Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
346 Reviews
1234.73415
Write A Review
February 8, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 8, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

We have visited BCR on two occasions , and were impressed by the care given these cats. The enclosures are large with lots of plants, pools, and hidey-holes. One thing that really stood out was the fact that our guided tour did NOT go down one of the usual paths. Why? Because one of the cats along that route was upset by the tours! BCR respected that cat.
I am also impressed that BCR is speaking out for better rules and regulations on the keeping of big cats. (It's too easy for anyone to buy a tiger as a "pet". A pet! Here's a handy hint - wild animals don't make good pets.) This position is not popular with many people who make a profit by charging people to pet and play with young cubs, and seems to have caused BCR no end of harassment, but they are standing by their beliefs.
October 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/10269467_10202606348055648_8606915697699986056_n.jpg?oh=37a4f0dc403b1e6836c4213b04c4220d&oe=54B962BB&__gda__=1421356559_89be8444601dfbd3070be41b25fd3aafhttps://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10202606348215652&set=pcb.10202606348415657&type=1

This is proof Carol Baskin is a liar. She claims that this F1 Bengal, is wild, pees everywhere, is hissy, and will not allow Baskin to touch her. Notice in the picture the hybrid cat is in her home, and drapped around her neck. Though this is a low quality Bengal, it is obviously her personal pet. So basically she wants owners and breeders that own F1- F3 hybrid cats to be have their beloved pets confiscated either killed or locked in cages next to lions and tigers. So, Mrs. Baskin that includes your personal pet, also. You want to make these feline illegal, that includes your personal kitty! I am tired of your lies, and how easy they are exposed.

Big Cat Rescue houses many cats, but a broad majority are from her own breeding program. If you search Big Cat Rescue you can find a list of cats she previously bred. Most of the paid employees are from her own family, and their salaries are very generous, as is Baskins. The donations keep her in the grand style she was accustomed to that her second husband kept her in.There are many misguided animal lovers that will fall for her tales of woe, for a abused cat. Most of the time it is exaggerated or a out and out lie. What is Baskin's history? Who truly knows since it changes as often as a women changes shoes. The animals live on a site that used to be a dump, so they are swimming and drinking polluted water. Many of her cats die or suffer of cancer. Also, she has had many violations for fencing, not caring for the amimals properly, and questionable business practices. Right next door to her horses were being slaughtered inhumanely for meat. Their terrified screams could be heard by employees, volunteers, and Baskin herself. They were concerned for the cats they made a bigger and stronger fence, but made the choice not to inform the authorities of the horrors happening next door. There was a giant horse bone grave yard close to the fence. I guess the suffering of other animals is no concern for BCR.

BCR is responsible for legislation that would ban hybrid cats in varying states. Currently, it is California and Florida. As I said earlier this ban is based on opinion, and cannot be collaborated with any factual evidence. This ban would basically kill many beloved pets. It is obvious that Baskin does not believe any of these opinions since she has hybrids splashed all over her Facebook, and owns one as a pet. Not to mention she had a passion for them in the past, and was not successful in breeding. I believe that this is ban is motivated by greed, envy, and the chance for more fame. Also, HSUS and BCR are opening another zoo. Which means more money and attention for her. I truly hope people open their eyes to her evil and deceptions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of Baskin and everyone associated with her, and turn BCR to a true animal lover, that actually cared about the animals, not fame or media attention.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization are amazing, doing wonderful things for the preservation of our big cats, thank you & keep up the wonderful work guys.
September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue is amazing! I've visited there once and plan to go back soon. The work they do to help the big cats is just awesome. If you have never been there I highly recommend it. The experience is one of a kind.
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

Visited Big Cat Rescue in Tampa, FL, for a wonderful tour of their great work to save and care for larger and small size wild cats.
Most of these magnificent felines are housed in comfort and roomy enclosures with a turn in a "vacation" area to roam and experience the freedom they deserve.

All of this is accomplished by dedicated volunteers and donations by people who just want to help as best they can.
There are few nonprofits that can show such return on dollar and manpower as the health and welfare of the living.
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

This is a great organization that rescues big cats and educates the public about them. Most big cats are rescued from people who abuse and exploit them. Wish there were more organizations like this one.
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

Big Cat Rescue is the most wonderful place you can ever visit! I was there last year and GOSH, the animals and their enclosures are gorgeous! The tour guide was friendly and knew her thing. The animals were playful and happy and anyone who says otherwise has not been there!

I recommend BCR
for anyone who loves, or even LIKES animals
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

Simply the best and most informative source for Big Cat and animal lovers. Thank you Big Cat Rescue for everything you have taught me about advocating for big cats everywhere!
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

Keep up the good work.You are all doing a wonderful job.
August 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 7, 2013

I have been twice to Big Cat Rescue to tour the sanctuary. The last time was February 13, 2012 my 50th birthday. This was the best part of my birthday vacation. Not only was it warmer than at home ... more

August 28, 2014

I have been to Big Cat Rescue twice. I plan on going again in March 2105.

It is a truly amazing place and the work that they do on behalf of all of the big cats is truly amazing.

Enjoy a tour and be completely amazed by how beautiful these animals are and how well cared for they
are.

Stop in the gift shop and sponsor one of the cats.

Thank heavens for Big Cat Rescue as these cats a have been saved thanks to them.
May 7, 2013

I have been twice to Big Cat Rescue to tour the sanctuary. The last time was February 13, 2012 my 50th birthday. This was the best part of my birthday vacation. Not only was it warmer than at home in Thorold, Ontario, Canada, but it never ceases to amaze me the way that these poor creatures have been treated and how happy they are to live out their lives in the safety of Big Cat Rescue.

It is the kind of experience that really makes you appreciate the kind of work that is undertaken by all of the staff and volunteers at Big Cat. It is truly remarkable to be able to see the most stunning animals in the world and know that they are safe but in the same breath sad to think that someone previously owned and abused them.

I was very proud to learn that Big Cat has been able over the years to rescue Canadian Lynx`s from fur farms in Canada but it also makes me sad to think that people think that is is okay to raise animals to kill them for someone`s idea of the ideal coat.

I will continue visit Big Cat Rescue every opportunity that I have and also continue to shop in their store as my way to support their wonderful work and support the many big cats.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer