Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
320 Reviews
1234.7255
| 1 ... 3 4 5...31 |
Write A Review
May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 1, 2011

The cats calling Big Cat Rescue home are truly lucky. Most of the cats come from situations of abuse and neglect and finally get a new beginning at BCR. Not only do they provide excellent care for t... more

May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue is by far the best organization I have ever volunteered for or visited. Not only do they provide top notch care for all of their cats, they do tremendous work to end the trade and exploitation of big cats. Educating the public about the plight of exotic cats is critical in ending the abuse and BCR makes change happen. It's so rewarding to aid such a wonderful organization where every day they are making strides toward their mission statement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 1, 2011

The cats calling Big Cat Rescue home are truly lucky. Most of the cats come from situations of abuse and neglect and finally get a new beginning at BCR. Not only do they provide excellent care for the cats, but they educate the public in order to end the trade and exploitation. If you haven't visited, add BCR to your "must see" list.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen the wonderful work BCR has done to rehab cats (bobcats) that can be released back into the wild. I've also seen the major improvements in cats they have rescued from situations of abuse and/or abandonment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing about Big Cat Rescue I would change.

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

I have visited Big Cat Rescue on several occasions and often recommend it to others. It's a wonder to see these gorgeous creatures so well provided for after a lifetime of being neglected or abused. They get to live out their lives in safety and are obviously well cared for by a kind and concerned staff and volunteers. I with everyone had access to this marvelous place.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have for many years been a proponent for animals and donate regularly to zoos, the Humane Society and now Big Cat Rescue. A few years back while vacationing in Florida my friends suggested a day trip out of the Orlando Area and offered up the choice of a zoo (keep in mind I love zoos) or BCR. I chose BCR out of curiosity and a desire to see their work. Let me tell you those cats have got it made!!! They have wonderful enclosures and all appear to be happy and very well cared for. I was inspired to make a donation based on the information I garnered on the tour and the appearance to the animals. I subscribe to the newsletter and am always happy that more big cats are on their way to their forever home at BCR. The staff is loving and insures that these cats are not exploited. One of the best non profit organizations out there.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

The folks at Big Cat Rescue provide a safe, clean and stimulating environment to many animals who have been treated poorly in their past. It is clean and safe and very enjoyable to visit with guides who provide insightful answers to every question. I've seen firsthand how a casual visitor can become a very committed donor in just one educational tour. I have become acquainted with a volunteer who is in her second year at the Rescue, and gives countless hours to the cause despite her busy schedule. I've learned she is just an example of many other volunteer staff who have given of their time and love for many, many years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Big Cat rescues big cats that have been put in bad situations by well meaning humans and also some really bad humans. I travelled to Florida for my birthday just to see this place. The cats are goregeous and well cared for. The ones that aren't comfortable with being viewed are kept in a private area. Which tells me they reallly care about what the cat is feeling. I know they would rather be in the wild but this is the best option for them since the wild is no longer and option. The most spectacular thing is hearing Joseph (a handsome male lion) roar. It will make your chest vibrate! You can hear it out to the parking lot! Zabu and Cameron is a must see. You can read their story at The Big Cat Rescue site or app. All the cats come close to you just to check you out! If I lived in Florida I would be a volunteer.
I hope you go there and start donating to the cause as I have. We as humans have put them in this situation. I am so happy there is a place where they can go and be safe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

We have visited the Big Cat Rescue site in Tampa FL several times and fully enjoyed the sites, sounds & learning they offer. The cats are well cared for; the volunteers & professionals truly love these animals and it shows in all they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

I am passionate about the plight of tigers & other big cats as they face threats of extinction in the wild & abuse, neglect & exploitation at the hands of human beings. Big Cat Rescue works tirelessly to educate & inform while they actively rescue & care for these amazing creatures. If I lived closer I would give as much time as possible to help with their mission. As is I give as much $$$ as I can

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

The plight of abused and mistreated exotic cats has little awareness in society. Big Cat Rescue not only cares for abandoned exotics but is constantly fighting to raise awareness and support needed laws to reduce this problem.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

This non profit organization provides for the well being of big cats who have been abused, are old, have been found hurt, etc. My husband and I have been there a few times and help support with small donations throughout the year. I am amazed at their level of care for the big cats, knowledge and generally trying to ensure the most natural of habitats they can provided the land area they have to work in. This is a bright star for Florida and Tampa. The cats are beautiful and to be able to see them and learn about them is truly amazing. I highly recommend a visit to them to anyone who is new to the area - my husband and I try and go at least once a year for a visit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 5, 2012

BCR serves a dual role as not only providers of care for these "unwanted" animals, but equally as important, as educators of the public. It is through education that they hope to stem the tide of inap... more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been to this sanctuary around 6 times, sharing it with my friends when I can. The emphasis is on providing sanctuary for the cats, and also education to the public about the inappropriateness of trying to keep big cats as pets, or exploit them for entertainment.
It is very clean, and
you can see how impassioned the volunteers are about caring for the animals. I always leave with mixed emotions; happy that the cats there have a better life, but sad that the exploitation continues. The admissionn fee helps to support their cause, and I consider it money well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

BCR serves a dual role as not only providers of care for these "unwanted" animals, but equally as important, as educators of the public. It is through education that they hope to stem the tide of inappropriate use of wild cats as pets and entertainment. People may innocently "support" this exploitation by paying for these shows and photo sessions, unaware of the ultimate end for the cats.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer