Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.945955
Write A Review
December 10, 2014

more

December 10, 2014

As a student, community service and volunteerism is normally considered to be boring. However, Best Day is the highlight of my summer and winter. I look forward to going on the weekends it's in my area, meeting new friends, and creating special days for special kids. The staff is welcoming, patient, kind and understanding. Best Day has provided me with the ultimate experience in working with kids with a wide range of disabilities. I am beyond grateful for it. Thanks to these events, I am now able to communicate more efficiently with American Sign Language users with having worked with the kids so often. I'm looking forward to yet another great year!
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I have had the wonderful opportunity to volunteer with Best Day Foundation in September in Newport Beach and today at Doheny Beach in Dana Point. I can't tell you how blessed I feel to be a small part of this organization. It truly is "The Best Day" for these beautiful children. To see their smiles and waving hands out on a kayak or standing on a paddleboard was spectacular! My two kids volunteered with me and we all enjoyed our day and can't wait to help out next year. The organizers of this event are so friendly and giving and seem to be running a great organization. They are so patient with the children and keep them safe. Thank you for all you do! Keep up the great work:)
October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Me and my boys enjoyed the day with Best Day in Ventura, CA this last Saturday. My Adrian is 12 and has autism. He was able to surf, outrig, stand up paddle board, boggie board and kayack. He had an amazing time. Last year he was able to enjoy the events in Newport, CA. Such a great time.

My 13 year old son was a volunteer buddy to a 15 year old blind boy. He had such a great time and wants to do it again! He enjoyed helping out!

Me the mom, have volunteered at this event in Ventura, CA, Newport Beach, CA and Seal Beach, CA. Enjoyed playing with the kids and helping out Best Day! Such an awesome organization with alot of loving hearts for these special children. Giving them wonderful experiences and giving their parents a break. So caught my heart! It's nice for these kids to experience these things in such a safe setting! So wonderful for the parents to be able to sit back and relax or take pictures. And enjoy seeing their kiddos having fun! Looking forward to the next event in Dana Point! Thank you Best Day for all you do! Betty
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

Best Day is an incredible organization who really knows how to empower kids with special needs. Not only that, they also serve as a great role model for other kids as they allow them to volunteer as well. It's such a heartwarming sight to see kids helping kids. It's impossible to go to a Best Day event and not have a BEST DAY!! Whether you're the child, the parents, siblings, friends or volunteers... everyone experiences the pure joy of interacting with these amazing children. Best Day also thinks outside the box to ensure the kids will have unique and powerful experiences. 5 years ago they contacted me asking if my dog, Ricochet could be part of the events to give children a one-of-a-kind opportunity to interact and surf with a SURFice dog. Just recently they made Ricochet an Ambassador, and we couldn't be more honored. Please join me in supporting this great non profit!
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

The Best Day Foundation is unreal.
There is nothing more rewarding than the ear to ear smiles on the faces of these kids.
It's truly something special.
I can't tell you how many times I've had a Best Day t-shirt on and somebody has come up to thank me.
It's a gift that keeps on
giving.
Sign up for an event, I guarantee it's the best thing you'll ever do.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

My husband & I both volunteer with the Ventura Chapter of Best Day. I don't know who leaves with a bigger smile on their faces; the kids or the volunteers! To be able to have children with special needs participate in activities that are usually not available for them, is nothing short of spectacular.
Sometimes at the start of the day's activities, the kids are somewhat leery, not digging the wetsuits or helmets. They will state "I am not surfing today". At the end of the day, they are beaming with pride & their accomplishment of having surfed!! I love that Best Day allows the parents to sit on the beach, relax & have a moment for themselves, while their children are being cared for by an outstanding group of volunteers. Either to be a volunteer or participant, you will come away with the BEST DAY ever!
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

Top notch organization! I have had the distinct privilege to be able to volunteer with Best Day multiple times in the past years and I can not say enough good things. The staff is very dedicated to each event and they put in 110% to ensure the kids and parents walk away with an experience of a lifetime! If you have a chance, come out, volunteer, and see for yourself...Like this weekend in Ventura!!

Love you Best Day and thank you for giving me the opportunity to lend a helping hand :)
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

My family first became involved in Best Day when my daughter, who has a rare neurological disorder, was a participant. Seeing her out in the ocean surfing with the pro volunteers was truly amazing. She said she felt like a superhero riding the waves. It was such a positive experience, I and my other daughter volunteered as a way of giving back. Volunteering was equally inspiring. There is something magical that happens when kids with physical and mental challenges are given the opportunity to just be kids. It truly is the BEST day!
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

I first heard about Best Day foundation though an acquaintance. He knew I was involved with other non profits and said hey, " you should really come to a Best Day event and check it out. They are awesome!" So I did and it was! Now I'm a lifer! This is my fourth season with the Best Day Orange County Chapter and I recently volunteered for an event with the Ventura chapter.There are truly not enough expletives in the human language to describe how wonderful this organization in or how how much its participants, their families and our overcome staff and volunteers have come to mean to me. Best Day events are the ultimate equalizer. In an instant children are capable, parents are supported and volunteers naturally fall into their supporting roles. All of this happens simultaneously. Regardless of the disability of the child or the inexperience of the volunteer. It is an awesome dynamic no matter how many times I see it I am always amazed at how every event is so organic, free flowing, and natural. Best Day campaigns promise all participants and their volunteers the Best Day ever! And that is no empty promise. Every event is the Best Day EVER! I hope you recognize them for their contributions not just for changing the lives of the families they help but also the volunteers. You can not volunteer for a Best Day event and not be changed by one. Its a community that gives love freely of itself to everyone that enters into it. Thank you Best Day Foundation for all the joy you have brought into the lives of so many families including my own. I am a better human being because you exist to serve and better humanity in the capacity that you do. Some of my Beat Days Ever I have shared with all of you.♡
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

After volunteering for Best Day Foundation at well over 30 events it is safe to say that, each and every time I am overwhelmed by the selflessness that all the volunteers bring to every event. For me personally working with the kids has been an experience of a lifetime. To witness the kids transformation and see the confidence they gain is nothing short of amazing. The smiles and laughter for the participants is truly hart warming and really makes me proud to be apart of it..
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a life-changing impact for a child with special needs at the beach or in the snow. We're pretty sure you'll also have an incredible time. Many volunteers say that their experience volunteering is not just fun but life-changing too. Volunteer