Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
115 Reviews
1234.678265
Write A Review
December 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered at Best Friends and found it extremely rewarding. They are doing good for the animals. However, I find their form 990 of their 2012 Tax return disturbing. The total compensation for the officers and directors is around $1,000,000 and their total revenue for 2012 was approximately $64 million with $17 million going to animal care activities and $26 million for salaries and benefits. Of the officers and directors three of them are paid approximately $190,000 per year. Animal food and medical care is only approximately $4 million. About $6 million goes to fund raising. This seems out of balance to me. They are really good at raising money but not so good at spending it on the animals. I will continue to volunteer my time but not my money.
December 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered here many times over the years. It is incredibly well run by caring individuals and great volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I had donated to Best Friends for several years before I visited the Sanctuary and volunteered there. Now I donate more. It is impossible to adequately describe the Sanctuary. It is huge! They have all sorts of animals there divided into different areas. The staff is totally committed to the best interests of the animals and they all seem to love their jobs.That this was developed by a small group of dedicated individuals is phenomenal! Donating to Best Friends is not just donating to this Sanctuary in Utah. Best Friends has outreach programs that impact all areas of the country. There main focus is to bring about a time of no more homeless pets. Best Friends members have made significant strides in Los Angeles where sales of dogs in pet stores is now banned. The New York group rescued a group of Beagles from a laboratory a few years ago. Teams of Best Friends are among the first on the scene at disasters to help the animals. They spent 6 months in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina. They are actively working throughout the country to strike down breed specific legislation aimed at pit bull type dogs. They rehabilitated the worst of Michael Vick's fighting dogs and have adopted several of them out into loving homes. The training methods they use are really very simple, involving patience and love instead of domination and punishment. This charity has grown to become one of the"big guys" in the animal world and many people are critical of this. But this enables them to have the outreach I mentioned above and give aid and grants to other groups working toward a time of no more homeless pets. I could go on for days about the wonderful things this group does! My donation dollars go to local rescues and to Best Friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

My only sadness about Best Friends Animal Society and its sanctuary in Kanab UT is that not everyone is aware of the effort, excellence and enthusiasm by these dedicated animal lovers and caregivers. Multiple visits, volunteering at the sanctuary, continues to reinforce my admiration for the professional staff and their ceaseless efforts to affect the attitude and behavior of the animals and birds under their care. Their mission, "No More Homeless Pets" is woven into the fabric of their operations and mindsets. The flow of volunteers visiting the sanctuary, including myself, quickly learn that love and best intentions are not adequate to improve the lives of these smallest of God;s creatures. Instead, I learned about patience and persistence as well as relying on the expertise of the Best Friends professionals: if I wanted to make an impact upon animals who still are wary of humans, due to past experiences. Stimulated by my experiences there, and informed and educated by Best Friends sponsored Workshops, I re-enter my own community with commitment to aid local Shelters in any way, too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

i volunteer with Best Friends and have seen first hand how they help in disasters (Katrina) setting up an area to help the animals, providing medical care and shelter for the animals in need. They do more than any other animal organization that i know of. They aslo support other group by giving them grants and offer courses in how others can set up their own rescue. They are incredibly supportive and encouraging. They also help train vets in other countries to learn how to spay & neuter. i can not say enough good things about Robin Harmon, one of their employees who has the biggest heart of any one i know. They are making a huge difference in the lives of many many animals and also humans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2011

more

August 30, 2011

A friend and I visited Best Friends last October. Visiting there was on my bucket list and I fulfilled my wish. It is a wonderful place that is set in some of the most beautiful country I have ever seen. The staff there were so helpful to all the volunteers. You could see that they loved their jobs - who wouldn't! - and they are so loving and caring toward all the animals there. All the facilities were immaculate. The lunches were wonderful and served in a very scenic location. Angel's Rest was the most spiritual place I have ever been in. A beautiful setting - the chimes blowing in the soft breeze. What a wonderful place for your pet to be placed. I can think of nothing that was negative there. I just wish we could have stayed longer. I pray that I will be able to make the trip back again. We traveled thousands of miles to visit there. I just wish there was a Best Friends close to my home. I would spend all my time volunteering there. God Bless you Best Friends for the amazing work you do and the loving care to all the animals in your care there and also all the good work you do around the country.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Personally, my experience was one of joy and love in seeing all the animals so loved and cared for, Angel's Rest was a spiritually moving experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can think of no changes. Of course, you always wish for more funds to shelter and take in more animals. I wish for more sanctuaries like Best Friends all across the country.

August 30, 2011

more

August 30, 2011

I have volunteered at Best Friends for the last three years and I could say without any hesitation, these guys are amazing! Not only do they do a wonderful job of taking care of the animals on their sanctuary in Kanab, Utah, they also offer seminars, and lectures for any rescue group looking for information and guidance on how to run their own successful organization. The whole volunteer experience at Best Friends is great! They start you off with an overview (or orientation) of the sanctuary. Then, they have you sign up to work with the animals you would feel most comfortable working with (i.e. dogs, cats, pigs, etc.) You can chose a variety of duties, not limited to cleaning, or feeding, but things like walking, brushing, talking a dog on an "outing" or "sleepover". The staff at Best Friends is incredible. They make you feel like part of the team. It is very comfortable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Several of the dogs we worked with were adopted within a few weeks of our volunteering. This not only is great for the dogs we worked with, but for others in need of a safe place until, they too, can be adopted. Also, I have experienced the transformation of a NYC "puppy store" to an "adoption only" model, saving more homeless dogs around the city and helping to put an end to puppy mills. The feedback from this transformation was, and continues to be incredible!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open up a branch office in every state in the USA. Work to get federal funding and change laws to be in favor of animals. Animals have no voice, and there needs to be better laws that protect them. I believe Best Friends can actually work to make this happen. They have the passion and drive, and with the help of their members, they can bring awareness to the masses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Definitely had an effect on me. I am more passionate about animal welfare, and I continue to volunteer my time with Best Friends as well as other animal welfare groups. I have made many friends along the way, and I believe it has changed my overall health (I am a lot less stressed because I feel like I am doing good work)

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This makes me feel great! Not only am I helping animals, I am helping myself!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 30, 2011

more

August 30, 2011

Best Friends is an outstanding organization that literally helps thousands of animals both at the sanctuary where they can live out their furever lives and in the home of the lucky individuals who adopt from them. I recently took the Emergency Rescue Training and have learned even more about this great organization. If you haven't been to the sanctuary in Utah you must go and meet the pigs, dogs, cats, birds, bunnies, horses and all the rest. My favorite part is the exceptional steps they take for those animals who suffer disabilities. I just can't say enough great things about them. I am a Guardian and a Sponsor for Squeaky - one of the pigs. Please join me and help out one of the many, many animals in need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have watched as hundreds of animals have found furever homes at the numerous events sponsored by Best Friends. I was so very impressed by the wonderful work done at the sanctuary in Utah for so many abused animals rescued by Best Friends. The care and love for the animals of all types is so very, very evident in all that they do. You must visit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more donors and sponsor more fund raisers to allow them to take in even more disabled animals.

August 30, 2011

more

August 30, 2011

I had the opportunity to volunteer with Best Friends for a couple of weeks along with some family members several summers ago. I had always heard wonderful things about Best Friends, but the experience vastly exceeded my expectations. I have volunteered for over a dozen animal welfare and rescue organizations, and Best Friends is by far the finest. The animal enclosures are innovative, spacious, appropriate, and well enriched. Animal care, nutrition, and socialization practices are progressive and superior to what most animals receive in private homes, forget in a rescue/shelter environment. The staff are knowledgeable, friendly, and the volunteer program well organized. And finally, the organization's mission and philosophy are admirable and fully reflected by the work they do. As someone who has been doing private rescue for roughly ten years, Best Friends is my go-to standard for how I can improve upon my own practices. This is absolutely what every rescue should be striving to emulate.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A NY rescue that once helped me with a difficult placement sadly fell into disrepair and neglect when its owner died of cancer; many animals suffered gravely as a consequence. Best Friends stepped up to the task of lending a helping hand. I am happy to say it has been re-established as the wonderful rescue it set out to be, serving citizens in the rural county it was located in, thanks to the generosity, expertise, and go-getting philosophy of Best Friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I feel that Best Friends has little, if any, room for improvement. I would like to rabbit and parrot programs get more attention on the website/magazine, but I understand that the broadest donor base is going to be dog/cat lovers, so it makes sense to cater to them.

August 30, 2011

more

August 30, 2011

Best Friends is a fine example of collaboration, caring and efficiency. They have an amazing network of volunteers, a well chosen and caring staff and their reach is incredible. From rescuing animals in the wake of disasters, matching pets with forever homes and advocating on behalf of all sorts of animals, they are unmatched when it comes to living their motto..."No More Homeless Pets."

Kudos to Best Friends!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We have personally adopted two birds from Best Friends. We also have friends who volunteer regularly. This is a great organization with vision and purpose.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This is a well-run organization. I can't recommend any specific changes...in fact, I have learned much from them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Two words... unconditional love. The rewards for volunteering at Best Friends are many, but most of all, it is the heartfelt joy of helping animals who ask only for your attention and care. I only wish we could volunteer more often.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers