Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.833335
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Fantastic organization that matched me with a perfect child which makes the experience easy and fantastic! They follow up all the time and have events going constantly so we have different things to do!
Kind, friendly, positive, can't get better than that!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

The entire experience for me has been great. I have had the opportunity to meet a little girl that will forever be in my heart. I am very pleased with my experience and will definitely be a part of this program for a long time to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

Well, I now have my first little brother ever. I'm an only child. So I've always looked up to adults for insights on life as I had no older brother to fill that role. For the first time, someone might be looking up to me. It's exhilarating and a responsibility, too. I have a lot to learn from my little bro who is lives in a low-income environment, but is super smart and deserves the same opportunities as any other young adult. I look forward to sharing mutual life-lesson experiences with him in his teen years and beyond. Big Brothers/Big Sisters makes that possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012

more

July 4, 2012

I am a volunteer with Big Brothers and Big Sisters. I've been with them for a year and i enjoy spending time with my little. She is fun and we have alot in common. This is a great organization and they do a great deal for this kids in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012

more

July 3, 2012

Moving to a new city can be a difficult time. I have always had a passion for giving back to the community and was fortunate to be a part of a big family where I fell in the middle among my siblings. With being from a big family there was always someone for me to look up to and I know that not everyone has that, so I decided to be that for someone else. Big Brothers Big Sister gives me the opportunity to do just that and so far I have thoroughly enjoyed the experience of having a little!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I'm a Big Brother (mentor) and I've been paired with my Little Brother for 3 1/2 great years. He was 8 when we met; now he's 12. To sum up our friendship - as much as I feel like he has grown through our time together, I've grown just as much, if not more. I'm more grateful for Big Brothers Big Sisters (BBBS) than I could ever express. On a macro level, for decades, they've moved mountains in the lives of children all over, and on a personal, they've introduced me to a friend for life. Incidentally, I met my girlfriend, who is a Big Sister to another child, through BBBS, also 3 1/2 years ago. We've been together pretty much since then, and I'll be proposing to her in August (you're invited to the proposal, invitation attached). Of all volunteer experiences that I've ever had, BBBS has changed MY life the most, far and away.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Getting to see Miami, making lifelong personal connections with others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just keep getting the word out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing could make my experience better. BBBS is so so so so so great.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Showing me the city, keeping me active, giving me access to places and events, giving me a great friend, introducing me to my soon-to-be fiancee.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Humbled, grateful, excited.

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

My experience with BBBS- Greater Miami was wonderful. Everyone i met at the office was very friendly and helpful. My Match specialist Priya was very knowledgeable about the program and also what it takes to be a Big. She spoke from experience and gave sound advice. She helped address my concerns and made me feel ready and up for the challenge of being a Big. I was also impressed with how closely BBBS and its staff like Priya work with the families in the community and help them find Bigs that would be the best fit for their children. This is overall a great organization and I recommend it to anyone who is ready for the challenge.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I've enjoyed my experience with BBBS. The management and staff has been extremely supportive and informative, and I've truly felt that they are 100% committed to changing the lives of the children enrolled in the program. Each time I've had a question or concern, BBBS has gone above and beyond in regards to advising me on my current situation and helping me communicate with my Little's parent. My time with my Little has been enjoyable also. Although I'm frequently frustrated with some of his bad habits, I'm confident that spending time with him has helped him see a world that he is not currently exposed to - and although slowly - he has been changing his behavior for the better. I would recommend this program to my friends and family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I have only been involved with BBBS of Greater Miami for about a month now, and it is something that I will never regret doing. It has been an amazing experience so far, and my Little Sister is truly something special. She comes from a family of poverty, but by the way she acts and the way she dreams, you'd never know. She is only 13, but is very wise in her years because of her situation, and I know that in the future she will be extremely successful. After a month I realize that I joined the program thinking I was going to change someone elses life, but instead, she is slowly changing mine.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Teenagers in themselves are extremely hard to open up. To get them to trust you is almost impossible! I have only been involved for a month, and I my Lil Sis trusts me and talks my EARS off. The first day we met, I was having a conversation with myself the entire time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more events. Doesn't necessarily need to be free, but sometimes I run out of ideas, and of course my little is always unsure

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Again, more events would make my life SO much easier. Also, it would be cool to have teenager events for other Bigs/Littles to do together. That way I can meet other Bigs that understand the issues of having a teenager, and the teenagers can talk about their Bigs.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I'm actually a little more confident now. When I was my little's age I had zero self esteem, just like how she has now. And I see that she has an incredible amount of opportunity, and that her low self esteem doesn't really "make sense". With my little, I learn more and more about myself everyday.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

GREAT!! I know in the long run I will feel even better when I see her walk across that stage to get her diploma, and when I see her go to college.

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I've been a Big Sister for 8 years and have been matched twice. My first Little SIster just turned 21 years old in May. We were matched since she was 13 years old. My experience with Sam has been amazing. She is a part of my family and I couldn't imagine my life without her. My second match was in the School-based program. I was matched with a Little Sister that was repeating the 3rd grade because she failed the FCAT. I'm happy to report that she just graduated from the 5th grade. Being a mentor has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. It has taught me the real value of "time". Everyone has the ability to positiviely impact the life of a child. I thank Big Brothers Big Sisters for giving me the gift of friendship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers