Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

The volunteers were amazing! My 2 children (both Autistic) just recently attended the surfers event at Seal Beach in June, and I was amazed by the kindness, patience, and overall fun that they showed my kids. This is an awesome organization, and we definitely plan on participating in future events. If I could give 10 stars to Best Day Foundation, I would. :) I highly recommend the experience they offer. My kids had an amazing day!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

As a pro surf photographer, I have volunteered for Best Day's Orange County, CA events for the past 2 years. I am so honored to be able to capture the faces of the kids as they experience the joy of catching waves or just spending a day on the water. This organization is so well run and it always keeps its focus true by making the events all about the kids. I love watching the other volunteers connecting with each kid in a special way. Not all kids are eager to participate at first, but with such a nurturing and loving atmosphere at each event, even the most hesitant kid can't resist joining in eventually. Best Day Foundation really does provide "Best Days" for these kids with special needs and their families!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I first heard of this fabulous foundation when they set up an event three years ago right near one of my fav spots in Ventura. I was hesitant then. Yet, one year later, after seeing one of their fliers posted about the beach areas, I was pretty excited to attend the next event scheduled. You see, I really wanted to know if they could actually help ME surf; as I was born w/ a physical disabilities. They immediately embraced the idea. And with that, I asked if I could be of any help right then and there. I was therefore, desIgnated to handle the registrating of kids that were signed up for that day. And have been ever since! I LOVE BESTDAYFOUNDATION AND ALL THE KIDS AND PARENTS OF THOSE KIDS. Every year these kids look forward to one of the BESTDAYSEVER in their lives. It is the same for the parents; to see their children enjoy life in this degree, is the best reward, for me, at the end of one of our events. GO TEAM! And yes, I HAVE SURFED TWICE NOW WITH THE BESTDAYFOUNDATION!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

My words are not enough to express my gratitude towards "Best Day Foundation" This is one place everyone comes together with all their heart and spirit to give us a "Best Day" in our lives. One has to be there to experience what it means to give this day to people who are challenged to have even simple pleasures like walking in sun. I whoeheartedly support this foundation and wish its continued sucess.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I vounteered for the first time and I left with a smile both on my face and in my heart. So many people came together to do something so wonderful for kids who under normal, everyday situations, may not have been able to have this experience. The kids were so happy to be in the water, to be doing something new and different, to be the center of attention in a positive way. This day was supposed to be all about them, focus on the kids, give the kids a great day - but it was more than that. I walked away feeling so happy to see the kids so happy, to see how many good people there are who would give up a day to make strangers happy. The smile on the kids' faces as they rode in on the surfboards or kyaks, or the laughing from the beach buddies as they were being burried in the sand - those things you can't fake or force. The genuine love and support that comes from this group of people is unreal and I was so happy to be a part of that and I plan to go back for as many events as I can next year. I brought my two 7 year old daughters with me and they were beach buddies with me to a beautiful, sweet 7 year old boy. I want them to see what joy giving time to others can bring to those people, and to yourself. I will go back and do this not only to give my help to others, but because I truly had a wonderful time and strongly believe in this foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Though I have not yet volunteered for Best Day (and I fully intend to), I have witnessed the joy it brings to the children firsthand. The Ventura chapter holds their surfing/bodyboarding events in front of my house on the Ventura Promenade. My curiosity was piqued one day by the cheers, laughter and clapping I heard from the beach when they held an event a few months ago. I walked down to the beach and couldn't stop the tears of joy from falling! Best Day had a rather large group of what appeared to be blind and/or developmentally disabled kids actually experiencing the ocean through different modes. The volunteers were plentiful and were so enthusiastic and engaging with the kids. Some of the kids were hesitant to go in the water, but the patient volunteers were so kind, encouraging and understanding. There were some kids building sand castles to ease their way towards the water. Others were boogie boarding with what seemed to be no less than 5 volunteers to each child. The more assertive kids surfed with, again, 4 or 5 volunteers each. What a highly organized, very necessary and oh so wonderful organization Best Day truly is!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

To understand Best Day you first need to know about my son. Jesse is 5 now, he is severely autistic, non-verbal, and has seizures. Jesse lives a life of toil, from going to school full time when he was four (and part time at three) to the 2 hours of therapy everyday after school. Surfing with Best Day makes it all better. Jesse loves the water and the experience they provide is unmatched. For one day Jesse gets to do what he loves. No one expects him to try to talk, to socialize, to complete academic tasks. For one day he is just like any other kid playing at the beach. As a parent it fills me with so much joy to see him with an unabashed smile, doing something he loves, and feeling succesful. That so many do so much just to give us that is beyond compare. I just can not articulate how positive our experience has been

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I've been volunteering for Best Day about two years now and I really don't know where I would be without it. The kids that are there are so amazing and it humbles me every time working with them. The committee in Ventura is purely amazing and are like another family to me. Everything about this foundation, from the kids, volunteers and the sponsors. Couldn't ask for anything better and I always leave with a smile and endless amounts of stoke!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I have been volunteering as a beach staff volunteer for almost three years with Best Day Foundation because of the amazing and unique opportunity it gives not only to the special needs kids that it serves but also to the diverse crowd of volunteers who get to interact with these amazing children and better understand those individuals that they might not otherwise know and appreciate from their own communities. Thank you Best Day Ventura and Santa Barbara!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Didn't learn about this event until a few days before but it seemed amazing so I decided to go. I am so thankful that I decided to go because it was an amazing day full of smiles, laughter and fun. Nothing could make me happier than helping a child enjoy a day to their fullest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a life-changing impact for a child with special needs at the beach or in the snow. We're pretty sure you'll also have an incredible time. Many volunteers say that their experience volunteering is not just fun but life-changing too. Volunteer