Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.95
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Beyond Basics is a great program that all schools should participate in. The staff is great! They are very supportive of the students that participate in the program. The students are excited with the activities that are provided, especially the writing center. They love their published books with their own story inside along with their name. That one activity is a memorable experience and a great keepsake! Thank You Beyond Basics for supporting students!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure that the program is inside all schools.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started teaching in a school with Beyond Basics housed there last year. They worked with the students amazingly. It didn't matter if they were general education students or special education students, they progressed. The students would run up to me, so proud, and show me books they wrote or paintings they created. I could not believe that the child had this in them. Not only did Beyond Basics teach them, they brought up the confidence each student needed. They took pictures of the children and what each created and hung them on the walls over the whole school. The students would carry books around and read them in the classroom. I would ask them where they got the books from. They would always respond, "Beyond Basics" looking so proud. Beyond Basics should be in every school. I would walk in their rooms and I saw something where I felt so happy inside. They would be sitting one-on-one with the student assisting them learning how to read. The children found Beyond Basics as a place where they felt safe and nurtured in their room. Beyond Basics in the school is more than we can appreciate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them working in every school in the U.S.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have worked for this organization for two years, and it is one of the best organizations around. Seeing the student's faces light up when they receive their published stories is priceless, and I love it. The reading programs are excellent, and really make a difference. The program also helps build the child's confidence levels as well, and many teachers have remarked about the amazing difference in their students prior to working with Beyond Basics, and after.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have spent the past two years as a tutor with Beyond Basics. Over the course of those two years, I have had the opportunity to work with approximately 50 students in the Read to Rise Program. In no time at all I fell in love with my job, and the organization. My mind is filled with countless faces and names of students whose lives were impacted by Beyond Basics. After seeing firsthand the remarkable progress in each student's literacy levels, it became clear to me that this organization was one I wanted to commit to long term. After graduating in April of 2012, I decided to dive in full time and currently serve as the Reading Director. The sheer volume of students we are reaching and helping as an organization is increasing exponentially each year. I can honestly say that in my three years with Beyond Basics, I have never left at the end of the day feeling like that day's work didn't matter. I would encourage anybody interested in getting involved with a Non-Profit, or enriching the lives of children, to consider Beyond Basics as the avenue through which to do so.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Beyond Basics far exceeds the expectations of what most tutoring programs provide for children in vulnerable neighborhoods in Detroit. Not only do they provide one-on-one, intensive daily literacy tutoring, they provide students with wonderful opportunities to achieve a well-rounded learning experience, all during school hours. In addition to the reading program, Beyond Basics provides enrichment programs such as Art with the Masters, Expanding Horizons, and Publishing Center. The joy that children have when participating in these programs is contagious, spilling over into their families and neighborhoods. I have personally seen that change that this organization can make in students' lives, and it is more than remarkable. This nonprofit is one that goes above and beyond the call of duty to serve children's educational needs, and one that I would highly recommend to anyone.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

Beyond Basics is extremely effective in helping children who read below grade level get the extra help they need to move up to grade level in a short time. Their use of employed staff along with volunteers helps every fund raised dollar go farther. I have seen many programs that talk about what they can do. Beyond Basics just does it. Amazing program with amazing results.

They also bring writing opportunities to the children, by helping kids to write books. BB then has them typed, and put into a book format for the child to illustrate and take home. This program makes learning fun! I love watching the smiles on kids faces as they realize they can read.

Too often inner city children in Detroit only hear what they can't do. Beyond Basics helps to show them what they can do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My company adopted a Detroit Elementary School and now we have a Beyond Basics room at that school. Change is happening! Kids are publishing books, struggling readers are getting help and expectations for the children are rising.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out a way to impact more schools. Maybe incorporate volunteers in the tutoring process to bring down the cost so we could get to more kids.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers