Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
345 Reviews
1234.733335
Write A Review
November 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 30, 2012

I have been a volunteer, albeit on a small scale, and fan of Big Cat Rescue for approximately 5 years. I have been a volunteer in many areas for over 25 years and have respect and admiration for group... more

November 22, 2014

I have been a supporter and fan of Big Cat Rescue for over 5 years and the more I learn about them, the more respect I have for the work they do. I have learned a great deal from the group about properly caring for rescued big cats and about how to prevent the abuse that so many big cats suffer at the hands of inconsiderate, irresponsible, uncaring or downright cruel humans. If I lived closer, I would be proud to be a hands-on volunteer. Carole Baskin and all of the staff and volunteers do an amazing job. One of my favorites, out of all the wonderful things that they do, is the domestic cat rescue assistance program - so that the volunteers can cuddle with cats. Watching the videos of the rescues of abused big cats shows how much they truly care for these majestic animals and how hard they work to give those cats a safe, healthy, and peaceful life.
May 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer, albeit on a small scale, and fan of Big Cat Rescue for approximately 5 years. I have been a volunteer in many areas for over 25 years and have respect and admiration for groups that are able to contribute to the betterment of the environment and the earth's inhabitants as BCR does. They are untiring in their efforts to protect the big cats who, while well able to defend themselves one-on-one with a seen foe, have little chance against the unscrupulous humans who have no respect for life. I am proud to be associated with an organization that speaks for those who cannot speak for themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through the Internet.

September 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

Thanks to them, cats are being saved, they live a good life and well taken care of. Everyone does a great job, keeps things running smoothly. Lots of cats are mistreated and left to die, they are give... more

September 14, 2014

Big cat rescue and all the volunteers that take care of these animals are tremendous. They go above and beyond to help these animals.I highly recommend everyone to visit. Its truly remarkable everything thats done for each and every animal the BCR takes care of.
October 17, 2012

Thanks to them, cats are being saved, they live a good life and well taken care of. Everyone does a great job, keeps things running smoothly. Lots of cats are mistreated and left to die, they are given asecond chance and a much happier life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

I have visited Big Cat Rescue three times, gone on their tour, and learned a lot. I live near Rochester NY, we incorporated a visit to Big Cat Rescue into our vacation plans to Florida. If you live near Florida make sure you visit this very informative and great place. They do such great work rescuing big cats from deplorable conditions and give them a forever home for the rest of their life! They are working very hard to inform people of the abuse of big cats and change the laws. Thank you BCR for all you do for the cats.
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

My first visit to Big Cat Rescue was this May, and it won't be my last. Each time I visit Tampa, I intend to go. These people are absolutely selfless, and do so much good for these beautiful cats! They take in and care for big cats who have been exploited by idiot people, as well as educate the public. Kudos!!
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

This is one of the few organizations that will take on animals such as lions, tigers, panthers and cougars that others have discarded or outgrown. They combat ignorance with education and finance some truly expensive vet bills between addressing years of starvation and abuse, as well as medical issues from being confined improperly not to mention the (all too common) barbaric declawing of large cats. If they did not exist there would be little recourse for smaller, underfunded and overwhelmed shelters to send their animals to, not to mention the backyard "rescues" that are only that in name. They do a heroic job in transporting large, dangerous animals in from all over the country and caring for them. BCR also does a good job publicizing the abuses large cats (especially kittens and "pets") suffer at the hands of ignorant owners, or ignorant participants in petting schemes, photo ops, etc.. I cannot praise them highly enough.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

We had a wonderful tour seeing this place! What incredible work they do to enhance the lives of these magnificent creatures who have suffered at the hands of unthinking or plain exploitive and cruel people. Important work is being done there by those who serve God's creatures!
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I've visited the sanctuary and followed the group online for years. All appears totally legit. They rescue big cats from horrible situations and use donations to aid rescued animals and to update/maintain the facility where rescued animals live out their lives. Spacious enclosures and no forced interaction. Everyone has ample space to move, play or hide and appears in excellent condition. This group also actively lobbies at state and fed govt level to change the situation for big cats where the problems start.
August 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 31, 2013

I have donated to Big Cat Rescue for years now. I have visited this facility numerous times. I am extremely impressed with the passion their staff and volunteers care and advocate for their animals.... more

August 28, 2014

I've donated for almost 10 years now and have visited four times and am astounded with the service they provide to abused and neglected big cats. These aren't big cats that you can pay to pet. These are big cats thrown away by greedy people who pretend they care about the animals but use them for personal profit then abuse them and throw them away once they are too big to be cute. Big Cat Rescue provides these magnificent animals very large enclosures stocked with trees, grass, caves, and enrichment activities so they can live their lives out in dignity. Some of these cats experience grass for the very first time after being chained up in a small concrete pen by their former owners. 100% of all proceeds go towards the care of these cats. Big Cat Rescue also spends much time educating the public about why these animals DO NOT MAKE GOOD PETS. Many of these animals here were once pets that just got too big to keep. This is a very worthy charity and I encourage anyone who is in the Tampa area to visit and take a tour to see what fantastic work they do!
January 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated to Big Cat Rescue for years now. I have visited this facility numerous times. I am extremely impressed with the passion their staff and volunteers care and advocate for their animals. Not only are these big cats not locked in cages, they are afforded huge "Cat-a-tats" that are up to an acre in size. These enclosures are exceedingly spacious, well build, very well secured, and maintained daily. These animals are provide outstanding medical care, food, and enrichment. The volunteers who conduct the tours are extremely up-to-date on big cat behavior and the situations these cats came from and do their level best to convince anyone they come in contact with why it's important to never support places who "use" Big Cats in shows, taking photos with tiger cubs, etc. because that just perpetuates the problem.

While these cats have come from very sad and abusive backgrounds, they are well cared and provided for and can live out their lives in safety and comfort. I cannot imagine a better run, efficient, and maintained charity. The City of Tampa has supported this organization for years engaging in numerous fund-raisers and many community groups come to volunteer to do all sorts of work here. While I live in Columbia, SC, I visit Tampa, FL and Big Cat Rescue every chance I get and give as much as I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

Big Cat Rescue is a model sanctuary for the care of exotic animals, and I have nothing but the highest praise for them. BCR has made great efforts to provide naturalistic enclosures with targeted enrichment programs for these cats, and the top-notch quality of their care shows in the health and behavior of the cats. Not to mention the fact that a significant proportion of the cats they care for live well into their 20's, the maximal end of any felid's lifespan. BCR has been nothing but revealing in their day-to-day operations and vet procedures. Caring for these cats costs money. A LOT of money. The cats' health and well-being come first, and BCR makes that very clear (as do the cats themselves, who can't lie). Any rescued exotic cat that can call BCR home is very lucky indeed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no changes to recommend at this time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

Big Cat Rescue does a wonderful job in rescuing big cats from neglectful or abusive situations. The animals are treated with respect and given veterinary care. They have natural surroundings in their enclosures and are given enrichment materials. BCR even has a large vacation enclosure so big cats can explore for several weeks at a time. I believe in and support Big Cat Rescue!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer