Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
322 Reviews
1234.714295
Previous | 1 2 3...19 |
Write A Review
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

I have researched Big Cat Rescue extensively, and I think the founder, Mrs. Carol Baskin is deceitful about the abuse and situations many of her cats orgins. Many volunteers, friends, employee, and associates have revealed that most of her cats are from her breeding programs or the exotic pet trade. This does not mean the animals were abused in any way, and many claim quite the opposite. Sad stories of abuse often lead to bigger donations, and this is fraud. Mrs. Baskin has lied about her past, when she stopped breeding animals, and has been accused of slandering smaller less known sancuaries because of the competition, and also if their philosophy differs from hers. Her cat sanctuary was once a land fill, and many of her cats have been alleged to die of cancer, and she is not a accredited cat sanctuary as she suggests. She allows the public into her cat sanctuary so she is a zoo. There are numerous reports of fencing violations, and not properly caring for her cats. I also have viewed her on video tape claiming that Bengals as youngs as 2nd generation have wonderful personalities, and a soft pelt, in 1995. I find it quite hypocritical that now she claims that hybrid cats are wild, vicious, suffer behavioral and health problems, spray all over the house, are excellent hunters that will kill off indigenous wildlife and will mate with feral colonies and make a supercat. My favorite is stalk old ladies, young children, pets, and even will attack tigers and lions. Oh, Mrs. Baskin has a pet Savannah in her private home she proudly displays on her Facebook page. I think it is disgusting what Big Cat Rescue is doing to smaller sancuaries, lying about their rescues, and lying about house cats. This is not a crediable organization. Also, Big Cat Rescue takes pleasure in calling concerned pet owners of hybrid cats that she is petitioning horrible names such as animal abusers, or accusing hybrid breeders of keeping their cats in puppy mill conditions. What type of crediable agency would stoop to such despicable levels!? Big Cat Rescue purposely lies to their supporters about their purposed ban in CA and Florida. In this ban early generation cats from 1-3 would not be grandfathered in and would be put into sanctuaries or euthanized. BCR made a choice to lie to their supporters about this, which is more proof of their disguesting immoral behavior. This organization only serves Carol Baskin, and nobody else.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Carol Baskin should be removed, and a whole adit should be taken of all finances, and people's salaries should also be questioned and the authentity of their job title and duties. The water and habitat should be tested, and if it is causing cancer for the felines, an outside water source for drinking needs to ve found. The enclosures need serious improvement, and more attention needs to be given to the actual sanctuary, and less to Mrs. Baskin's political aspersions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

BCR is not only one of the nation's best sanctuaries for big cats, it's also an outspoken advocate for eliminating abusive roadside zoos and faux sanctuaries that exploit these animals for profit.

As a result, BCR is a popular target for animal abusers and their enablers. It's a good
measure of just how effective their advocacy is!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leverage BCR's grassroots support into a legislative powerhouse. Those fans are ready and eager to help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After review BCR 990 (a tax return for non-profits) I discovered the paid employees are family members. If I read the document correctly, it looks like they have quite a bit of liquid assets but can't fix the USDA violations. The state of Florida does not consider BCR a sanctuary. The animals are really part of a private zoo (over 32,000 visitors a year) doing the things that the organization is supposed to prevent. Reading the positive reviews, everyone can wait to go there and see the animals again. Now BCR seems to have run out of big cats to "rescue" and is going after domestic cats such as the Bengal and Savannah which have been around for decades.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow the animals to have true sanctuary with out the consisted visitor. Quite spreading untruths about domestic cats. Basically, they should not be a non-profit with the set up they have.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue is a wonderful sanctuary. I love it there and cannot wait to go again. I am also a contributor and an Advocat. The cats have spacious catatats with grass and dens and trees. They get enrichment and love to rip open spice bags and cardboard figures. These cats have come from places where they were abused, neglected and abandoned. Some were rescued in very bad shape. They have a marvelous medical team and the cats are given top rate medical care. They work very hard in educating the public about why big cats do not make pets. I have learned so much from them and work with them in spreading the word and educating others. Staff and volunteers do amazing work.
April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I visited Big Cat Rescue in 11/2010 and have been following them daily / religiously on Facebook and in several groups before that visit and since that visit and I am very excited about my upcoming trip this September. Never have I been so impressed with the natural habitats in which the cats are kept...the purring bobcats rubbing up against their cages welcoming us, the cougars lying on their backs purring at us as we passed by, and the tigers splashing at us as we passed...trying to get us to stay and watch them longer. They truly have the best accomodations available ... short of being in the wild. I loved watching them show off...what hams some of them are!

The cats are always treated like royalty and the staff members take every single opportunity to spend as much time as necessary (with no DIRECT interaction of course) to bring the mistreated and/or wild animals that cannot be released to the wild to learn the interaction skills that allow the volunteers and staff to examine them when necessary for any potential problems regularly.

I've seen volunteers and staff spend hours and hours in the BCR hospital trying to bring injured cats back to health ... sometimes successfully, sometimes not... with little > no human contact so they WOULD be good candidates for release-- the cheers and tears as they bound away into the wild... or the acceptance when they know they won't survive in the wild, and they're given a spot at BCR to live out their lives. I've seen the joy when they are successful, and the tears when they are not....but no expense is spared when trying to save an injured cat. It doesn't matter if an empoyee is on their day off or not...if a call comes in, BCR is ready to go to try and get the rescue going!

Any cat that is in need of place to live out their natural live would indeed "win the lottery" if they were placed at Big Cat Rescue, of that I am 100% certain.
November 24, 2013

more

November 24, 2013

Big cat does wonderful things for mistreated or neglected animals that others would have forgotten or cast aside. Every experience I have had with them has been wonderful, they are truly amazing people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The volunteers at BCR are so amazing on many different levels. The sacrifices they make to ensure the well being of the Big cats far exceeds any level of care that I've seen before. They do so much to provide a great life for these once neglected cats. They educate and spread awareness to the public that is much needed. I cannot say enough good about this sanctuary or the staff. I only wish I was closer to them to visit more often or maybe one day be lucky enough to volunteer. Thank you for all your dedication and hard work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Very informative and interesting tour with beautiful big cats!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

My visit to BCR was some years ago when it was called Big Cats on Easy Street. We were able to rent a room on the property, kinda like a storage shed conversion with full bathroom. I understand these are no longer available, but we had a once in a lifetime experience staying the entire weekend, with two lynx attached as our hosts. It was awesome to be allowed to actually pet big cats, my best experiences were with Little Feather, a bobcat and the caracals and lynx, caracals being the most friendly. We explored the sanctuary at will and the entire experience will always be dear to my heart. I would highly recommend visiting BCR to anyone, but especially anyone who loves felines.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring back the weekend cabin experiences with Big Cats as hosts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

May 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My girlfriends and I were in Tampa in March 2013 and had an opportunity to visit the Big Cat Rescue. What an experience! It far exceeded my expectations! I not only saw these beautiful creatures up close, but I also learned their history. Some of these stories broke my heart, but it brought home the importance of this organization and their desire to bring awareness of not keeping these awesome creatures as "pets". The heart of this organization for these animals is not only a loving one, but it is one full of wisdom. This organization has evolved to not only be a home for those who have been abused or need a home, but if it is possible, to release them back into the wild. The education I received from my visit was immeasurable. I may have arrived as a visitor of Big Cat Rescue, but I left as an active participant of the program. If I lived in the area, I would volunteer (if they would have me), but since I live on the other side of the US, I participate by donating.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...19 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer