Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
338 Reviews
1234.727815
| 1 ... 6 7 8...20 |
Write A Review
December 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I cried when my husband & I came to visit your beautiful rescue center. The habitats were awesome the animals magnificent. The horrible and very touching stories told by the tour guide was a real eye opener. We try to support you every way we can. Spent around $300.00 in the gift shop! Bought Christmas presents for our Grand daughters. Also have ordered on line for presents as well. We cant wait till the girls are old enough to bring them to see your sanctuary . THANK YOU for all you do, because of you these animals will be around for generations to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue is one of the most AMAZING places you will ever have the chance to visit. The work that this organization is doing is so worth while and their goal is not only to help these animals but to educate the public about the dangers of keeping such animals as pets and what we as a society can do to help protect them. This is one organization that my husband and I gladly support and donate to.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This place is a scam and the conditions are gross. the cages and fences are full of rust , there is fungus growing all over on the inside of the cages. The animals drinking water is nasty green and full of alge. I feel so sorry for those poor aniamls. Carol Baskin claims to care for the animals yet I fail to see it in any of the care or living areas of these Big Cats. Why hasnt this place been shut down yet.?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 20, 2010

As a longtime contributor and advocate via Big Cat Rescue's alerts and CatLaws topics, I can attest to the sanctuary's excellent longterm record in terms of rescuing and providing comfortable, appropr... more

November 26, 2012

Big Cat Rescue is an internationally recognized and respected sanctuary for abused, neglected, unwanted and otherwise at-risk big cats. Located in Tampa, Florida, USA, the dedicated members of BCR go far beyond giving sanctuary -- they are also deeply committed to educating the public about the plight of big cats, and encourage all of us, through their educational materials, website, videos, and actism opportunities, to become involved in the ongoing struggle to improve the lives, safety, and future of big cats of all species.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2010

As a longtime contributor and advocate via Big Cat Rescue's alerts and CatLaws topics, I can attest to the sanctuary's excellent longterm record in terms of rescuing and providing comfortable, appropriate life care for felines large and small, most of whom would have had uncertain or nightmarish fates if they had not had the good fortune to come to BCR. Big Cat Rescue is one of a handful of sanctuaries I personally know of which truly provide species-appropriate and safe (for the public and the cats) life care and enrichment for the cats, and excellent ongoing education for the public, as well as informative publications including advocacy issues the general public can become involved in. Big Cat Rescue is everything a sanctuary should be.

Photos

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

and would make the lives of even more large, medium and small cats comfortable, enriched, and well cared for, which is what every cat deserves. Big Cat Rescue has a proven longterm record of excellence in providing sanctuary for big cats.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This will be lengthy so be prepared You won't be disappointed, I promise. The minute I found out about BCR I started making plans to visit. I wasn't sure what I'd see, but just being near those beatiful creatures was enough for me. My friend and I took the whole package, which included the tour, the opportuniy to go inside some of the lesser cat enclosures (befoe the government stepped in for the protection of both peaple and animals), went on the night tour (there was a 9 year old boy that made a tempting treat for one of the lionesses. He was totally safe!!!), stay overnight in a modified B&B. Hearing the morning sounds of lions and tigers as they wake for the day is something I will always hold dear in my heart. I was able to pet, yes PET, Rosie the Caracal, a cerval (name escapes me right now) and a bobcat named, I think, Little Feather. We heard facts than almost no one in our group knew, which gave me a whole knew perspective on privately owned exotic animals, roadside zoos and canned hunts )this makes me crazy!). During the enrichment period we all made toys for the cats. I never knew that cardboard TP and paper towel rolls, covered in spices and with chicks inside (humanely euthanized) could make a great toy for the lesser cats. Then, we took large cardboard produce box and did the samed for the greater cats. It was so much fun watching the cats rip into those things. We contined wth opperant training, where we were taught how to ask the animals to stand up on hind feet for a treat. This is how the staff is able to check every cat out for fleas, sores, illness, etc without going into the enclosure. We were, also, part of the feeding tour, where we were taught how to make nutritious and healthy meals, how much they eat (wow), and then we were able to feed some of the cats. I got to feed Shere Kahn (very well protected!!) He's a Bengal-Siberian mix, weighing in at a hefty 850 lbs! I remember that day like it was well, last week. My friends got tired of me asking if they had seen my pictures. I believe I came away from that experience a better person than when I went in. I've only been able to go back once more, but it is on my bucket list for 2013. Please donate whatever you can to give these animals a place to retire and get away from any form of mistreatment. All the cats are loved by all who see them up close, not in a boxed cage with only cement under their feet. BCR is filled to the brim with rescued cats, but in an emergency they find room. Carole Baskin is one of my heros, along with all the volunteers and staff that give their all.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 20, 2012

