Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
123.8636445
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 8, 2014

more

June 8, 2014

I visited an adoption event sponsored by this group and decided to apply for one of their dogs. My son and my other dog were with me, and the dog we wanted to adopt responded positively to all of us, especially my dog. I filed the application on Saturday and was told on Monday that they had not chosen us, but would not tell us why. When the dog was still available for adoption the next week I applied again, thinking there had been a mistake. Now I have been told they will not let me adopt her or any other dog! And although I have emailed and even left phone messages for them, they will not tell me why. Other rescue groups have approved my applications. I think this is highly unprofessional and discourteous at the least. Very disappointing and frustrating.
The dog is still available for adoption.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell potential adopters why their applications were denied.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is the worst rescue I have ever contacted to adopt a dog. I was approved too quickly and they didn't even check my references. Their address is a post office box in Bethesda, but they told me the only way to meet the dog was to go to a show in P.G. County and I live in upper Montgomery County. Via email, I was told that I had to bring my family and my current dog to the show before they would proceed. I replied that I would like I would like to meet the dog myself first prior to driving my dog an hour away, putting him thru the stress, then an hour back home. I was promptly told no, why did I even bother sending in the application. Then "Sam" became extremely rude, insulting and even stated "felt sorry for my dog".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut them down...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

My family and I were going to adopt a dog and make a sizeable donation but our experience was so HORRIFIC dealing with this organization - I am compelled to contact all the businesses that allow them to host their adoption shows and warn them that it is a scam.

Most of the dogs I have seen
on Pet Finder attributed to this organization - seem to be un-adopted for years - now I know why - after we were so rudely rejected. We have a great home, in a great Bethesda neighborhood and my husband and I LOVE dogs like our own children. We would always walk them and SAID we would be willing to fence in a couple areas to make a complete fenced in back yard.

The fact that we were rejected (I'm assuming because we did not have the fenced in yard) - is wrong because when you ask WHY you were rejected - NO ONE from this shady organization will email you back to tell you what you did wrong. You get NO CHANCE to remedy a situation to make the home right for the dog.

My husband and I are horrified that an organization that gives the APPEARANCE of helping dogs and takes in donations - is doing more HURT to dogs by hoarding them at their organization and refusing most applicants.

Dogs deserve good homes where they can be members of a family - not members of a HUGE HOARD by power-trippling jerks who reject applicants and won't tell them why or (as we are shocked to read in other reviews - respond to people with rude, cold, nasty reply emails).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the government come in and rescue these hoarded dogs and put this shady and un-ethical operation out of business.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 21, 2013

more

January 21, 2013

From the reviews I have read and the experience a friend has had with this organization recently, I wouldn't recommend them to walk my dog around the block much less adopt from them. I do not believe it is their intent in any way to provide safe and loving homes for the dogs they rescue. Their communications are rude, non-specific, and in no way reflect a desire to give a dog a forever home. Look no further at this organization - just move to another where you will be treated with respect and dignity. This group does not look at prospective adopters as well as they supposedly care for their rescued dogs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a big fan of Best Dawg Rescue. Not only does it do incredible work by saving dogs that shelters would put down (and other rescues don't select), but it has guts. The whole point of rescuing dogs is to get it right for them the second time around. I am a donor and also have volunteered for years in the rescue world, so I know what goes on. More and more so-called rescue organizations wrongly adopt to anyone who wants a dog. Regarding a review from someone who talks about how devastated the kids were not to get a dog and that the prior dog was hit by a car, I am sure Best Dawg Rescue did the right thing. It takes guts to tell someone why they were not chosen. It doesn't take guts to post a nasty vendetta-review. So hopefully Best Dawg Rescue will continue to do exactly what it is doing. When you do it right, you will get complaints, but wise people get it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

DO NOT adopt from them, DO NOT support them with your time or money, and DO NOT support businesses which support this group.

This group has a LONG history of bizarre emails to foster/adoptive families and shady business practices. A simple Google search turns up quotes like "Your dog is
dead...it wasn't a car's fault. It was yours. Something didn't happen to him; he was dependent on your vigilance and you failed him." (To a brokenhearted family with TWO YOUNG CHILDREN, no less!)

They have negative reviews on PLEASE do your research on this organization before working with them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Completely eliminate it. This is an unacceptable way to treat people. Guilt mongering doesn't help a dog OR their cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Word of mouth. And wow - a basic google search turns up negative reviews on ripoff.com, yelp.com....

August 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with Best DAWG Rescue for ~6 months and I am very impressed by the level of dedication among the volunteers and the small management group. I have volunteered with other rescues and our local shelter and this seems to be the best run rescue group I've worked with. No one takes a salary, all time and effort are donated. The dogs are very well cared for and great care is taken to match the right dog to the right adopter(s).

Years ago I heard a well known dog behaviorist say that if you really want to help save unwanted dogs send your donations to your local "mom & pop" organizations. They are the dogs' first line of defense and the big, national organizations, while doing good work, are already extremely well funded. Since then I've been concentrating my efforts in that direction and Best DAWG Rescue is the best group I've found.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the care taken with the dogs while they're with DAWG and the great care taken in finding the right home for each dog based on personalities of both dogs and adopters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My first thought is that I'd like to expand their efforts to additional dogs. But I'd still want to keep the "personal touch" the rescue shows to each dog in their care now.

August 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Committed group of people who use their own time, money and vision to help dogs who have been abused find comfort and caring homes.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen the dogs they rescue before and after. I wish all abandoned dogs had such advocates.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish them the best.

August 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have adopted from Best Dawg and I am impressed with their passion and compassion for senior and disabled dogs. My adopted dog was found on the side of a road by a volunteer around the Christmas holidays five years ago. She had been previously injured and did not have all of the sparkle of a younger dog or the years left. However, she was a true joy for me, magnificent in her spirit. Honey ran with the gusto of a three legged dog, rolled in the snow, grass - you name it. She kept wonderful company and was the first to greet a new person. Best Dawg gave her that life. Thank you for caring for the dogs who might otherwise go unnoticed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen first hand their committment to dogs with medical problems. They are willing to give second chances with medical interventions. Best Dawg doesn't return dogs to the shelter if they have issues after they agree to help them, unlike some other groups. Once a Best Dawg, always a Best Dawg!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

August 9, 2011

more

August 9, 2011

The dogs are truly loved and cared for. They are never abandoned no matter what medical problems they may have. For example, there was a dog who had suffered severe injuries in a fire. DAWG provided medical care, including hyperbaric therapy, until this dog was healed, and was ultimately adopted. I have been a volunteer for about 4 years and find it very gratifying to see dogs, many who were abandoned by former owners, find good permanent homes.
As many dogs as possible are in foster homes until adopted, and each dog has volunteer at the adoption shows. There is a lot of personal attention.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Wonderful homes were found for many dogs. There is much effort to match dogs and prospective owners so that the adoption will be compatible and permanent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cannot think of anything.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers