Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.925
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

Over the years, I have been a reading buddy and a publishing center volunteer. The Beyond Basics program helps the children in so many ways. Not only does it improve reading skills, but it improves confidence in the children by interacting with them individually and giving them the opportunity to express themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Books are given to students at the end of their sessions. I would work to acquire more books that appeal to the students from a subject matter and illustration standpoint.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

I had the opportunity to work with Beyond Basics in two different settings. The first took place at Wayne State University. My university worked with student ambassadors involved in Beyond Basics from Southeastern HS. We discussed high school, standardized testing, and college with the students. It was a relaxed setting. The next day I worked with Beyond Basics at Central Collegiate Academy. We were paired with students from Central in writing a story and publishing a book. It was an eye-opening experience. We also candidly discussed college and their futures. I truly felt joy while participating in this service and I think the students also had a great time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep better tabs on the students that are involved in the program. One student hadn't showed up to Beyond Basics in 2 months and then came the day i was at Central HS. It worried me that the teachers were aware he wasn't coming but didn't do anything really to try and get him to come back. I hope that that student and others like him find the value of Beyond Basics and start attending more frequently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

We had wonderful activities with students from Beyond Basics. They are smart, kind and lovely kids! It's great to know such program is helping children to succeed beyond their basic levels. They are also helping them to understand the importance of education and teach them to care other people who are below the basic level of literacy. We just need more people to help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe include more students who might not perform that well and who need more help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The work we were able to do was simple and provide kids with next t o new clean coats and reading material to add to their personal library. Easy work that can change a life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If more volunteers are used we would of been able to divide and conquer a lot more for the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Beyond Basics is a wonderful organization with the long-term interests of the future of our country in mind. Education is the key to unlocking our potential and I believe Beyond Basics is the beginning to opening that door of potential. Their work is not just important it is a necessity. Its members are passionate, devoted and knowledgable about educational issues and how to solve them. A great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Volunteering with Beyond Basics was a wonderful experience . Everyone was driven and focused on motivating the students and it is an amazing organization to be apart of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Outstanding, grass roots driven organization that takes literacy seriously.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Volunteering with Beyond Basics is always time well spent. The staff is energetic, creative and totally dedicated to improving the lives of children. A great deal of thought and planning is invested in making each event and experience meaningful and productive. My participation has been primarily focused on the fund raising events. It has been a unique view of how important and time consuming fund raising is to assuring the continued success of the volunteers in the classrooms.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I had a great experience volunteering at Beyond Basics. Everyone was so friendly and very passionate about the work! It's always great to work with motivating and inspiring individuals who want to make big changes - especially in Detroit. Thanks for having me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Beyond Basics recognizes that not all freedoms should be taken for granted. Not everyone has access to smart education, literacy programs and health and wellness programs. Beyond Basics fills in the gaps for the underserved. This is an invaluable resource to MANY.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers