Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
317 Reviews
1234.747635
| 1 ... 3 4 5...30 |
Write A Review
May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

The folks at Big Cat Rescue provide a safe, clean and stimulating environment to many animals who have been treated poorly in their past. It is clean and safe and very enjoyable to visit with guides who provide insightful answers to every question. I've seen firsthand how a casual visitor can become a very committed donor in just one educational tour. I have become acquainted with a volunteer who is in her second year at the Rescue, and gives countless hours to the cause despite her busy schedule. I've learned she is just an example of many other volunteer staff who have given of their time and love for many, many years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Big Cat rescues big cats that have been put in bad situations by well meaning humans and also some really bad humans. I travelled to Florida for my birthday just to see this place. The cats are goregeous and well cared for. The ones that aren't comfortable with being viewed are kept in a private area. Which tells me they reallly care about what the cat is feeling. I know they would rather be in the wild but this is the best option for them since the wild is no longer and option. The most spectacular thing is hearing Joseph (a handsome male lion) roar. It will make your chest vibrate! You can hear it out to the parking lot! Zabu and Cameron is a must see. You can read their story at The Big Cat Rescue site or app. All the cats come close to you just to check you out! If I lived in Florida I would be a volunteer.
I hope you go there and start donating to the cause as I have. We as humans have put them in this situation. I am so happy there is a place where they can go and be safe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

We have visited the Big Cat Rescue site in Tampa FL several times and fully enjoyed the sites, sounds & learning they offer. The cats are well cared for; the volunteers & professionals truly love these animals and it shows in all they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

I am passionate about the plight of tigers & other big cats as they face threats of extinction in the wild & abuse, neglect & exploitation at the hands of human beings. Big Cat Rescue works tirelessly to educate & inform while they actively rescue & care for these amazing creatures. If I lived closer I would give as much time as possible to help with their mission. As is I give as much $$$ as I can

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

The plight of abused and mistreated exotic cats has little awareness in society. Big Cat Rescue not only cares for abandoned exotics but is constantly fighting to raise awareness and support needed laws to reduce this problem.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

This non profit organization provides for the well being of big cats who have been abused, are old, have been found hurt, etc. My husband and I have been there a few times and help support with small donations throughout the year. I am amazed at their level of care for the big cats, knowledge and generally trying to ensure the most natural of habitats they can provided the land area they have to work in. This is a bright star for Florida and Tampa. The cats are beautiful and to be able to see them and learn about them is truly amazing. I highly recommend a visit to them to anyone who is new to the area - my husband and I try and go at least once a year for a visit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 5, 2012

BCR serves a dual role as not only providers of care for these "unwanted" animals, but equally as important, as educators of the public. It is through education that they hope to stem the tide of inap... more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been to this sanctuary around 6 times, sharing it with my friends when I can. The emphasis is on providing sanctuary for the cats, and also education to the public about the inappropriateness of trying to keep big cats as pets, or exploit them for entertainment.
It is very clean, and
you can see how impassioned the volunteers are about caring for the animals. I always leave with mixed emotions; happy that the cats there have a better life, but sad that the exploitation continues. The admissionn fee helps to support their cause, and I consider it money well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

BCR serves a dual role as not only providers of care for these "unwanted" animals, but equally as important, as educators of the public. It is through education that they hope to stem the tide of inappropriate use of wild cats as pets and entertainment. People may innocently "support" this exploitation by paying for these shows and photo sessions, unaware of the ultimate end for the cats.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2013

more

May 7, 2013

My sister in law introduced me to this rescue years ago. She was an impassioned supporter of animals, particularily Tigers and had the pleasure of spending time at Big Cat Rescue. For the last five or six years I have supported their work and donated any time I could. I wish I lived closer so I could visit more often, help more and work there. Nancy Johnson Tulsa, OK

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2013

more

May 7, 2013

I have never had the pleasure of visiting (yet) but follow them on Facebook, YouTube, and their action site at BigCatRescue.org. (CatLaws)
I have written to a few officials on various big cat related issues brought to my attention thru these sites. I respect and applaud the efforts of BCR and
all their affiliated sanctuaries thru the GlobalFederationofAccreditedSanctuaries.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2013

more

May 7, 2013

We live over an hour away (The Villages) and this is our MOST favorite place to visit and take others/ family & friends who come to see us!!! All of the cats are gorgeous and SOOO well taken care of!!! Their habitats are awesome, they all seem so happy and content... Makes your heart feel so good!!! The entire property is most impressive, the cats are "to die for" beautiful!!! And, the REAL tribute goes to the staff and volunteers who commit themselves so unselfishly and care so very much!!! If you come and take one of their tours, you will NEVER forget such a positive experience!!! This is one of Tampa's TOP attractions, for sure!!! We should also say, one of Central Florida's TOP attractions!!! Bless all of the caring people work work/ volunteer here, as well as the beautiful and loved cats!!!
Rusty and Judy

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer