Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I am a student at Berkshire Community College (BCC). I am majoring in Environmental Science. I became involved with B.E.A.T. during the spring semester of 2013 by taking an Environmental Advocacy class that Bruce Winn & Charlie Weinstein taught together at the college. I soon began finding ways to get involved with BEAT when I saw how committed Bruce was to Environmental Justice and Sustainable Land Management. While tagging along and trying to spread the word about B.E.A.T. in the community, Bruce and Jane Winn made me aware of a hotel that someone was trying to build dangerously close to, and in between, wetlands on Dan Fox Dr. in Pittsfield, MA. With B.E.A.T., I went and participated in site visits, attended Conservation Commission hearings on the matter, watched them help citizens of the community appeal the city's decision to the Department of Environmental Protection, and I saw the decision to let the hotel be built, not just in an environmentally sensitive area, but just up and across the street from a giant hotel (Patriot Suites) that lays dormant, DENIED! The "World" needs more organizations like this, we really do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand, duplicate it in every state, and make it bigger...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I became associated with BEAT through the Keeping Track program which they sponsor. This important program trains citizen scientists to recognize tracks and signs of wildlife, and to interpert, record, and monitor these signs. This information is critical for knowing local biodiversity and it can be used for local conservation planning. Beat also sponsors programs to monitor stream crossings, for river clean ups, vernal pool certification, monitoring movement of animals at road crossings, and educating the community about local conservation issues. It amazes my how much BEAT is able to accomplish on a small budget and with a small staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more financial assistance for it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Berkshire Environmental Action Team...no doubt in my mind, the #1 non-profit - that supports and fights
for environmental justice...keeps our rivers clean...keeps people informed...and much more! I am on disability, so i am only able to do ...what i can do...so i donate my time and
resources to Bruce and Jane whenever possible....acting as a cameraman on Berkshire Environmental Action TODAY-our T.V. show on PCTV and in the field during the Housatonic River cleanups...etc...there is more to do than can be done with existing resources! Please donate time/ money or whatever you can to help this worthy cause...Lets work together to help save the environment!!! David T.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not "change" anything...just try to help enlist more volunteers, workers ...get them the financial assistance they need to "GET IT DONE", and keep on doing it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Berkshire Environmental Action Team (BEAT) is an absolutely wonderful nonprofit serving our community and the environment with passion, commitment, and respect for different points of view. I have been involved with BEAT for the better part of 7 years as a volunteer, donor, and a community member with experience in the field. I have long been inspired by Jane Winn's organizational approach and persistence, as well as her willingness to speak truth to power no matter how many times she has to do so. She never fails to impress me with her astute research and preparedness in community meetings, particularly those relating to the Housatonic River clean up and ongoing negotiations with GE and the EPA. Her honesty and integrity are completely integrated with BEAT's mission, directives, and culture. This is truly a model organization committed to preserving the environment creatively and intelligently. BEAT's outreach and coverage are excellent. Our local environment would be far less clean and secure and the community less well informed had BEAT not been here working tirelessly on its behalf, year after year, no matter what the challenges.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything. I only regret not having more time of my own to work with Jane and BEAT.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

There is always something new to learn from Jane and BEAT, whether on the river, in a vernal pool, tracking wildlife, improving culverts,or attending the monthly GreenDrinks discussions on native and invasive species, carbon fuels, melting sea-ice, wind and solar energy, biodiesel, hydro-fracking, and the Keystone XL pipeline. BEAT works collaboratively with the Housatonic Valley Association, churches, camps and others to bring us all closer to appreciating the environment and how to take care of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been occasionally volunteering and attending presentations with BEAT for a couple years now. They are enthusiastic, hard working, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to work with. I became involved in monitoring turtle mortality via road kill with them a few years ago. This project helps the highway department know where potential problems are with animal crossings, and they use this knowledge to make roads safer for both drivers and animals crossing the road.

From river clean-ups to vernal pool identification to highway culvert monitoring, they truly put an all-out effort into improving our environment in the Berkshires.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with BEAT for 4 years and never cease to be amazed by the energy and enthusiasm that Jane and Bruce bring to to organization. From clean ups to environmental education, wildlife protection and more they work to improve and protect the Berkshire environment. It is a wonderful organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We have had the pleasure of helping out with a few BEAT cleanup days of the Housatonic River. Each time, the events have been well-organized, well-attended and excellently-directed. The results are always amazing. So much refuse is removed from the river and surrounding watershed! We would be remiss if we did not mention the immense effort put forth by BEAT to help educate the public about environmental issues. BEAT makes a difference in our community every day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

BEAT is at the center of much of the environmental advocacy protecting Berkshire County. They interact with the public through a regular comprehensive newsletter and monthly "Green Drinks" gatherings in various locations, plus occasional events like river cleanup days. Every environmental group in the area seems to reference them as a standard of excellence. About a year ago, Jane Winn, BEAT's director, helped me connect with other conservation organizations working in the Berkshires. As a result, I have since volunteered with the Housatonic Valley Association, Hoosic River Watershed Association, and the Hoosic River Revival Coalition. BEAT provided some of the equipment I regularly use in this work, including a camera, wading boots, and 100 foot tape measure - all important tools for doing stream survey projects. BEAT is highly respected as a keystone organization among regional environmental organizations, and is heavily relied upon for their expertise and tenacious defense of natural places. No organization I know of is more energetic or dedicated to the environment, and the Berkshires have benefited tremendously from BEAT's tireless efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have worked w/ BEAT for at least 7 year, most of that doing mammal surveys. BEAT sponsors training through another nonprofit (Keeping Track) so that citizen scientists (me for one) have the expertise to monitor areas for different mammals based on tracks and signs the animals leave. This work fits in nicely with BEATS environmental work. Different teams set up transects and walk them 4 times a year. The tracks/signs are documented and the paper documentation filed at BEAT. This info helps support conservation of land. Recently we have worked in conjunction w/ Berkshire Natural Resources which purchases land and conservation easement. Being able to present landowners with a more detailed picture of what is happening on their property can help to tip the balance toward land conservation. Jane Winn/BEAT also teaches vernal pool monitoring which is another important way to identify areas to conserve. Salamander and frog reproduction is critical to chain of nature. Finally, I have also helped w/ Steam crossing documentation- movement of animals, amphibians in particular can be disrupted by road culverts which block movement Jane and Bruce are tireless in their work for the environment. My one constructive message which I have given to Jane on other occasions is to ask for money- not as much as the national environmental organizations but more than once a year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers