Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
341 Reviews
1234.741945
Previous | 1 2 3...20 |
Write A Review
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

Visited Big Cat Rescue in Tampa, FL, for a wonderful tour of their great work to save and care for larger and small size wild cats.
Most of these magnificent felines are housed in comfort and roomy enclosures with a turn in a "vacation" area to roam and experience the freedom they deserve.

All of this is accomplished by dedicated volunteers and donations by people who just want to help as best they can.
There are few nonprofits that can show such return on dollar and manpower as the health and welfare of the living.
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

This is a great organization that rescues big cats and educates the public about them. Most big cats are rescued from people who abuse and exploit them. Wish there were more organizations like this one.
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

Big Cat Rescue is the most wonderful place you can ever visit! I was there last year and GOSH, the animals and their enclosures are gorgeous! The tour guide was friendly and knew her thing. The animals were playful and happy and anyone who says otherwise has not been there!

I recommend BCR
for anyone who loves, or even LIKES animals
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

Simply the best and most informative source for Big Cat and animal lovers. Thank you Big Cat Rescue for everything you have taught me about advocating for big cats everywhere!
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

Keep up the good work.You are all doing a wonderful job.
August 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 7, 2013

I have been twice to Big Cat Rescue to tour the sanctuary. The last time was February 13, 2012 my 50th birthday. This was the best part of my birthday vacation. Not only was it warmer than at home ... more

August 28, 2014

I have been to Big Cat Rescue twice. I plan on going again in March 2105.

It is a truly amazing place and the work that they do on behalf of all of the big cats is truly amazing.

Enjoy a tour and be completely amazed by how beautiful these animals are and how well cared for they
are.

Stop in the gift shop and sponsor one of the cats.

Thank heavens for Big Cat Rescue as these cats a have been saved thanks to them.
May 7, 2013

I have been twice to Big Cat Rescue to tour the sanctuary. The last time was February 13, 2012 my 50th birthday. This was the best part of my birthday vacation. Not only was it warmer than at home in Thorold, Ontario, Canada, but it never ceases to amaze me the way that these poor creatures have been treated and how happy they are to live out their lives in the safety of Big Cat Rescue.

It is the kind of experience that really makes you appreciate the kind of work that is undertaken by all of the staff and volunteers at Big Cat. It is truly remarkable to be able to see the most stunning animals in the world and know that they are safe but in the same breath sad to think that someone previously owned and abused them.

I was very proud to learn that Big Cat has been able over the years to rescue Canadian Lynx`s from fur farms in Canada but it also makes me sad to think that people think that is is okay to raise animals to kill them for someone`s idea of the ideal coat.

I will continue visit Big Cat Rescue every opportunity that I have and also continue to shop in their store as my way to support their wonderful work and support the many big cats.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I visited Big Cat Rescue in July, 2013 with my dad while in Tampa to visit my sister. Unfortunately, our tour was cut a little short due to thunderstorms and rain (classic summer weather in south Florida!) For the time that we were there and the cats that we saw, it was undeniable to see first-hand how much these amazing cats are loved and cared for by the volunteers at the Rescue. It was so inspiring to see the keepers care for such amazing animals with such respect and compassion that they deserve.
Although our tour was cut short and were unable to use the "rain check" tickets because of our schedule in FL, I've continued to follow BCR online and various social media sites. I absolutely love reading the updates and stories that they post, as well as the quality of information and ease of access to public awareness campaigns and letters to legislators about big cat abuse.
Even from where I live in the Northeast, I have and will continue to support BCR anyway that I can.
Keep up the great work!!!
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I visited Big Cat rescue and found the staff to be very knowledgeable and deeply concerned for the welfare of the animals. All the habitats were clean and the animals appeared well cared for.
I enjoyed my visit and have supported them with donations since.

