Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.980395
Write A Review
December 13, 2014

more

December 13, 2014

Beverly's Birthdays not only brightens and instills value in the lives of children inflicted by the most unfortunate circumstances, but allows any one with a willing heart to say with their own special time and talents — HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Bakers, treat bag makers, party volunteers, and me (graphic designer for Bev's) are given a truly accessible, meaningful and pure opportunity to express to these children — YOU MATTER. Your birthday matters, and you have the capacity to give to others in your own way too. A beautiful cycle of hope and ACTION has been born out of Beverly's Birthdays, and I encourage companies, families and individuals to join the cheer train! Kudos to the team and everyone involved in this organization.
December 10, 2014

more

December 10, 2014

I became involved with Beverly's Birthday's this year after meeting the founder and becoming inspired by her enthusiasm and dedication to helping these children. My son and I made treat bags for one of the parties and it was an incredible experience to be able to share with my 3 year old son. There are not many ways for a child that young to volunteer, but this was a way he could. The whole time we assembled the bags we talked about the children they were going to and how fortunate he was. It was a great learning experience for him.

The staff at Beverly's Birthday's is fun, passionate and enthusiastic. I highly recommend this organization to anyone who is interested in getting involved with a nonprofit.
December 5, 2014

more

December 5, 2014

I have had the pleasure of volunteering for Beverly's Birthday for the past 2 years. I am so proud of how organization has grown. Everyone involved works so hard to make the birthday celebrations fun, exciting and something these children will remember. As a teacher myself for a lower-income area being able to help outside the classroom means a lot to me. These children just enjoy all of us being there. Seeing the children become excited and feel loved on their birthday is an amazing thing. This organization has grown and flourished into something so wonderful to the Pittsburgh area. We are so lucky to have this program.
December 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Beverly's is hands down one of the top non-profit organizations you will find in the Pittsburgh region (or really, anywhere). This is an organization led by a bunch of dedicated, generous, positive souls who work tirelessly to spread joy among homeless children in the area. The atmosphere of a Beverly's Birthday party is unlike anything you will ever experience, and as a volunteer, I have felt just as fortunate as the children receiving the party to be able to witness it and feel it's impact. When these kids grow older and think back on their childhood, I have no doubt that their Beverly's Birthdays parties will be one of the top highlights they recall. The world needs more people like Megs Yunn, Josh Whiteside, and Michelle Messer, and fortunately, I think the world will get more just like them through the children these three are impacting.
December 5, 2014

more

December 5, 2014

I've volunteered with Beverly's Birthdays for ~1 year and am constantly inspired by their amazing work. Their small staff is extremely dedicated, and the impact on these children is immediately evident when you attend a birthday party. It is the most rewarding volunteer experience I have ever participated in, and I hope the organization continues to grow and do amazing work throughout the region!
December 5, 2014

more

December 5, 2014

I donated party bags to a birthday party last month. I felt wonderful and I think what Beverly's Birthdays does is wonderful, because it gives the children a chance of having a special day that they get to look forward to. Beverly's Birthdays came to my job at EDMC and as soon as I found out what the organization stood for I wanted to be involved. I think it is wonderful what they do here and I hope the organization continues to grow.
December 5, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2013

This organization is the most altruistic group I've ever had the blessing to be associated with. Birthday parties for homeless children are only part of the story. Making a marginalized child feel ... more

December 5, 2014

I've watched this organization grow from grass roots to an amazing community partner. Meg's and Josh work tirelessly to assure that no child, despite sometimes unimaginable situations, go unrecognized on their birthday. Their mission is so pure....it's perfect. Hands down, the most altruistic non-profit I've ever come across!
October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is the most altruistic group I've ever had the blessing to be associated with. Birthday parties for homeless children are only part of the story. Making a marginalized child feel special and important...well that's just priceless! I can't think of a more worthy cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. They are doing everything right. Young adults with big ideas and the belief that anything is possible!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2014

more

December 4, 2014

I found Beverly's Birthdays on a friends facebook page and as soon as I saw what they were about, I wanted involved! I have only been a small part of the wonderful volunteer circuit they have, but can feel the impact I make with every birthday bag I make and donate. I have been inspired to do and give more in other places since getting involved with them. I love this organization and all it means, as I was homeless as a child for 2 years. I was separated from my family, but was fortunate enough to have a friends family take me in. I have often thought of what would of or could of happened to me had noone opened their hearts to me. The selflessness it took for them to take me in. I want to impact lives the way they impacted mine, and Beverlys Birthdays gives me a way to do that. My Daisy troop has since gotten involved and also our school, the feedback and results from both have been amazing. Getting the word out for this little hometown nonprofit with a big heart at it's center!!!!
December 4, 2014

more

December 4, 2014

I met Megs two years ago at a rapid talk session facilitated by nonprofit organization, The Sprout Fund. As soon as she began her speech, I was intrigued. The desire to bring joy and celebration to those less fortunate is not an uncommon one. The ability to make it happen is. Megs and her troupe of birthday enthusiasts give to children what no one else can- the value of a birthday and the sense of importance and appreciation. While I am not able to donate enough of my time or earnings to Beverly's Birthdays, I am ever so grateful to have donated what I had. Many cheers for many years of birthday celebrations!
December 4, 2014

more

December 4, 2014

I am honored to be a small cog in Beverly's Birthdays operation. This organization not only provides amazing celebrations for the kids they serve, but also provides the food bank with hundreds of "birthdays in a bag" for less fortunate families to have what they need to celebrate. In addition, they provide treat bags for homeless/underprivileged youth in certain schools so they can share their special day with their classmates! The work they do is creating stronger families, happier youth, and shining a light on childhood homelessness. Pittsburgh is proud to have them.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

volunteer at a Beverly's Birthdays party. Volunteer