Everyone note that the positive reviews of this organization were all made AT THE SAME TIME. There are over 30 reviews made october 17th and many were clumped together whereas the verfiied reviews from professionals were made on different dates. Someone is obviously writing fake reviews for bcr.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Several years ago while attending graduate school in Boston, I did a project on non-profits and discovered the Big Cat Rescue. I was amazed at the level of care they provided these big cats and the transparency they allowed to the public. Their mission and cause to educate the public while caring for these exotic cats got myself and my then boyfriend, now husband, Neil hooked! When I found out that they did wedding there we both said to each other "this is the place we will get married!" And sure enough that's what we did on October 19, 2012.
We are both from Massachusetts and so is our entire family. It should be noted that he and I never visited the sanctuary and simply followed them via Facebook and their internet site. After we got engaged earlier this year I immediately contacted their wedding coordinator Sherry who was the most helpful woman you could ever meet! Phone calls and e-mails on my part were constant and she was willing to help me every step of the way from inquiries on traffic from St. Petersburg to where to go for dinner afterwards. I could not have asked for a better person to help me. I knew this for sure when I arrived the day of and she literally was there to meet me with open arms and a hug.
Hearing Joseph the Lion making his cat-like calls in the background during the ceremony, seeing Max the Bobcat laying out by the lake while I walked down the isle and Shere Khan and China Doll hanging out opposite the ceremony site was by far the best part of this whole experience. My guest list included Lions, Tigers, Bobcats and more! Who else can say that!?
After the ceremony, we were allowed to take our time with pictures and moved along with a guided tour with Sherry. This place was so amazing even our musician wanted to tag along for the tour! Sherry brought us around and explained how the sanctuary functions and sustains itself, the awful treatment the cats had endured prior to coming there and educated all of us on how the sanctuary came to be.
Seeing these animals in person for the first time and how happy they were made every effort and sacrifice we made to make this day possible completely worth it. I am so glad that every cent we gave them will go directly to the cats. Next to marrying each other, having our wedding at BCR was the next best decision we made.
Thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts for making this day so memorable and for educating us and our friends!

Tanya & Neil Gouveia

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been watching this organization for several years and have seen how big of an impact they make in regard to helping rescue and rehabiilitate injured large cats that were victims of abuse by humans. They have a gorgeous sanctuary, and their staff seem to be very dedicated to what they do. Also, they do a lot to educate the public about these beautiful creatures and help advocate for them. Personally, I think what they do is incredible, and I would love to go there and volunteer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue is at the forefront of the movement to treat all animals with respect, and they do so by example by saving abandoned and mistreated exotic and hybrid exotic cats. Their education programs have changed the way many many people look at the 'ownership', display, and marketing use of exotic and hybrid exotic cats.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Big Cat Rescue helps the big animals that are most feared by people but that are the most helpless when abandoned or abused. Since the Big Cat Rescue does rescue these beautiful animals they are given back their God given respect as the Big Cats of the jungle. These are beautiful Big Cats that are not dangerous if they are respected and if their freedom to roam is respected and the Big Cat Rescue does that. The Big Cat Rescue needs to be praised for all they do for all of our wild animals that everyone else is afraid to do or that others have abandoned and abused these animals. So I give them the praise they so richly deserve and say keep up the good work and because of your good work you will reap great great rewards in heaven for taking care of God's special creatures. Since I do not have money to donate to the cause and my health will not let me help with these beautiful creatures I will say thank you for all you do Big Cat Rescue!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer