public Facebook page for all to see.

Within the past few weeks, BCR said goodbye to two cats, a 15 year old bobcat with severe kidney disease, and a 19 year old serval who had lived 16 of those years at BCR. Both were put to sleep aka euthanized, due to advanced disease and decreased quality of life.
It was the most humane option, and BCR ALWAYS has the cats' best interest in mind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 7, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer at Big Cat Rescue in Tampa for nearly 3 years.
My role as a volunteer is "Senior Keeper", meaning I provide care to all levels of the cats, including lions and tigers.
I very much enjoy my role as a volunteer @ BCR, as I get to experience the cats relaxing in their
comfortable enclosures (many that came from unfortunate previous homes).
I also feed the cats, and can tell you for a fact that they are fed very well :)
The cats receive enrichment treats both in food forms and spice bag forms, on a regular basis.
We also work on enclosure modifications and upgrades quite frequently.

Big Cat Rescue receives a lot of criticism from private animal owners because of attempts to change legislation to make it more difficult to obtain big cats as pets. BCR has many cats that were discarded after they became "too difficult to keep as pets".
In my opinion, animals are not expendable. Once you make a decision to own a pet, (or adopt from the SPCA as in my case) it should be for life. This frequently does not happen with exotic animals, especially big cats. There are sanctuaries all over the country that are full due to people relinquishing their big cats either due to the economy or because they "can't do it anymore".
Big Cat Rescue's lobbying and attempts to change legislation hurt the bottom line of those in the private big cat breeding sector, and thus they attack BCR wherever possible.

I am proud to be a Big Cat Rescue volunteer. There is nowhere else in the wold I would rather spend a 12 hour day working for free, having sweat dripping in my eyes in the Florida heat and humidity while I clean enclosures, do projects, etc.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the happiness in the cats enjoying their lives. We believe no cats belong in cages; they belong in the wild, but we enrich their lives as much as possible. Enriching cats brings me joy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pass the laws that ban private breeding, like "Rescinding the Generic Tiger Loophole". Big Cat Rescue is a great organization. I can tell you that from the standpoint of someone who is non-paid and has spent many hard labor hours with a smile at the sanctuary.

June 23, 2011

Our family has been supporting Big Cat Rescue for over three years.

What a wonderful place it is, not only providing excellent care to the magnificent creatures who reside there, but by advocating for big cats everywhere.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Enjoying watching the cats playing and enjoying their surroundings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Purchase the surrounding land to create more room for the cats :)

| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer