Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.955
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been acquainted with Better Basic for over r 20 years. I have served on the Board for seven as Secretary, Vice-President and President. Better Basic has a clear vision and works with efficiency, dedication and purpose as they serve the children of the Birmingham and surrounding area. Volunteers and retired teachers work one on one and with small groups to teach the basics of reading and instill a desire to read and a love for literature. I am honored to have been a part of such a wonderful group of professionals and dedicated volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Although I am a working parent, with a very busy schedule, I felt compelled to participate in the Better Basic Reading Program. After seeing a presentation by one of the staff members of Better Basic, I signed up to volunteer one day a week at a local elementary school.
Better Basics provided
books of various genres (comic, classic, scientific etc.) just to name a few, for students to read at their leisure. To encourage the students to participate they incorporated a great reward system as well. Kids were rewarded with books for their private collection, tee shirts and all sorts of trinkets that kids love.

I am so glad I had the opportunity to participate in this program. I saw the excitement and passion that some of the kids had for reading. I saw kids encouraging and challenging each other to read as well.

The only way to know the effect of this program is to become involved in it. I encourage anyone to make the time to participate, even if it is only for a short period of time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have been involved with Better Basics for three years. This organization has been sucessful in working with intercity schools to help improve reading schools. More than 16,000 under-served students participated in Better Basics Programs this past year. The Better Basics programs help children make great strides in reading and learning skills.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Better Basics does an amazing job of providing books and resources to our schools and its students. I was able to go read to a class of 3rd graders and at the end of the reading able to give every student in the class their own copy of the book. It was a rewarding experience to see the kid's face light up when they were presented with their own book. Leaders are readers and Better Basics does an outstanding job of leading kids down that path.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I started volunteering at Better Basics as a requirement for a college course. I had intended to put in my minimum of 20 hours and be done. But I enjoyed my time there so much that I've decided to finish out the school year. Every Thursday I volunteer at the HOPE after school program, and I've seen first hand the benefits Better Basics provides. The children adore Ms. Rachael and Ms. Ebony. They receive encouragement and praise from both the teachers and the volunteers. I've been extremely surprised by how bright these children truly are, and when they are given the proper attention and guidance, those lights truly shine! I have also had the opportunity to spend some time in the office with Ms. Kathleen and other members of the staff. They are all extremely devoted to the agency and what it stands for. One thing that stood out the most was how grateful they all are for their volunteers. I have always loved to read, and its a huge disappointment to me when I see how most children hate to read. Having said that, when I came across Better Basics I knew I had found something I could truly stand behind!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Better Basics is making a tremendous impact in the lives of students. It is incredible to observe the after-school enrichment programs and how they affect whole families, not just individual students. I have had the privilege to participate in some of the gardening programs, amazing to see the kids learn how to produce and consume their own food. This organization is one-of-a-kind.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have volunteered with Better Basics multiple times. Their staff is easy to work with and are always prepared. I really enjoyed the Birmingham Reads! oppportunity. I took my entire team to read on this day and it was very rewarding. I am proud to volunteer with them and appreciate the hard work they do for our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Better Basics, under the leadership of Karen Capp, is a strong organization that is accomplishing its goals. From dedicated volunteers with huge hearts, to a compassionate mission statement, and supportive management, Better Basics is a great nonprofit!

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 28, 2012

As a member of The Children's Literacy Guild, I became involved with Better Basics ten years ago. I have served as a volunteer in many areas and have been so impressed with the impact the literacy intervention programs have had on the students. I mentored a 4th grade class and saw how reading levels were improved over the school year. It was a joy to visit the schools and see the excitement of the students and teachers for the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 28, 2012

I've volunteered with Better Basics for over five years and continue to be amazed by the amount of support and outreach they provide with such a small staff. I've been impressed with the dedication of the staff and enjoyed my time as a volunteer. Watching a child grow as a reader over the course of a school year is such an amazing and rewarding experience. Better Basics has done a wonderful job of creating valuable volunteer opportunities while providing a real service to the children of the Greater Birmingham community. Getting involved as a volunteer was one of the best decisions I've ever made.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We have opportunities for volunteers to work one on one with a student or with a classroom on a weekly or twice monthly basis. Volunteer