Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
318 Reviews
1234.735855
| 1 ... 18 19 20...30 |
Write A Review
September 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I stumbled onto BCR's website years ago while looking up something else. I have been a supporter ever since. I had my eyes open to the magnitude of the problems regarding exotic pet ownership, and while BCR cares for wild cats, they advocate for all exotics to keep them in the wild where they belong. I have researched this charity to the fair-the-well, and can find nothing to object to. In fact, I applaude their ongoing effort to the cause, to make sure that exotic cats are never again used for man's selfish entertainment. This is the ONLY charity I have ever been involved with who's main goal is to someday shut down, because they are no longer needed. I believe so strongly in this sanctuary, that I spend a great deal of time talking about it to others in my community, and making them know where they currently are not.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

No specific event, just an overall feeling that this is the only charity out there that will use my gift they way they say they will.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Because I believe they need to have as much in the way of donations for this cats as they can get to enrich their lives, upgrade their enclosures, and gennerally make their captivity as pleasant as it can be made.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I regularly tell people that if they are looking for a good charity orginaization, that BCR is the best.

September 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Wow! We took a tour today at The Big Cat Rescue in Tampa. There were so many tours, that the founder was our tour guide. We lucked out and got on an adult only tour. There were at least 5 tours of 17 - 20 people in each tour. BCR is a hidden little treasure right in our own back yard. It is not like a zoo, where you just show up and see the animals. You can only go by appointment. I saw a FB special for $19 per person for the holiday. Normal price is $29 per person. It was so easy to get too, right off the Veterans Highway and Gunn Highway. I would like to eventually go back for a feeding tour or an night time tour!

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Loved our tour, love what they do! We wished we could have spent more time there during our visit, but plan on becoming more active in their mission!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 17, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

They do wonderful work saving animals from abuse and injury. Their program to release animals back into the wild is remarkable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue does great work taking care of injured and rescued wild cats. They help educate the public about how the animals should not be kept as pets or novelties.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Big Cat Rescue is a wonderful sanctuary. The cats that live there have big natural inclosures where they can run, swim, and relax to their hearts content. It saddens me that these animals can't be in the wild but it's nice to know that BCR is here to give them the next best thing. They do a great job of giving a home to cats who have spent their live prior in small cages on concrete floors or used as a tool to make money. BCR also does a wonderful job of educating the public on the difficulties these beautiful animal face and how wild animals should stay in the wild.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am so impressed with the exceptional care BIG CAT Rescue provides the cats they take in from irresponsible owners and animal abusers who flaunt these majestic animals to line their own pockets. I have been so touched by some of the amazing rescues and the success stories with rehab and release connected with this organization. I can't wait to retire so I can volunteer with this wonderful group. It's comforting to know they are willing to take such great care of the discarded animals when some grow tired of them or the cats no longer make money for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I visited Big Cat Rescue and fell in love with the animals. The people of BCR really care and love the animals. They take excellent care of the animals. Please check their FB out and visit them when you are in the Tampa area!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After visiting BCR I have made it a goal to regularly donate (which I have been doing) and requesting others also to donate to this wonderful organization.... My tour included a knowledgeable guide who advised us on each of the cats, their conditions before coming to BCR, and how they are doing now. We were shown the minimum size of a cage mandated by law for a big cat and believe me when I say that living in something so tiny is horrifying to contemplate! The guides educate you on legislation that is in process to ban the sale and ownership of privately owned exotics. I learned so much during my visit, and I am learning much more as I go along. Please visit and support BCR and the legislation to ban sale and ownership of exotic animals!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Most of the time when big cats are kept as "pets", their fate is often the wrong end of a gun when they get loose or attack their owner. Even if a big cat is lucky enough to be rescued from these abusive and cruel conditions, there is no place for them to go. BCR gives them the best chance of a high quality life with the housing, medical care, diet, and mental stimulation they deserve. Yes, being wild would be better but these cats lost that option the moment someone decided to use them for financial gain and macho stupidity. Exotics should never be pets. At least at BCR, they will die with dignity and love. All states should be lucky enough to have a BCR facility!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer