Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
345 Reviews
1234.733335
Write A Review
May 7, 2013

more

May 7, 2013

They do a wonderful job helping to stop the abuse of big cats being exploited for money. Visit their site and watch their daily videos of all cats. You will see all the wonderful things they do for these animals!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2013

more

May 7, 2013

Wonderful Place! I love Big Cat and have been multiple times. They are dedicated to the health, and well-being of the animals in their care. They are also heavily involved in protection for the big cats, and other wild animals, on a global level. I only wish that I lived a little closer so I could go more often and become a volunteer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

Big Cat Rescue is an amazing organization that changes lives of the animals that nobody cares about. They give them a second chance at life, to see the sunshine and feel grass under their paws (natura... more

April 5, 2013

This is my second nomination for Big Cat Rescue because they do so much to save lives of these amazing cats. I live not too far from the rescue and I have seen the care and love being put into it. It is definetely NOT a zoo and should not be treated as such. It is the one place where the animals are treated with respect and are given privacy. I hope that private ownership of "exotic" cats will come to an end soon because not all are fortunate to end up at facilities like Big Cat Rescue.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue is an amazing organization that changes lives of the animals that nobody cares about. They give them a second chance at life, to see the sunshine and feel grass under their paws (natural things that have been denied to many neglected cats). These animals are not stupid, they can feel pain and despair, and they deserve basic dignity. The before and after images of the cats is proof that quality of life is returned to them at the sanctuary. Big Cat Rescue is one example that there is hope to end expoitation of these beautiful animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue is an excellent organization that gives abused circus animals, mistreated or illegally kept exotic pets, and feline former residents of closed zoos or animal exhibits a second chance. I am aware that it is the victim of defamation by at least one disgruntled illegal feline exhibitor, and many derogatory reviews may be generated by this exhibitor and her supporters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I cried when my husband & I came to visit your beautiful rescue center. The habitats were awesome the animals magnificent. The horrible and very touching stories told by the tour guide was a real eye opener. We try to support you every way we can. Spent around $300.00 in the gift shop! Bought Christmas presents for our Grand daughters. Also have ordered on line for presents as well. We cant wait till the girls are old enough to bring them to see your sanctuary . THANK YOU for all you do, because of you these animals will be around for generations to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue is one of the most AMAZING places you will ever have the chance to visit. The work that this organization is doing is so worth while and their goal is not only to help these animals but to educate the public about the dangers of keeping such animals as pets and what we as a society can do to help protect them. This is one organization that my husband and I gladly support and donate to.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This place is a scam and the conditions are gross. the cages and fences are full of rust , there is fungus growing all over on the inside of the cages. The animals drinking water is nasty green and full of alge. I feel so sorry for those poor aniamls. Carol Baskin claims to care for the animals yet I fail to see it in any of the care or living areas of these Big Cats. Why hasnt this place been shut down yet.?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 20, 2010

As a longtime contributor and advocate via Big Cat Rescue's alerts and CatLaws topics, I can attest to the sanctuary's excellent longterm record in terms of rescuing and providing comfortable, appropr... more

November 26, 2012

Big Cat Rescue is an internationally recognized and respected sanctuary for abused, neglected, unwanted and otherwise at-risk big cats. Located in Tampa, Florida, USA, the dedicated members of BCR go far beyond giving sanctuary -- they are also deeply committed to educating the public about the plight of big cats, and encourage all of us, through their educational materials, website, videos, and actism opportunities, to become involved in the ongoing struggle to improve the lives, safety, and future of big cats of all species.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2010

As a longtime contributor and advocate via Big Cat Rescue's alerts and CatLaws topics, I can attest to the sanctuary's excellent longterm record in terms of rescuing and providing comfortable, appropriate life care for felines large and small, most of whom would have had uncertain or nightmarish fates if they had not had the good fortune to come to BCR. Big Cat Rescue is one of a handful of sanctuaries I personally know of which truly provide species-appropriate and safe (for the public and the cats) life care and enrichment for the cats, and excellent ongoing education for the public, as well as informative publications including advocacy issues the general public can become involved in. Big Cat Rescue is everything a sanctuary should be.

Photos

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

and would make the lives of even more large, medium and small cats comfortable, enriched, and well cared for, which is what every cat deserves. Big Cat Rescue has a proven longterm record of excellence in providing sanctuary for big cats.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This will be lengthy so be prepared You won't be disappointed, I promise. The minute I found out about BCR I started making plans to visit. I wasn't sure what I'd see, but just being near those beatiful creatures was enough for me. My friend and I took the whole package, which included the tour, the opportuniy to go inside some of the lesser cat enclosures (befoe the government stepped in for the protection of both peaple and animals), went on the night tour (there was a 9 year old boy that made a tempting treat for one of the lionesses. He was totally safe!!!), stay overnight in a modified B&B. Hearing the morning sounds of lions and tigers as they wake for the day is something I will always hold dear in my heart. I was able to pet, yes PET, Rosie the Caracal, a cerval (name escapes me right now) and a bobcat named, I think, Little Feather. We heard facts than almost no one in our group knew, which gave me a whole knew perspective on privately owned exotic animals, roadside zoos and canned hunts )this makes me crazy!). During the enrichment period we all made toys for the cats. I never knew that cardboard TP and paper towel rolls, covered in spices and with chicks inside (humanely euthanized) could make a great toy for the lesser cats. Then, we took large cardboard produce box and did the samed for the greater cats. It was so much fun watching the cats rip into those things. We contined wth opperant training, where we were taught how to ask the animals to stand up on hind feet for a treat. This is how the staff is able to check every cat out for fleas, sores, illness, etc without going into the enclosure. We were, also, part of the feeding tour, where we were taught how to make nutritious and healthy meals, how much they eat (wow), and then we were able to feed some of the cats. I got to feed Shere Kahn (very well protected!!) He's a Bengal-Siberian mix, weighing in at a hefty 850 lbs! I remember that day like it was well, last week. My friends got tired of me asking if they had seen my pictures. I believe I came away from that experience a better person than when I went in. I've only been able to go back once more, but it is on my bucket list for 2013. Please donate whatever you can to give these animals a place to retire and get away from any form of mistreatment. All the cats are loved by all who see them up close, not in a boxed cage with only cement under their feet. BCR is filled to the brim with rescued cats, but in an emergency they find room. Carole Baskin is one of my heros, along with all the volunteers and staff that give their all.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 20, 2012

Everyone note that the positive reviews of this organization were all made AT THE SAME TIME. There are over 30 reviews made october 17th and many were clumped together whereas the verfiied reviews from professionals were made on different dates. Someone is obviously writing fake reviews for bcr.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer