Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
334 Reviews
1234.724555
| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I visited Big Cat Rescue in the fall of 2011. I was enormously impressed by how well they take care of the cats. They clearly care about the best interests of the animals & allowing them to live the most natural and healthy lives that they can. Big Cat Rescue covers all their administration costs by the tours they give of their facility. This is very important to me, as it tells me that my monthly donation to them goes ENTIRELY to the care of the cats; it doesn't go into marketing, or some ridiculously high CEO paycheck. The people at Big Cat Rescue clearly care deeply for their cats, and do everything they can to show that they are dedicated to making a difference in the lives of these animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Initially, I went their just to see the cats. But I was so impressed with the operation & their caring that I've started donating $100 every month.

What would you tell others about this organization?

that it's an excellent organization that is truly dedicated to taking care of its cats, and fights to put laws into place that stop the abuse of wild animals.

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I have been an avid fan of Big Cat Rescue for quite a few years. I read about the work they did and gave them money. I have since bought items for presents and continued to support the cats in any way I can. They do such a wonderful job for advocacy for the cats, law changes and just helping those wonderful animals that we all should be helping.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

Big Cat Rescue is an accredited sanctuary for big cats such as lions and tigers in Florida. Not only do they have a team of staff and volunteers who provide stellar care for big cats that have come from horrendous situations of abuse, but they also work tirelessly for better laws about big cats. Big Cat Rescue was instrumental in passing legislation prohibiting interstate transfer of big cats. They also work with states to pass laws regulating ownership of dangerous exotic animals such as big cats. Big Cat Rescue has seen first hand the cruel situations that these cats are kept in, such as being kept for life in transport crates, crammed into basements with no access to sunlight, having their teeth and claws pulled, etc. Big Cat Rescue has done more to raise awareness of the plight of big cats than any other organization in the country. When I donate to Big Cat Rescue, I am providing direct help not just to the cats at the sanctuary, but to all big cats in captivity across the country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have continuously been blown away by the great work and effort these folks put into the rescue, care and rehab of these big cats!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I used to live in and work in Costa Rica rehabilitating and releasing cats and other endangered species back into the wild when possible. If not we took care if them and educated people about them. When I returned to the States I researched centers here who try to help to save and educate people about them. Big Cat Rescue is the one I chose to and will continue to support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Stepping into Big Cat Rescue in Tampa Florida, I was overcome with a feeling of peacefulness, health, respect and ... something most pervasive ... Love! These animals had been mistreated at the hands of the worst that humanity has to offer, and now thanks to Big Cat Rescue, they are nursed back to health, given the best possible living conditions, and encouraged to behave as the wild animals which Nature had intended. As I walked through the sanctuary, I cried seeing the suffering these animals have endured through no fault of their own, and then I laughed with pure joy to see and feel their relief in knowing they will be safe and cared for throughout the rest of their lives. Big Cat Rescue is a true blessing to the animals!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I stumbled onto BCR's website years ago while looking up something else. I have been a supporter ever since. I had my eyes open to the magnitude of the problems regarding exotic pet ownership, and while BCR cares for wild cats, they advocate for all exotics to keep them in the wild where they belong. I have researched this charity to the fair-the-well, and can find nothing to object to. In fact, I applaude their ongoing effort to the cause, to make sure that exotic cats are never again used for man's selfish entertainment. This is the ONLY charity I have ever been involved with who's main goal is to someday shut down, because they are no longer needed. I believe so strongly in this sanctuary, that I spend a great deal of time talking about it to others in my community, and making them know where they currently are not.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

No specific event, just an overall feeling that this is the only charity out there that will use my gift they way they say they will.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Because I believe they need to have as much in the way of donations for this cats as they can get to enrich their lives, upgrade their enclosures, and gennerally make their captivity as pleasant as it can be made.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I regularly tell people that if they are looking for a good charity orginaization, that BCR is the best.

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am so impressed with the exceptional care BIG CAT Rescue provides the cats they take in from irresponsible owners and animal abusers who flaunt these majestic animals to line their own pockets. I have been so touched by some of the amazing rescues and the success stories with rehab and release connected with this organization. I can't wait to retire so I can volunteer with this wonderful group. It's comforting to know they are willing to take such great care of the discarded animals when some grow tired of them or the cats no longer make money for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After visiting BCR I have made it a goal to regularly donate (which I have been doing) and requesting others also to donate to this wonderful organization.... My tour included a knowledgeable guide who advised us on each of the cats, their conditions before coming to BCR, and how they are doing now. We were shown the minimum size of a cage mandated by law for a big cat and believe me when I say that living in something so tiny is horrifying to contemplate! The guides educate you on legislation that is in process to ban the sale and ownership of privately owned exotics. I learned so much during my visit, and I am learning much more as I go along. Please visit and support BCR and the legislation to ban sale and ownership of exotic animals!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The big cats need you, they are tortured and hurt. But if people like Big Cat Rescue help, we can make a difference. Big Cat Rescue is humane and caring. They try to release the big cats back into the wild as soon as they can. The cats habitats are big and natural. So if you have some money to help the big cats, please do so and feed a cat today!!! ~Sophia 12years old

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer