Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
345 Reviews
1234.733335
Write A Review
May 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My girlfriends and I were in Tampa in March 2013 and had an opportunity to visit the Big Cat Rescue. What an experience! It far exceeded my expectations! I not only saw these beautiful creatures up close, but I also learned their history. Some of these stories broke my heart, but it brought home the importance of this organization and their desire to bring awareness of not keeping these awesome creatures as "pets". The heart of this organization for these animals is not only a loving one, but it is one full of wisdom. This organization has evolved to not only be a home for those who have been abused or need a home, but if it is possible, to release them back into the wild. The education I received from my visit was immeasurable. I may have arrived as a visitor of Big Cat Rescue, but I left as an active participant of the program. If I lived in the area, I would volunteer (if they would have me), but since I live on the other side of the US, I participate by donating.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I were in Tampa celebrating our anniversary many years ago and I spotted a brochure for Big Cat Rescue in our hotel lobby. Before we were due to leave for home, I begged my husband to stay in town for a couple extra hours so we could take a tour. I am so grateful that we did because that place changed our lives! We learned so much and were so moved and touched by the stories we heard of the animals. Ever since then we have been regular donors and "Advo-Cats" for the animals. God bless them for their devotion and such care shown to them. I wish I lived closer so I could be a regular volunteer. I cannot say enough good things about them and what an awesome place Big Cat Rescue is, a must see for any visit to Tampa!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2013

more

May 19, 2013

Big Cat Rescue fills a necessary and much needed niche in the exotic animal community. Their commitment to the well-being of captive exotic felids is admirable and inspiring. Reading of the rescues encourages me to hope that the many abused and abandoned captive felids still out there waiting for rescue will soon be found before it is too late. Big Cat Rescue, and indeed all of us, continue to fight for legislation banning private ownership of exotic cats. I recommend Big Cat Rescue to anyone looking to support a non-profit engaged in much needed work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

We took out parents to Big Cat Rescue for their 50th wedding anniversary. We spent the whole day on behind the scenes tours and had a wonderful time. Big Cat Rescue does amazing working raising awareness that big cats are wild animals and should NEVER be kept as pets. This is a BIG issue in the U.S. They have rescued so many animals over the years and given them the healthiest, happiest lives possible in safe captivity. Here's to the day when the work of Big Cat Rescue is no longer needed. Until then, please support them in their mission!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

The Big Cat Rescue is filled with amazing people that truly care for the well being of the big cats. more

May 9, 2013

The Big Cat Rescue is amazing. They want what is best for the animals and always strive to do the right thing and educate the public about their cause too! Love them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Big Cat Rescue is filled with amazing people that truly care for the well being of the big cats.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Big Cat rescues big cats that have been put in bad situations by well meaning humans and also some really bad humans. I travelled to Florida for my birthday just to see this place. The cats are goregeous and well cared for. The ones that aren't comfortable with being viewed are kept in a private area. Which tells me they reallly care about what the cat is feeling. I know they would rather be in the wild but this is the best option for them since the wild is no longer and option. The most spectacular thing is hearing Joseph (a handsome male lion) roar. It will make your chest vibrate! You can hear it out to the parking lot! Zabu and Cameron is a must see. You can read their story at The Big Cat Rescue site or app. All the cats come close to you just to check you out! If I lived in Florida I would be a volunteer.
I hope you go there and start donating to the cause as I have. We as humans have put them in this situation. I am so happy there is a place where they can go and be safe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

We have visited the Big Cat Rescue site in Tampa FL several times and fully enjoyed the sites, sounds & learning they offer. The cats are well cared for; the volunteers & professionals truly love these animals and it shows in all they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

This non profit organization provides for the well being of big cats who have been abused, are old, have been found hurt, etc. My husband and I have been there a few times and help support with small donations throughout the year. I am amazed at their level of care for the big cats, knowledge and generally trying to ensure the most natural of habitats they can provided the land area they have to work in. This is a bright star for Florida and Tampa. The cats are beautiful and to be able to see them and learn about them is truly amazing. I highly recommend a visit to them to anyone who is new to the area - my husband and I try and go at least once a year for a visit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2013

more

May 7, 2013

I have never had the pleasure of visiting (yet) but follow them on Facebook, YouTube, and their action site at BigCatRescue.org. (CatLaws)
I have written to a few officials on various big cat related issues brought to my attention thru these sites. I respect and applaud the efforts of BCR and
all their affiliated sanctuaries thru the GlobalFederationofAccreditedSanctuaries.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2013

more

May 7, 2013

We live over an hour away (The Villages) and this is our MOST favorite place to visit and take others/ family & friends who come to see us!!! All of the cats are gorgeous and SOOO well taken care of!!! Their habitats are awesome, they all seem so happy and content... Makes your heart feel so good!!! The entire property is most impressive, the cats are "to die for" beautiful!!! And, the REAL tribute goes to the staff and volunteers who commit themselves so unselfishly and care so very much!!! If you come and take one of their tours, you will NEVER forget such a positive experience!!! This is one of Tampa's TOP attractions, for sure!!! We should also say, one of Central Florida's TOP attractions!!! Bless all of the caring people work work/ volunteer here, as well as the beautiful and loved cats!!!
Rusty and Judy

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer