Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
114 Reviews
1234.701755
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
December 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered here many times over the years. It is incredibly well run by caring individuals and great volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2013

more

November 6, 2013

I was lucky enough to visit the sanctuary and "work" in the various cat houses every day for a week and I can't tell you how wonderful Best Friends is. The work they do to eliminate unnecessary euthanasia
and to help animals everyone else has given up on is incredible. I wish there were
more places like Best Friends around the world because if there were - this world would be a better place for all of us - especially our animal friends!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I felt that this was a very good organization at first. However, they provide money donated by others in instances that deception and unlawful actions take place.

I wrote to them about San Antonio, Texas - Animal Care Services (ACS) unlawful acts that cause the deaths of many animals.
Best Friends had no interest, even though they donate a great deal of other people's money to ACS.

I sent them a link to my article to outline what is taking place.

Animal Care Service's history of deception in San Antonio, TX
http://www.examiner.com/article/animal-care-service-s-history-of-deception-san-antonio-tx

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...make sure they use the funds provided by those that are donating money to save animals to the best recipients - not provide that donated money to special interests performing unlawful acts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

BFAS has implemented an intentionally deceptive strategy to great success, but if you do your own, simple online research, you will soon uncover the truth. BFAS was actually originally founded as a cult religion by a few rich British kids. Your read it right. BFAS's original name was the Process Church of the Final Judgment. That's just the beginning..See for yourself at:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Best_Friends_Animal_Society

Interviewed Charles Manson and featured him on the cover of their magazine? Yep!

Only began "raising money for animals" when they realized more people in England would give donations if they said the money would help animals.

Paid board members! That's right, a process illegal in most states - paying your board salaries - the board made up of the founding fathers of the Process Church - they are paid salaries to impartially vote on matters that affect the future of BFAS and how it spends your money. The BBB and Charity Navigator both point this out in their red flag reports.

This organization's story is exceedingly sad and the truth hurts. But let this be a lesson - with enough money and great, heart-gripping marketing stories, we all can be duped into supporting something we never would if we just took a few minutes to find out a little more information. Do your research. Google terms like "truth about..." followed by the name of the charity you're thinking of supporting. You may be shocked. I was!

Find the rest of the sad truth at:

http://www.thedogpress.com/Columns/BestFriends1-06101-Jade.asp

http://www.animalliberationfront.com/AR_Orgs/Best%20Friends-beginnings.htm

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Disband. Stop paying board members. Come clean about your religious cult history and how it still plays a role in the organization's direction. Stop pretending to care about all animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I had donated to Best Friends for several years before I visited the Sanctuary and volunteered there. Now I donate more. It is impossible to adequately describe the Sanctuary. It is huge! They have all sorts of animals there divided into different areas. The staff is totally committed to the best interests of the animals and they all seem to love their jobs.That this was developed by a small group of dedicated individuals is phenomenal! Donating to Best Friends is not just donating to this Sanctuary in Utah. Best Friends has outreach programs that impact all areas of the country. There main focus is to bring about a time of no more homeless pets. Best Friends members have made significant strides in Los Angeles where sales of dogs in pet stores is now banned. The New York group rescued a group of Beagles from a laboratory a few years ago. Teams of Best Friends are among the first on the scene at disasters to help the animals. They spent 6 months in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina. They are actively working throughout the country to strike down breed specific legislation aimed at pit bull type dogs. They rehabilitated the worst of Michael Vick's fighting dogs and have adopted several of them out into loving homes. The training methods they use are really very simple, involving patience and love instead of domination and punishment. This charity has grown to become one of the"big guys" in the animal world and many people are critical of this. But this enables them to have the outreach I mentioned above and give aid and grants to other groups working toward a time of no more homeless pets. I could go on for days about the wonderful things this group does! My donation dollars go to local rescues and to Best Friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

My only sadness about Best Friends Animal Society and its sanctuary in Kanab UT is that not everyone is aware of the effort, excellence and enthusiasm by these dedicated animal lovers and caregivers. Multiple visits, volunteering at the sanctuary, continues to reinforce my admiration for the professional staff and their ceaseless efforts to affect the attitude and behavior of the animals and birds under their care. Their mission, "No More Homeless Pets" is woven into the fabric of their operations and mindsets. The flow of volunteers visiting the sanctuary, including myself, quickly learn that love and best intentions are not adequate to improve the lives of these smallest of God;s creatures. Instead, I learned about patience and persistence as well as relying on the expertise of the Best Friends professionals: if I wanted to make an impact upon animals who still are wary of humans, due to past experiences. Stimulated by my experiences there, and informed and educated by Best Friends sponsored Workshops, I re-enter my own community with commitment to aid local Shelters in any way, too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I donated $10.00 to this charity to help out any hurt and abandoned animals from the Hurricane Sandy disaster in New York City. This is a great charity because it make sure they can help out animals without putting them down. And you don't just choose this charity, but they give you an option to state any specifics on how your donation is used. So many people send money to hurt people, sick people, which is extremely important, but there are so many animals that need help too, and those animals can't help themselves, so I feel the Best Friends Animal Society is doing a great job at making sure those animals aren't forgotten. Please help out these poor, innocent, and defenseless animals are taken care of, and I wish to thank this charity to coming into existence so I can make a donation to do my part. I don't know for sure that anything was done, but I'm sure it was used and made a difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been donating to Best Friends for a number of years now mostly because of the amazing work they do to help creatures large and small either find a forever home or gives them a wonderful place to call home. The work they have done with re-branding Pit Bulls is fantastic. I would love to live closer so I could volunteer to help with the loving environment they create.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 29, 2011

I love this organization. I first learned of it by watching DogTown, and I fell in love with what they do. I wish all shelters could help rehabilitate and provide a no-kill policy. Seeing what they... more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Best Friends does incredible work providing a no-kill shelter for all animals in need. I wish we had more organizations like them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2011

I love this organization. I first learned of it by watching DogTown, and I fell in love with what they do. I wish all shelters could help rehabilitate and provide a no-kill policy. Seeing what they do makes me want to move to Utah and work with them!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Giving me a chance to make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes, just wish that they could branch out and create more facilities nationwide.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I want to help them stay a functioning no-kill shelter. Also, I believe in rehabilitating and providing vet services for the animals that require expensive care.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a monthly automatic donor to Best Friends Animal Society for years. Last week I had the chance to visit the Sanctuary near Kanab, UT. It was beyond my expectations. They do lovely van tours. The area is just beautiful, and everyone is really nice and welcoming. There is so much love in the air, and you can tell everyone just loves what they are doing. There are some beautiful things to see in the area, not the least of which are Zion National Park, the Coral Pink Sand Dunes, and best of all (IMHO), Moqui Cave. If you ever think about visiting Best Friends, don't miss it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers