Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
344 Reviews
1234.732565
| 1 ... 3 4 5...33 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The volunteers at BCR are so amazing on many different levels. The sacrifices they make to ensure the well being of the Big cats far exceeds any level of care that I've seen before. Many Volunteers report to BCR on cold mornings, rainy days and hurricane windy days without a complaint. They do so much to provide a great life for these once neglected cats. They educate and spread awareness to the public that is much needed. I cannot say enough good about this sanctuary or the staff. I have followed BCR since the mid 2005 and more actively since 2010. Thank you to all the Volunteers for all your dedication and hard work!
April 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 26, 2011

I have been here twice. The first visit forever changed my life and I have been a monthly donor ever since. Amazing place, amazing people, amazing animals. I am so grateful there is somewhere in this ... more

April 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I love this place. I have been here four times so far. It is always part of my family vacation every winter when we visit Florida.
The stories of how some of the cats got there will break your heart, but your heart will be happy again when you see the life they now get to live out here.
June 26, 2011

I have been here twice. The first visit forever changed my life and I have been a monthly donor ever since.
Amazing place, amazing people, amazing animals.
I am so grateful there is somewhere in this world that cares so much for the big cats.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In my two visits..I have personally SEEN what my money goes to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is not anything I would change.This organization is run exactly as it should be, with the big cats the TOP priority.

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
November 3, 2011

Big Cat Rescue is an AMAZING place. Not only does BCR provide excellent care to the cats, BCR's staff, volunteers, and supporters have been making great strides in changing legislation regarding exoti... more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with the Big Cats for years, and couldn't imagine not being a part of BCR!
Everyone from the staff to interns and volunteers care deeply for the animals are are incredibly dedicated to the cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 3, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue is an AMAZING place.
Not only does BCR provide excellent care to the cats, BCR's staff, volunteers, and supporters have been making great strides in changing legislation regarding exotic/wild animal ownership in the private sector.

This invokes criticism and downright
attacks from private owners and breeders because the end of animal exploitation/ownership affects their livelihood.
The attacks come from those who have never been to Big Cat Rescue, and have never experienced the cats in their large, clean enclosures. The cats at BCR are happy and healthy.

The health of the cats of BCR is no secret. Any time a cat is having a procedure or is in the cat hospital, updates are posted on the public Facebook page for all to see.

Within the past few weeks, BCR said goodbye to two cats, a 15 year old bobcat with severe kidney disease, and a 19 year old serval who had lived 16 of those years at BCR. Both were put to sleep aka euthanized, due to advanced disease and decreased quality of life.
It was the most humane option, and BCR ALWAYS has the cats' best interest in mind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 7, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer at Big Cat Rescue in Tampa for nearly 3 years.
My role as a volunteer is "Senior Keeper", meaning I provide care to all levels of the cats, including lions and tigers.
I very much enjoy my role as a volunteer @ BCR, as I get to experience the cats relaxing in their
comfortable enclosures (many that came from unfortunate previous homes).
I also feed the cats, and can tell you for a fact that they are fed very well :)
The cats receive enrichment treats both in food forms and spice bag forms, on a regular basis.
We also work on enclosure modifications and upgrades quite frequently.

Big Cat Rescue receives a lot of criticism from private animal owners because of attempts to change legislation to make it more difficult to obtain big cats as pets. BCR has many cats that were discarded after they became "too difficult to keep as pets".
In my opinion, animals are not expendable. Once you make a decision to own a pet, (or adopt from the SPCA as in my case) it should be for life. This frequently does not happen with exotic animals, especially big cats. There are sanctuaries all over the country that are full due to people relinquishing their big cats either due to the economy or because they "can't do it anymore".
Big Cat Rescue's lobbying and attempts to change legislation hurt the bottom line of those in the private big cat breeding sector, and thus they attack BCR wherever possible.

I am proud to be a Big Cat Rescue volunteer. There is nowhere else in the wold I would rather spend a 12 hour day working for free, having sweat dripping in my eyes in the Florida heat and humidity while I clean enclosures, do projects, etc.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the happiness in the cats enjoying their lives. We believe no cats belong in cages; they belong in the wild, but we enrich their lives as much as possible. Enriching cats brings me joy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pass the laws that ban private breeding, like "Rescinding the Generic Tiger Loophole". Big Cat Rescue is a great organization. I can tell you that from the standpoint of someone who is non-paid and has spent many hard labor hours with a smile at the sanctuary.

June 23, 2011

Our family has been supporting Big Cat Rescue for over three years.

What a wonderful place it is, not only providing excellent care to the magnificent creatures who reside there, but by advocating for big cats everywhere.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Enjoying watching the cats playing and enjoying their surroundings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Purchase the surrounding land to create more room for the cats :)

November 24, 2013

more

November 24, 2013

Big cat does wonderful things for mistreated or neglected animals that others would have forgotten or cast aside. Every experience I have had with them has been wonderful, they are truly amazing people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The volunteers at BCR are so amazing on many different levels. The sacrifices they make to ensure the well being of the Big cats far exceeds any level of care that I've seen before. They do so much to provide a great life for these once neglected cats. They educate and spread awareness to the public that is much needed. I cannot say enough good about this sanctuary or the staff. I only wish I was closer to them to visit more often or maybe one day be lucky enough to volunteer. Thank you for all your dedication and hard work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I love this organisation that changes the lives of big cats who would otherwise be condemned to a life of misery.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Very informative and interesting tour with beautiful big cats!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I just recently found BCR on YouTube and have been a HUGE fan ever since. I love cats of all sizes and the work that BCR does is so necessary. When it comes to how people treat animals I really really hate some people (the abusers, users and those that make money off of the suffering of animals) and I really really LOVE some people. Namely the folks who give their time and resources to help the animals we share this earth with. I have already become a donor (and got the sweetest thank you note back - something not many charities do) and have been trying to spread the word about your awesome work. My next vacation will definitely be to Tampa to see these wonderful animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I read one of the reviews that said they used to have rooms for rent on the premises. I think it would be awesome to stay over and hear the cats roar and chuff all night. Also I would love to see more spotlights on the individual animals on you tube. Those are my favorite ones. Thanks for all your hard work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

My visit to BCR was some years ago when it was called Big Cats on Easy Street. We were able to rent a room on the property, kinda like a storage shed conversion with full bathroom. I understand these are no longer available, but we had a once in a lifetime experience staying the entire weekend, with two lynx attached as our hosts. It was awesome to be allowed to actually pet big cats, my best experiences were with Little Feather, a bobcat and the caracals and lynx, caracals being the most friendly. We explored the sanctuary at will and the entire experience will always be dear to my heart. I would highly recommend visiting BCR to anyone, but especially anyone who loves felines.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring back the weekend cabin experiences with Big Cats as hosts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

May 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My girlfriends and I were in Tampa in March 2013 and had an opportunity to visit the Big Cat Rescue. What an experience! It far exceeded my expectations! I not only saw these beautiful creatures up close, but I also learned their history. Some of these stories broke my heart, but it brought home the importance of this organization and their desire to bring awareness of not keeping these awesome creatures as "pets". The heart of this organization for these animals is not only a loving one, but it is one full of wisdom. This organization has evolved to not only be a home for those who have been abused or need a home, but if it is possible, to release them back into the wild. The education I received from my visit was immeasurable. I may have arrived as a visitor of Big Cat Rescue, but I left as an active participant of the program. If I lived in the area, I would volunteer (if they would have me), but since I live on the other side of the US, I participate by donating.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer