Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I first became aware of Beyond Differences when my daughter returned from school transformed by the assembly given at her middle school, she was in 6th grade. After a long family discussion at dinner we were all impressed with the message as well as how it was being delivered. My daughter has since joined the teen board and is extremely energized by the work she is involved with. Her excitement to spread the word and help build awareness about social isolation is contagious. It takes passion, enthusiasm and dedication to reach out to the teen population, which is where this movement has the biggest impact. Beyond Differences is a dynamic organization that is making a difference in the lives of teens.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What an incredible organization Beyond Differences is! My daughter has been involved with this organization for 3 years and I can honestly say that they have made a huge difference ending social isolation in our community. These kids are given the tools, and instruction by fabulous teachers, community leaders and activists and guidance to lead discussions on ending social isolation. The teens actively make a difference because they are leading discussions on the two main programs, No One Eats Alone and Be the One. They are inspirational and teach middle school students how to work together. Beautiful people and beautiful organization. I can't say enough about the fabulous leadership and incredible message they are sending.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it all over the country!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been so impressed with the outreach and effectiveness of Beyond Differences in our community. I hope that it's continues to grow so that the good work can have that much greater effect beyond the bounds of Marin County. The strength of this program comes from the "messengers" who are teens themselves-many of whom have been the victims of bullying. At a time when when our nation is experiencing the tragic repercussions of what social isolation can drive young teens to do--we really need to focus on the mental health aspect. This program teaches teen leaders compassion, empathy and understanding. One teen at a time, Beyond Differences is making a huge impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Beyond Differences is a California Bay Area organization that is taking social isolation seriously by initiating programs that help teens feel connected, listened to, and motivated to make a difference.

Lots of organizations talk about supporting teens. Beyond Differences puts talk into
action. It teaches middle school kids and high school kids to "Be The Change" in their schools and communities.

Beyond Differences brings teen leaders into various public and private schools around the area to be peer examples. They hold assemblies and break out sessions that get kids to open up to their feelings about being socially isolated and socially isolating teens to realize the consequences of their actions.

I feel strongly that Beyond Differences has the power to make serious changes for Middle School kids around the Bay Area and beyond. These kids need to know that the isolation they are experiencing isn't ok.



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it a national organization with regional boards. It has incredible potential.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers