Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
345 Reviews
1234.733335
Write A Review
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

My first visit to Big Cat Rescue was this May, and it won't be my last. Each time I visit Tampa, I intend to go. These people are absolutely selfless, and do so much good for these beautiful cats! They take in and care for big cats who have been exploited by idiot people, as well as educate the public. Kudos!!
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

Keep up the good work.You are all doing a wonderful job.
August 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 7, 2013

I have been twice to Big Cat Rescue to tour the sanctuary. The last time was February 13, 2012 my 50th birthday. This was the best part of my birthday vacation. Not only was it warmer than at home ... more

August 28, 2014

I have been to Big Cat Rescue twice. I plan on going again in March 2105.

It is a truly amazing place and the work that they do on behalf of all of the big cats is truly amazing.

Enjoy a tour and be completely amazed by how beautiful these animals are and how well cared for they
are.

Stop in the gift shop and sponsor one of the cats.

Thank heavens for Big Cat Rescue as these cats a have been saved thanks to them.
May 7, 2013

I have been twice to Big Cat Rescue to tour the sanctuary. The last time was February 13, 2012 my 50th birthday. This was the best part of my birthday vacation. Not only was it warmer than at home in Thorold, Ontario, Canada, but it never ceases to amaze me the way that these poor creatures have been treated and how happy they are to live out their lives in the safety of Big Cat Rescue.

It is the kind of experience that really makes you appreciate the kind of work that is undertaken by all of the staff and volunteers at Big Cat. It is truly remarkable to be able to see the most stunning animals in the world and know that they are safe but in the same breath sad to think that someone previously owned and abused them.

I was very proud to learn that Big Cat has been able over the years to rescue Canadian Lynx`s from fur farms in Canada but it also makes me sad to think that people think that is is okay to raise animals to kill them for someone`s idea of the ideal coat.

I will continue visit Big Cat Rescue every opportunity that I have and also continue to shop in their store as my way to support their wonderful work and support the many big cats.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

This is one of the few organizations that will take on animals such as lions, tigers, panthers and cougars that others have discarded or outgrown. They combat ignorance with education and finance some truly expensive vet bills between addressing years of starvation and abuse, as well as medical issues from being confined improperly not to mention the (all too common) barbaric declawing of large cats. If they did not exist there would be little recourse for smaller, underfunded and overwhelmed shelters to send their animals to, not to mention the backyard "rescues" that are only that in name. They do a heroic job in transporting large, dangerous animals in from all over the country and caring for them. BCR also does a good job publicizing the abuses large cats (especially kittens and "pets") suffer at the hands of ignorant owners, or ignorant participants in petting schemes, photo ops, etc.. I cannot praise them highly enough.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I have been to Big Cat Rescue twice and both times were wonderful! I will never forget the experience. I am thankful to BCR for the opportunity to see such beautiful animals up close, as well as to participate in enrichment activities and operant conditioning activities. It was really something to see all these animals, whom I would never encounter otherwise except maybe glimpsing them in a zoo, and to see them so well cared for and treated with reverence, as they should be. It was educational, fun, breathtaking at times when watching them play. In short, I love BCR and everything they stand for, and I am thankful there are people who care enough to step up and be good stewards to these animals who have encountered so much misfortune at the hands of humans in their past. The Tampa community is very blessed to have such a unique place and to have good citizens who recognize the real value of these animals and do not kill, coerce, breed, sell or exploit these animals in any way. I only wished I lived closer than North Carolina so I could visit much more often.
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I visited Big Cat Rescue in July, 2013 with my dad while in Tampa to visit my sister. Unfortunately, our tour was cut a little short due to thunderstorms and rain (classic summer weather in south Florida!) For the time that we were there and the cats that we saw, it was undeniable to see first-hand how much these amazing cats are loved and cared for by the volunteers at the Rescue. It was so inspiring to see the keepers care for such amazing animals with such respect and compassion that they deserve.
Although our tour was cut short and were unable to use the "rain check" tickets because of our schedule in FL, I've continued to follow BCR online and various social media sites. I absolutely love reading the updates and stories that they post, as well as the quality of information and ease of access to public awareness campaigns and letters to legislators about big cat abuse.
Even from where I live in the Northeast, I have and will continue to support BCR anyway that I can.
Keep up the great work!!!
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

We had a wonderful tour seeing this place! What incredible work they do to enhance the lives of these magnificent creatures who have suffered at the hands of unthinking or plain exploitive and cruel people. Important work is being done there by those who serve God's creatures!
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I visited Big Cat rescue and found the staff to be very knowledgeable and deeply concerned for the welfare of the animals. All the habitats were clean and the animals appeared well cared for.
I enjoyed my visit and have supported them with donations since.

I have volunteered at
wildlife rehabilitation centers in NY for over 20 years and so I have some experience on wildlife care and animal behavior.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to give them more room and funding to help more animals

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I had the priviledge to visit Big Cat Rescue many years ago. Back then it was called Big Cats on Easy Street. I enjoyed the entire park for three days, exploring all the areas where the cats were. It was impressive the size of each cats' home, with alot of vegetation, seeming very natural and at times we couldn't find the cats in there areas because it was so big they could hide if they wanted to. Their tours are very informative. I enjoyed feeding time, walking with the volunteers. I was also impressed with how they made sure no cat was ever out of water in the Florida heat. I walked past a cougar's area and there was only 12 inches between me and him...awesome, majestic animals. BCR is by far the very best animal park I've visited in Florida.
Barbara Jimenez
Florida
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

I've visited the sanctuary and followed the group online for years. All appears totally legit. They rescue big cats from horrible situations and use donations to aid rescued animals and to update/maintain the facility where rescued animals live out their lives. Spacious enclosures and no forced interaction. Everyone has ample space to move, play or hide and appears in excellent condition. This group also actively lobbies at state and fed govt level to change the situation for big cats where the problems start.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer