Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2013

This a great organization in that it provides summer jobs for youth who are faced with drugs and gangs daily. By having a little money in their pockets they can resist the negative element of the neig... more

July 19, 2013

The BEST youth are working like bees this summmer! They have painted fences, decks and dug trenches!
This is the BEST program hands down.
MS Jo Watts

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get more grants and money. They had trouble because the tools kept breaking down. They need better heavy duty gas weed eaters and blowers. The battery powered ones they had didn't last 10 minutes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

This a great organization in that it provides summer jobs for youth who are faced with drugs and gangs daily. By having a little money in their pockets they can resist the negative element of the neighborhood.
BEST also connects in a positive way, neighbors with teens and they gain mutual
respect for each other!
BEST is the best for youth and the community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2013

more

May 30, 2013

Having purchased a home in Oak Park, I had no money to spare on hiring anyone to help me. Then B.E.S.T. appeared! I found a little flyer left in my fencing and contacted them right away. For three days I had the most well mannered youth show up on time and ready to help me beautify my home. They painted the trim on my porch, as well as the porch floor making it so nice to come home to! They also did some landscaping which would have taken me weeks to do on my own. Building Empowerment Skills Today is what they do every summer for the youth in the Oak Park community and it benefits everyone. I encourage those who are able to support this non-profit in any way they are able.
Lisa Linares
Oak Park resident

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

B.E.S.T is truly the best non profit organization for me as a volunteer, and board member. I desired an opportunity to serve youth and community with skills and experience I have attained over the years as a corporate employee, business owner, and educator. As a facilitator for B.E.S.T skills workshops, I am privileged to design, coordinate, and facilitate workshops determined by the youth themselves. It is amazing to hear the youth articulate what they want to know more about, such as avoiding gang and drug violence, dealing with peer pressure and bullying in school. It is also a tremendous reward to know youth return year after year to participate in the Summer Youth Program, wherein they experience new skill workshops and touch the lives of their neighbors by helping to beautify their homes and yards. If I could only volunteer for one non profit , B.E.S.T would be the one. Jo Watts (Mama Jo) has laid the foundation for neighborhood youth to excel in school, overcome obstacles, and develop positive relationships with their peers, and older neighbors. I believe Mama Jo has a perfect recipe for building community, and I am happy to be a part of her dream.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I had the opportunity to volunteer with BEST and see the great work they do for Sacramento youth. This is a great organization to build job and life skills for Sacramento youth. The youth in this program benefit from enjoyable activities and work experience with other youth in the area. Josephine Watts is a very dedicated and compassionate community developer who has had a career working with kids. She runs an awesome program to help Sacramento youth and I recommend to youth in these neighborhoods the opportunity to participate in BEST.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

My son has had the opprtunity to work with the Best Program for 4 years this is a great organization for our youth and community, this program hae been a great learning experience it has taught him team work, respnsiblity, and great skills the he will benefit in the future to come

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

My son participated in the BEST program for 3 years and this program provided him with an opportunity to learn and gain skills needed to assist him later in his future. His skills gained from the BEST program also led to another great opportunity for him with a local contractor that works closely with the BEST program. He has worked on call with this contractor for the past two years. This a great organization in the Sacramento community and deserves the funds needed to assist them with sustainability. I agree that the BEST program is one of the best programs for youth in the Sacramento community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers