Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.925
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

This is a wonderful organization that reaches many children in the city of Detroit, teaching them how to read. It is run by a wonderful woman Pam Good who hires skilled tutors that go into these under served communities. Children and Adults all benefit!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

It is an Honor to be apart of supporting Pam Good and her incredible team at Beyond Basics. This program has proven results of getting students to read at their grade level within 6 weeks. In addition, the Publishing Center bounds books from the students original stories. How powerful to have students see their own stories in a book form. It is inspiring when you observe these students in Beyond Basics classrooms learning to read on-on-one with a tutor.These children are our future, learning to read is essential for their future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

Earlier this school year Mrs. Pamela Good came into my office and expressed a desire to bring her organization Beyond Basics here to Finney High School. She shared information about her program and that customarily they tutor and mentor students on the elementary level. My first thought was that Beyond Basics may not work with high school students. But fortunately I decided to give it a chance. Well only four months later, the Beyond Basics Team has become an immeasurable member of our school family. Dozens of students have received one-to-one Reading help. We have launched a school newspaper and our students have heard from two corporate VPs, a Division 1 Athletic Director, an Astronaut and the Mayor of the City of Detroit. Most importantly the unique support that the Beyond Basics Team brings to our school is totally funded by community without any financial burden on the school or school district.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I recently retired and approached Beyond Basics as a volunteer based upon the tremendous value this organization provided the community. It has been my pleasure to be associated with the level of dedication and professionalism Beyond Basics provides.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

It is an honor to be associated with Beyond Basics. The impact that their programs have on the lives of at-risk children in the Detroit inner city is astounding! They deliver what they promise; that is, to change the destinies of the children with whom they come in contact. Teaching children to read, then following that up with volunteer mentors who reinforce reading and writing skills truly opens doors to them that were shut prior to that learning experience. Opportunities to expand the worlds of kids who otherwise would never leave their neighborhoods and classroom atmospheres that provide unmatched encouragement and esteem-building activities round out a program that is unmatched in the Detroit area. Beyond Basics: an unqualified homerun for Detroit’s kids, and ultimately, for the future of Detroit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

Beyond Basics is extremely effective in helping children who read below grade level get the extra help they need to move up to grade level in a short time. Their use of employed staff along with volunteers helps every fund raised dollar go farther. I have seen many programs that talk about what they can do. Beyond Basics just does it. Amazing program with amazing results.

They also bring writing opportunities to the children, by helping kids to write books. BB then has them typed, and put into a book format for the child to illustrate and take home. This program makes learning fun! I love watching the smiles on kids faces as they realize they can read.

Too often inner city children in Detroit only hear what they can't do. Beyond Basics helps to show them what they can do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My company adopted a Detroit Elementary School and now we have a Beyond Basics room at that school. Change is happening! Kids are publishing books, struggling readers are getting help and expectations for the children are rising.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out a way to impact more schools. Maybe incorporate volunteers in the tutoring process to bring down the cost so we could get to more kids.

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

I have worked with the organization, Beyond Basics for over 5 years. The reading and writing programs that they provide in Detroit's Public Schools really work to make a difference in the lives of so many underserved children. I have visitied the schools that they serve. The children love the art program and light up when they talk about the projects that they work on. This is a great program that deserves to shine.
September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

It's inspiring to see Beyond Basics helping so many kids. God bless Beyond Basics!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Beyond Basics is an incredible organization that I have volunteered with for the past 7 years along with hundreds of high school student volunteers through an organization called buildOn www.buildon.org The work that Beyond Basics is doing is so important to our community. They arr a great partner for our organization to engage students in meaningful service to promote literacy.
September 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Beyond Basics is a wonderful organization that is helping our community by changing the lives of children. Pamela Good is an angel on earth!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have met children who could not read. After being tutored by Beyond Basics, the children said it changed thier lives and now they have big dreams.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would solicit more partners and sponsors to fund tutors for our children.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers