Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 12, 2014

more

November 12, 2014

Bess the Book Bus and Jennifer Frances have visited all the schools that I've worked at in the past 8 years. She has given away close to probably 1,000 books in 3 schools in which I have taught. She does more (almost single-handedly) than some larger organizations. She is extremely accommodating and flexible when it comes to scheduling. My schools have been so appreciative to have her support and generosity. We love Bess & Jenn!
April 6, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 6, 2012

I give away books on the school bus I drive in the San Francisco Bay Area. Bess met with me on her National Tour and generously donated several boxes of appropriate books for me to give as I do, to individual students on a day-by-day basis, as well as GREAT picks of hers for me to pass on to a couple of local after-school learning programs. She is a passionate promoter of love of literacy. Her enthusiasm and dedication are infectious, her generosity of time, energy and resources inspirational. I can't think of a better way to allocate your donation dollars than to Back the Bus!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The director of the program spoke to me and wrote a note for me and Bess describing the impact of one particular books a group of her students read together one day (Bess donated multiple copies of a few titles, lending those titles to shared reading): the girls in the group met on following days to re-read and discuss the ramifications of the ideas brought up in the book for themselves and their futures. These girls were 8-11 years old. The book sparked insightful, deep, life-changing discussion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get her a REAL Bus! You know, like I drive! A 30-40' Blue Bird or something!! Then, of course, get her licensed to drive the thing. Or hire me to do it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I read an article in a magazine several years ago, looked her up online, found her website, her facebook page, and have been following her since. I've shared articles and academic studies I've read with her on the topic of Literacy, especially early childhood literacy.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I give away more books than I did before I read about and corresponded with her. I have become known in some circles of students in my District as the driver who has books on the bus all the time -- they seem affronted when i run out periodically -- I buy them at thrift stores, mostly (am known at a couple who sell them to me for 10 cents apiece b/c they know what I do). I am more inspired to pursue early childhood literacy by putting books in the hands of parents of pre-school children because of Bess's story; I still dreams of and do research for a program to do so in my home town because of her in the coming years.

March 25, 2012

more

March 25, 2012

Bess the Book Bus came to our town and had event at the Boys and Girls Club--after a darling little girl got off the bus, she asked very timidly--"Can I really keep these books?" The kids were thrilled to get the books and Jennifer helping them pick out just the right book to interest them. She isprovidint such a wonder resourse to area without book mobiles or easy access for these kids to get to a library. All the children and parents are grinning from ear to ear-it's like Christmas for them! And the parents are thrilled to see their children get a book of their own. Cannot say enough great things about this organization--I just hope she continues her outreach!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 25, 2012

Bess donated over 100 books to Pepin Academies annual Camp-Read-A-Lot. The children were thrilled with the opportunity to be able to take home a book of their very own. In addition, Jen was a pleasure!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 24, 2012

My 13 year old son was given a Gift Certificate through Bess the Book Bus and Transitions for an eye exam and glasses. As a parent, you want your child to succeed and exceed in school and eye sight and literacy go hand in hand. Because of the G.C my son was able to get glasses and confidence. In return for the G.C my son wanted to volunteer with Bess The Book Bus and give back in some way for the glasses. He went out to the Transitions Golf Tournament in Tampa and volunteered. He came home a changed boy! He said to me," mom seeing those kids so excited about getting a book to read was overwhelming! I saw myself in each one of those kids, and to be able to put a smile on all those faces was the most amazing feeling I've ever had! Bess The Book Bus is way more than just a bus or a person giving books away. It's touching each and every spirit in those kids and giving them happiness that maybe they haven't had in a while." I've never seen my son so moved. He wants to volunteer as much as possible through the summer. Thank You Bess for touching my life and my son's life in a way that neither of us had experienced!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2012

more

March 24, 2012

My name is Concetta M Payne author of four children's books. One is very dear to my heart "Bess the Book Bus Book" co-authored by Freda Roberts. We are dedicated supporters of Bess the Book Bus, Inc. With Jennifer E Frances' endorsement our book was created. Townsend Press is a major sponsor of Bess the Book Bus, Inc. When he received a copy of our book he thought it was a great idea, and it would make sense to include the book starring Bess herself. Townsend Press financed the printing of 5000 copies to Jennifer, and it was our pleasure to donate our royalties. Twenty-five percent of the proceeds from the Bess book sales will benefit Jennifer's cause. It has been proven that early reading habits directly relates to scholastic achievement.

Photos

Videos

Bess the Book Bus

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2012

more

March 24, 2012

I am proud to be on the board of Bess the Book Bus. Bess is a non-profit mobile literacy outreach dedicated to getting books into the households of children who would otherwise go without. There is ample research that shows kids without books in the home are significantly more likely to spend their entire lives below the poverty line. This organization is staffed by ONE person, the visionary and founder, Jennifer Frances. Jennifer has build this organization based on a strong desire to build a love of reading in children similar to the one her grandmother, Bess, gave to her. Bess is based in Tampa, FL but is on the road across the United States annually. In 2011 she placed over 50,000 books into the hands of children in over 20 states. Her budget is minimal and focuses on maintaining the bus and keeping it fueled (the major expense). When you factor in the in-kind book donations along with those purchased, Bess distributed over $2M in product last year. It is difficult to really explain the magical quality that Bess has in these kids' lives... they light up when the bus pulls up and they are allowed to climb aboard and select their very own book. Jennifer also conducts 'read alouds' with the kids as part of her program... and the kids love it because she approaches her reading from the perspective of the child that is listening... she really understands them. You can experience Bess by going to her web site: bessthebookbus.org. This is one organization that you can have confidence is focused on the bottom line... helping children explore the world between the covers of a book.

Videos

A Good Book

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I attended a wonderful event at a local elementary school celebrating Dr. Seuss' birthday. This particular event was actually a book drive where children donated books to be passed along to other children who need them. It was deeply moving. I also have seen Bess in action at back to school events where kids are given books along with necessary school supplies that they would otherwise not have to support their educational needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find additional streams of income to help keep Bess confidently on the road. Bess is a Dodge Sprinter and books are heavy. The current Bess is long in the tooth and therefore costing more to maintain than what would be spent on a new vehicle. Bess needs more sponsors to help give her a reliable income to support the purchase of a new vehicle and to keep the organization running without significant financial stress.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I've been a friend of the founder, Jennifer Frances, since high school and have had the privilege of watching her tireless efforts to build this organization from an idea into a program that genuinely gives joy to children who unfortunately do not experience enough of that emotion in their young lives.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Replacing the vehicle. Bess needs a new Mercedes Sprinter 3500 fitted with auxiliary air conditioning, tow package and built out with book shelving. The estimated cost is @ $60,000.00

What is its top priority in the long run?

Additional stable funding sources to support car payments, maintenance and fuel expenses.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers