Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.95
Write A Review
September 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm volunteering at Thirkell Hill Elementary for the first time. I feel it a great opportunity to contribute for the community. I would definitely volunteer again next year. It is a great program provided by Beyond Basics.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I really enjoyed my experience with Beyond Basics, interacting and building something with the kids. The experience was probably as enriching for me as it was for the kids.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

We were part of an art project, working with 2nd graders on how they perceived their greatness. My first young man, felt his greatness when he played basketball, sometimes playing with his 2 year old brother. My second young man said he felt great when he biked with his Dad, and he wanted to help others as a police officer when he grew up.

It was a great day, to work with kids in visioning their greatness in their current life and in their future adult life. Placing that feeling of greatness into artwork, to be placed in our office at a later date as an art exhibit. The children were eager to have outsiders be a part of their day, and it was awesome to see what happens in the Detroit Public Schools, compared to our own hometown schools, and what makes these teachers click in educating our DPS scholars. I look forward to viewing how my 2 young scholars finish out their artwork in color. Thanks for a great day!
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

This is my first time and felt very happy.programs organized by BEYOND BASICS very help full to the kids and changing their lives.I really appreciate the work they are doing and they have excellent and professional staff.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

Beyond Basics is a dynamic program that everyone should support! I really appreciate the work they are doing and I can see that it is really making a difference. I'm really enjoying my volunteer day getting to work directly with the students. The program facilitators are awesome and I can see that they really care about helping the students. I would like to come back soon to support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

We had a great time working with 2nd Graders this morning. The children were very engaged in the story and the after project. It was inspiring to see them contributing and relating to their own GREATNESS. Very rewarding to be a part of this event.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

This is my first time and I am so happy to be a part of this.
We are working with great kids and changing their lives. Great program!
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

Beyond Basics not only gives students the tools to read, it gives them hope and allows them to dream beyond the classroom, beyond their neighborhood, beyond their wildest dreams. This program inspires, encourages, uplifts and promotes literacy in schools and nothing but great things can happen when a child learns to love to read. Love the program and I love what it stand for.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I greatly enjoyed my first volunteer experience with Beyond Basics. It was well organized. More importantly, it was rewarding for me and hopefully the kids I worked with. I enjoyed the personal interaction.
August 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2012

I am glad I've run into a program like Beyond Basics for it has provided a path in an effort to make a difference. Right away I knew working with the children would directly impact their lives and my ... more

August 27, 2014

I've been involved with Beyond Basics for a couple of years now and it is still the one that I feel has a direct impact on our community! I've volunteered at various places before and feel rewarded in doing so but Beyond Basics to me is a notch above those other services because the interactions are real and will resonate for a lifetime!
November 19, 2012

I am glad I've run into a program like Beyond Basics for it has provided a path in an effort to make a difference. Right away I knew working with the children would directly impact their lives and my own. It is with this experience I am greatly humbled and grateful. There is no other satisfaction knowing you've helped positively influence their lives. Through this interaction, they've grown to adapt and instill the same mentality to their siblings which goes above and beyond my expectations. Thank you Beyond Basics for this great opportunity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers