Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
345 Reviews
1234.733335
Previous | 1 2 3...33 |
Write A Review
November 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 30, 2012

I have been a volunteer, albeit on a small scale, and fan of Big Cat Rescue for approximately 5 years. I have been a volunteer in many areas for over 25 years and have respect and admiration for group... more

November 22, 2014

I have been a supporter and fan of Big Cat Rescue for over 5 years and the more I learn about them, the more respect I have for the work they do. I have learned a great deal from the group about properly caring for rescued big cats and about how to prevent the abuse that so many big cats suffer at the hands of inconsiderate, irresponsible, uncaring or downright cruel humans. If I lived closer, I would be proud to be a hands-on volunteer. Carole Baskin and all of the staff and volunteers do an amazing job. One of my favorites, out of all the wonderful things that they do, is the domestic cat rescue assistance program - so that the volunteers can cuddle with cats. Watching the videos of the rescues of abused big cats shows how much they truly care for these majestic animals and how hard they work to give those cats a safe, healthy, and peaceful life.
May 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer, albeit on a small scale, and fan of Big Cat Rescue for approximately 5 years. I have been a volunteer in many areas for over 25 years and have respect and admiration for groups that are able to contribute to the betterment of the environment and the earth's inhabitants as BCR does. They are untiring in their efforts to protect the big cats who, while well able to defend themselves one-on-one with a seen foe, have little chance against the unscrupulous humans who have no respect for life. I am proud to be associated with an organization that speaks for those who cannot speak for themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through the Internet.

October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/10269467_10202606348055648_8606915697699986056_n.jpg?oh=37a4f0dc403b1e6836c4213b04c4220d&oe=54B962BB&__gda__=1421356559_89be8444601dfbd3070be41b25fd3aafhttps://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10202606348215652&set=pcb.10202606348415657&type=1

This is proof Carol Baskin is a liar. She claims that this F1 Bengal, is wild, pees everywhere, is hissy, and will not allow Baskin to touch her. Notice in the picture the hybrid cat is in her home, and drapped around her neck. Though this is a low quality Bengal, it is obviously her personal pet. So basically she wants owners and breeders that own F1- F3 hybrid cats to be have their beloved pets confiscated either killed or locked in cages next to lions and tigers. So, Mrs. Baskin that includes your personal pet, also. You want to make these feline illegal, that includes your personal kitty! I am tired of your lies, and how easy they are exposed.

Big Cat Rescue houses many cats, but a broad majority are from her own breeding program. If you search Big Cat Rescue you can find a list of cats she previously bred. Most of the paid employees are from her own family, and their salaries are very generous, as is Baskins. The donations keep her in the grand style she was accustomed to that her second husband kept her in.There are many misguided animal lovers that will fall for her tales of woe, for a abused cat. Most of the time it is exaggerated or a out and out lie. What is Baskin's history? Who truly knows since it changes as often as a women changes shoes. The animals live on a site that used to be a dump, so they are swimming and drinking polluted water. Many of her cats die or suffer of cancer. Also, she has had many violations for fencing, not caring for the amimals properly, and questionable business practices. Right next door to her horses were being slaughtered inhumanely for meat. Their terrified screams could be heard by employees, volunteers, and Baskin herself. They were concerned for the cats they made a bigger and stronger fence, but made the choice not to inform the authorities of the horrors happening next door. There was a giant horse bone grave yard close to the fence. I guess the suffering of other animals is no concern for BCR.

BCR is responsible for legislation that would ban hybrid cats in varying states. Currently, it is California and Florida. As I said earlier this ban is based on opinion, and cannot be collaborated with any factual evidence. This ban would basically kill many beloved pets. It is obvious that Baskin does not believe any of these opinions since she has hybrids splashed all over her Facebook, and owns one as a pet. Not to mention she had a passion for them in the past, and was not successful in breeding. I believe that this is ban is motivated by greed, envy, and the chance for more fame. Also, HSUS and BCR are opening another zoo. Which means more money and attention for her. I truly hope people open their eyes to her evil and deceptions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of Baskin and everyone associated with her, and turn BCR to a true animal lover, that actually cared about the animals, not fame or media attention.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

This organization are amazing, doing wonderful things for the preservation of our big cats, thank you & keep up the wonderful work guys.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

Big Cat Rescue is amazing! I've visited there once and plan to go back soon. The work they do to help the big cats is just awesome. If you have never been there I highly recommend it. The experience is one of a kind.
September 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

Thanks to them, cats are being saved, they live a good life and well taken care of. Everyone does a great job, keeps things running smoothly. Lots of cats are mistreated and left to die, they are give... more

September 14, 2014

Big cat rescue and all the volunteers that take care of these animals are tremendous. They go above and beyond to help these animals.I highly recommend everyone to visit. Its truly remarkable everything thats done for each and every animal the BCR takes care of.
October 17, 2012

Thanks to them, cats are being saved, they live a good life and well taken care of. Everyone does a great job, keeps things running smoothly. Lots of cats are mistreated and left to die, they are given asecond chance and a much happier life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

Visited Big Cat Rescue in Tampa, FL, for a wonderful tour of their great work to save and care for larger and small size wild cats.
Most of these magnificent felines are housed in comfort and roomy enclosures with a turn in a "vacation" area to roam and experience the freedom they deserve.

All of this is accomplished by dedicated volunteers and donations by people who just want to help as best they can.
There are few nonprofits that can show such return on dollar and manpower as the health and welfare of the living.
September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

I have visited Big Cat Rescue three times, gone on their tour, and learned a lot. I live near Rochester NY, we incorporated a visit to Big Cat Rescue into our vacation plans to Florida. If you live near Florida make sure you visit this very informative and great place. They do such great work rescuing big cats from deplorable conditions and give them a forever home for the rest of their life! They are working very hard to inform people of the abuse of big cats and change the laws. Thank you BCR for all you do for the cats.
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

This is a great organization that rescues big cats and educates the public about them. Most big cats are rescued from people who abuse and exploit them. Wish there were more organizations like this one.
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

Big Cat Rescue is the most wonderful place you can ever visit! I was there last year and GOSH, the animals and their enclosures are gorgeous! The tour guide was friendly and knew her thing. The animals were playful and happy and anyone who says otherwise has not been there!

I recommend BCR
for anyone who loves, or even LIKES animals
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

Simply the best and most informative source for Big Cat and animal lovers. Thank you Big Cat Rescue for everything you have taught me about advocating for big cats everywhere!
Previous | 1 2 3...33 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become an Advocat http://bigcatrescue.org/get-involved/volunteer/advocats/ Volunteer