Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.925
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Beyond Basics is truly an inspirational nonprofit organization. This program is definitely making a difference in so many lives, by providing educational opportunities for students in our Detroit Public Schools. I'm very happy to be a volunteer for Beyond Basics.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have worked for this organization for two years, and it is one of the best organizations around. Seeing the student's faces light up when they receive their published stories is priceless, and I love it. The reading programs are excellent, and really make a difference. The program also helps build the child's confidence levels as well, and many teachers have remarked about the amazing difference in their students prior to working with Beyond Basics, and after.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I was inspired to help children in Detroit Public Schools learn how to read and comprehend what they are reading about and I am so amazed by how much it can help this great city of Detroit. I began volunteering at Thirkell Elementary School and it has been a wonderful experience helping 3rd graders learn to read, reading to Kindergarten and 1st grade kids and feeling assured that these kids will have a greater opportunity in life to continue reading and then, help their children and grand children. Beyond Basics is the best volunteer program I found that truly helps kids learn the tools that will inspire them to continue to learn, have fun reading books about near and far away places and laugh with me as we explore new worlds and bond together as a community. I am grateful to Beyond Basics and Chrysler for giving me the opportunity to help grow this awesome nonprofit. Please consider Beyond Basics for your personal contribution to truly helping our Detroit kids grow and prosper in the 21st century.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I am glad I've run into a program like Beyond Basics for it has provided a path in an effort to make a difference. Right away I knew working with the children would directly impact their lives and my own. It is with this experience I am greatly humbled and grateful. There is no other satisfaction knowing you've helped positively influence their lives. Through this interaction, they've grown to adapt and instill the same mentality to their siblings which goes above and beyond my expectations. Thank you Beyond Basics for this great opportunity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I just recently started volunteering with Beyond Basics. I am absolutely thrilled to see how much of a difference this program really makes in the lives of kids who desperately need extra help and attention when it comes to reading. I love knowing that I am spending my time volunteering with a program that is dedicated to improving the educational experience of children who may not have had the opportunity to do so otherwise. I definitely recommend this program for anyone interested in volunteering and looking to make a difference!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Beyond Basics flat out works. Once a student is identified as falling behind in reading, writing, or word comprehension, they are paired with a certified tutor one on one. Working is a special classroom within the respective school (four Detroit Public Schools) for one hour day, the student learns to read and write at grade level or higher within 6 weeks. Once a child learns how to read, the world is their oyster. Without the ability to read, children act up and typically become bullies. The downward spiral isn't far off, and the students tend to drop out, where things often get worse. Beyond Basics does many other wonderful things, including offering students free art programs and field trips to museums.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have spent the past two years as a tutor with Beyond Basics. Over the course of those two years, I have had the opportunity to work with approximately 50 students in the Read to Rise Program. In no time at all I fell in love with my job, and the organization. My mind is filled with countless faces and names of students whose lives were impacted by Beyond Basics. After seeing firsthand the remarkable progress in each student's literacy levels, it became clear to me that this organization was one I wanted to commit to long term. After graduating in April of 2012, I decided to dive in full time and currently serve as the Reading Director. The sheer volume of students we are reaching and helping as an organization is increasing exponentially each year. I can honestly say that in my three years with Beyond Basics, I have never left at the end of the day feeling like that day's work didn't matter. I would encourage anybody interested in getting involved with a Non-Profit, or enriching the lives of children, to consider Beyond Basics as the avenue through which to do so.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Beyond Basics far exceeds the expectations of what most tutoring programs provide for children in vulnerable neighborhoods in Detroit. Not only do they provide one-on-one, intensive daily literacy tutoring, they provide students with wonderful opportunities to achieve a well-rounded learning experience, all during school hours. In addition to the reading program, Beyond Basics provides enrichment programs such as Art with the Masters, Expanding Horizons, and Publishing Center. The joy that children have when participating in these programs is contagious, spilling over into their families and neighborhoods. I have personally seen that change that this organization can make in students' lives, and it is more than remarkable. This nonprofit is one that goes above and beyond the call of duty to serve children's educational needs, and one that I would highly recommend to anyone.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more


1 previous review
September 29, 2011

Beyond Basics has grown from a small organization to a group impacting over 1000 at risk kids coming from families living in poverty and getting over 95% of them to read at grade level or above. This ... more

November 19, 2012

Beyond Basics addresses a critical need and responsibility: providing at risk children the proper framework to learn to read and write at grade level. This single ability is the greatest predictor of success. Without the ability to read, the life of the individual is severely limited. This organization has quietly helped thousands of students through the diligence of volunteers, donors and foundations. The Beyond Basics program really should be in place in ALL low performing schools in Detroit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2011

Beyond Basics has grown from a small organization to a group impacting over 1000 at risk kids coming from families living in poverty and getting over 95% of them to read at grade level or above. This is amazing because it takes kids when the system has failed them in teaching them how to read and write. This skill is the one skill that acts as the predominant deciding factor whether kids will be able to take a good job and help build a community in detroit and elsewhere or be a burden on the system because they perpetuate a cycle of poverty, crime and a large burden on society. There are few things as important as breaking that cycle and giving an opportunity for kids to have a future that doesn't involve a 65% chance of better of jail time, teen pregnancy and poverty.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've witnessed the impact of this organization on volunteers and students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seek to expand the program so it takes over all literacy aspects in the detroit school district.

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Beyond Basics does for children what few or no other program does. It identifies children who do not read at their grade level and it works with these students to eliminate this gap. This, in turn, allows kids who go through Beyond Basics' programs to follow along at their grade level. This makes a huge difference in their ability to follow along and do well in school and in their future academic success. There is no better way to invest in the lives' of children. I highly recommend this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers