Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I volunteered at a Best Day event in Brick Township, NJ. It was by far, my favorite day of summer! I enjoyed working with all of the volunteers and participants to make it such a rewarding day for everyone. I cannot wait to be a part of another Best Day event!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

My daughter has a dravet syndrome and is mentally delayed with limited speech. She loves the water and when I found out about this foundation I was excited and a little nervous having my daughter be in the ocean. It was the BEST day ever for her. We were greeted and giving a buddy to help her go to the different activities. She had the biggest smile on her face when she did the stand up paddle boards. There were so many volunteers in the water and the person assisting her was a professional. I felt so happy seeing her out on the water and felt very comfortable. Before we left they had the kids walk through a group of people cheering for them and at the end got a medal and a bucket full of goodies. To this day I still tear up when thinking about all the nice people who made that day so special for my daughter. I can't say enough about how awesome this foundation is. April ( mom to Sarah age 7)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012


I am an organizer at heart and when I arrived in Ventura over 2 years ago after a 16-year hiatus from CA, I was quickly recruited by a new friend to provide administrative and organizational support to Best Day's first chapter. I fell in love with Best Day and its ability to bring so many
varying members of the community together to create magic on the beach. For everyone involved - participants, their parents and the volunteers and community members that support us, each event is truly a "best day".

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Everybody there is committed to making the participants (in this case, my daughter with Autism) feel valued, special, capable and comfortable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

One of the most rewarding and enjoyable non-profits i have volunteered for. The staff is full of nothing but kindness and the smiles on the participants faces throughout the day is something that cannot be replicated! I wish there were more events through the year so that we could get even more kids out in the water, as it has been a blast to be a part of this program, as well as watch it grow over the years into something so magical!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

My son participated in Best Day and he truly had the most amazing experience! The volunteers were so organized which is key in keeping my son's attention the entire day. He surfed, kayaked, played games and interacted with volunteers and participants - very successful day! He came out of the experience wanting to surf and waking up each morning asking if he can go to the ocean and get a surf board !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have been volunteering for Best Day for a few years now and it has been incredible. It is such a rewarding experience to be able to help special needs children enjoy the ocean. Their smiles and hugs throughout the day are evidence enough that this day has a huge impact on their life. I will continue to participate in Best Day events for as long as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

My little sister has participated in a handful of Best Day activities in our region. She has had so much fun accomplishing things we can't teach her on our own. Best Day brings all the equipment and has considered all the details in putting together these events. The scores of volunteers help assure families that their precious children are in good hands and a safe environment. It's the volunteers that bring the programs alive! But most importantly, our whole family comes home happy-- children and PARENTS who are beside themselves with enthusiasm for the day's activities. Best Day Foundation is a GREAT Nonprofit that deserves a lot more recognition for the work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

My autistic son had a great experience with Best Day. They were able to get him interested in surfing and they really had a great program for special needs kids. If you get a chance to bring your child to one of their events do it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Nothing compares to the ear to ear smile of a child who surfs and boogie boards for the first time. For a child with special needs some activities are out of reach. The Best Day Foundation provides access to the ocean for thousands of children and young adults. Best Day Foundation provides safe, fun, activities like surfing, bodyboarding, kayaking, snow sports, and more while building self-confidence and self-esteem. Many families of special needs children could not do these activities without the volunteers that serve as buddies on the sand, transition teams in the water or the surfing and boogie boarding teams in the water. Each child is surrounded by love, support and most importantly, encouragement to do something they might have though impossible. Best Day brings out the best in both the participants and volunteers. Actually, the volunteers will never be the same.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a life-changing impact for a child with special needs at the beach or in the snow. We're pretty sure you'll also have an incredible time. Many volunteers say that their experience volunteering is not just fun but life-changing too. Volunteer