I have volunteered at
wildlife rehabilitation centers in NY for over 20 years and so I have some experience on wildlife care and animal behavior.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to give them more room and funding to help more animals

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I had the priviledge to visit Big Cat Rescue many years ago. Back then it was called Big Cats on Easy Street. I enjoyed the entire park for three days, exploring all the areas where the cats were. It was impressive the size of each cats' home, with alot of vegetation, seeming very natural and at times we couldn't find the cats in there areas because it was so big they could hide if they wanted to. Their tours are very informative. I enjoyed feeding time, walking with the volunteers. I was also impressed with how they made sure no cat was ever out of water in the Florida heat. I walked past a cougar's area and there was only 12 inches between me and him...awesome, majestic animals. BCR is by far the very best animal park I've visited in Florida.
Barbara Jimenez
Florida
August 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 15, 2014

I visited Big Cat Rescue in 11/2010 and have been following them daily / religiously on Facebook and in several groups before that visit and since that visit and I am very excited about my upcoming tr... more

August 28, 2014

I visited Big Cat Rescue back in 2010 and we came away a changed family. Seeing these gorgeous cats, up close (4' away, safely caged beyond anyone's reach) and personal, hearing each of their stories whether they were "housepets" (BAD idea), retired from shows/circuses, or attempted to be rehabbed, but just couldn't make it in the wild, they ALL enjoy spacious cat-a-tats...not cages, mind you, but LARGE enclosures that are as close to what their natural habitat would have been in the wild. (They even have what they call a "vacation rotation" which is over 2 acres of fenced area with trees, lakes, sprinklers and different "enrichment" objects to keep the cats from being bored. Each cat/s take a two week vacation in an area where they can really run full speed ahead..and they love it. There's a smaller vacation rotation planned for the smaller cats.

They received the BEST in medical care...and animals are never euthanized unless it's the best thing for the cat...illness, injury, something that modern medicine just cannot heal.

Since my trip in 2010, I've kept up with BCR on a daily basis, and was even the lucky winner of an Animal Lover's Vacation they give away annually. If you visit their website, you can see where to register and I strongly advise you to do so! My "Animal Lover's Vacation" is set up in just a few weeks, and while I know that a lot has changed at the sanctuary (all for the better)...some cats have passed away, most due to extremely old age, there are others there I've never seen. To say that this vacation is a trip of a lifetime is an understatement. BUT..winner of the free vacation or not, if you are ever in the Tampa area Big Cat Rescue is somewhere you definitely want to visit while you're there.

You will never see such beautiful animals up close, the sound of a cougar lying on his back at his fencline purring at you...the talktive Ocelots...the Bobcats that make you feel so welcome, and the tiny Sand Cats...you'll learn about each animal and why they are there, tour the beautifully kept grounds, and even bet you come out of the gift shop with a souviner or three.

Check out all the available tours (and don't forget to registerfor that free vacation..given away each March) at www.bigcatrescue.org !
April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I visited Big Cat Rescue in 11/2010 and have been following them daily / religiously on Facebook and in several groups before that visit and since that visit and I am very excited about my upcoming trip this September. Never have I been so impressed with the natural habitats in which the cats are kept...the purring bobcats rubbing up against their cages welcoming us, the cougars lying on their backs purring at us as we passed by, and the tigers splashing at us as we passed...trying to get us to stay and watch them longer. They truly have the best accomodations available ... short of being in the wild. I loved watching them show off...what hams some of them are!

The cats are always treated like royalty and the staff members take every single opportunity to spend as much time as necessary (with no DIRECT interaction of course) to bring the mistreated and/or wild animals that cannot be released to the wild to learn the interaction skills that allow the volunteers and staff to examine them when necessary for any potential problems regularly.

I've seen volunteers and staff spend hours and hours in the BCR hospital trying to bring injured cats back to health ... sometimes successfully, sometimes not... with little > no human contact so they WOULD be good candidates for release-- the cheers and tears as they bound away into the wild... or the acceptance when they know they won't survive in the wild, and they're given a spot at BCR to live out their lives. I've seen the joy when they are successful, and the tears when they are not....but no expense is spared when trying to save an injured cat. It doesn't matter if an empoyee is on their day off or not...if a call comes in, BCR is ready to go to try and get the rescue going!

Any cat that is in need of place to live out their natural live would indeed "win the lottery" if they were placed at Big Cat Rescue, of that I am 100% certain.
Previous | 1 2 3...20 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer