Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.955
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

I started volunteering with BB in the Spring of 2010 for Birmingham Reads and have been a school captain every year since 2011. I also volunteered for the Ready 2 Read program. I love reading and believe that reading well is key to success in anything in life. I really appreciate that we have an organization in Birmingham that is going into the schools to help shore up a critical foundation in the students education. I have seen that the students respond very well to BBs programs. My second grade class looked forward to reading day almost as much as I did.

I would love to see BB continue and grow. They are providing a much needed service to this community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

September will be my 8th year volunteering with Better Basics. Thank the Lord for Better Basics. I volunteer at two inner-city schools reading to 2nd graders and do two MORE book rewards program. All of the staff is so appreciative and the kids are so appreciative. One day, I was in the hall of one poorer school, and some yelled out, "Hey, MORE Lady". Better Basics gives books prizes for students to start a home library. I definitely feel I am making a difference in the Birmingham City Schools.
During the summer, I clean book libraries.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes. Organization is wonderful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

It was has been my pleasure to volunteer with Better Basics through their MORE Reading Program. I have seen first hand the amazing impact this organization makes in the lives of the children we serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

It is a pleasure to volunteer with Better Basics every year. By providing books and other incentives to children, Better Basics instills a love of reading and ensures children are equipped with the resources necessary to be successful in school.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have been volunteering with Better Basics for 12 years. I have witnessed this organization help countless children by providing enriching educational experiences. This organization provides hope for children and families. I love Better Basics!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make changes. The various directors are phenomenal!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I am a graduate student at UAB and just completed my internship with Better Basics last week. I began working with them at the beginning of June this year, and it has truly been a privilege to work with this wonderful organization. My time with the Better Basics has taught me so much about nonprofit work, but beyond the work experience it has taught me how committed all of the employees are to serving their community, specifically the children. Their programs have definitely made a positive impact among children who do not always receive the attention they deserve, and has provided these children with a positive influence which they so desperately need. I look forward to volunteering with them in the future and witnessing their success in our community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I am a student at UAB and have been volunteering with this organization for about four years. I cannot express how much i truly love and admire this organization! They are doing tremendous work in our community. They have hands down the most helpful staff who are clearly passionate about making a difference in children's reading skills. They are quick to respond to communication and will help you select a volunteer program that best fits in with your schedule. They have also helped me several times with class projects! I get way too excited to volunteer with the programs, and I find myself wanting to do every single program that they offer. You will not be disappointed to work with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have worked in the office helping prepare materials for sudents during the last several summers. Everyone at Better Basics is truly concerned about children in our community. They are helpful and suppotive of me when I am in the office, and I'm proud to be a part of the good work that they do. They give away more than 40,000 books a year to kids that need them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I got involved with Better Basics because i wanted to make an impact in the schools in the urban communities. Better Basics fulfilled that desire and gave me a chance to experience some of situations that i did not know exist.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Although I am a working parent, with a very busy schedule, I felt compelled to participate in the Better Basic Reading Program. After seeing a presentation by one of the staff members of Better Basic, I signed up to volunteer one day a week at a local elementary school.
Better Basics provided
books of various genres (comic, classic, scientific etc.) just to name a few, for students to read at their leisure. To encourage the students to participate they incorporated a great reward system as well. Kids were rewarded with books for their private collection, tee shirts and all sorts of trinkets that kids love.

I am so glad I had the opportunity to participate in this program. I saw the excitement and passion that some of the kids had for reading. I saw kids encouraging and challenging each other to read as well.

The only way to know the effect of this program is to become involved in it. I encourage anyone to make the time to participate, even if it is only for a short period of time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We have opportunities for volunteers to work one on one with a student or with a classroom on a weekly or twice monthly basis. Volunteer