Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.863645
Write A Review
September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am in avid theater-goer in the San Francisco Bay Area; I have subscriptions to SHN, A.C.T. and Berkeley Rep, and also regularly attend productions at the Shelton Theater, Gough St. Playhouse, BATS, and other small houses in San Francisco. I also have attended many theatrical productions in other cities, including New York, Los Angeles, Dallas, Chicago, Seattle, London, Sydney, and Auckland. Nowhere in all of these places have I seen more consistently compelling, innovative, thought-provoking, and well-done productions than I have at Berkeley Rep. I learn something every time I go to a Berkeley Rep show, but it isn't that painful or unpleasant kind of learning, like taking your medicine. Because the shows are consistently well-staged, well-acted, well-directed, and well-produced, I enjoy watching the productions AND learning from them. I find myself thinking about them long after I've gone home, and bringing them up in conversations with others. I have been to many shows on and off Broadway and in London's West End, but I have to say that the best shows I've ever seen have been at Berkeley Rep.
September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Berkeley Rep represents the best of Bay Area theater and more. I've been attending plays since the late 70s and it has always produced consistently remarkable theater. No need to go to New York, we have Broadway-caliber theater right here in the Bay Area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The first play I ever saw at The Berkeley Rep Theatre was Samuel Becket's "Waiting for Godot." This was back in 1989. As an English Major I had of course studied the play before, and I knew it was a modern classic. What I experienced that evening was a respectful handling of a classic play, but a stunning example of live theater at its best. From the spare stage design, to the electric performances, The Berkeley Rep brought Becket to life it way that was both heart-breaking and life affirming at the same time.

I have seen many, many productions at Berkeley Rep since then, and it remains for me the company that most embodies what theater can and should be.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The actual theater experience is the best in the theater-rich bay area, buy beyond that, Berkeley Rep embodies the spirit of the community. At my level of donation, one of the perks is that I get to donate tickets to a charity of my choice so in addition to enjoying excellent entertainment I am able to make someone else happy or participate in another fundraiser.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The plays are often great and always an interesting experience. The outreach programs for teachers and students is a great resource in the community. We need quality arts!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We love Berkeley Rep. The professional plays and variety of productions never fail to entertain and give us the opportunity to explore issues that affect us personally or globally

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Berkeley Rep always does the unexpected, but An Illiad surpassed them all. A one-man show on a bare stage talking about the Trojan was did not sound promising, but I was captivated after 30 seconds and almost didn't blink for the 100 uninterrupted minutes of the play. Brilliantly written, fresh writing and clear delivery, passion and emotion and humor, with some verbal fireworks included, it was a stellar experience to see a master at work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Berkeley Rep is one of the top theatre companies in the Bay Area. Excellent play selections and acting. Innovative new works premiered. Wonderful guest artists doing solo shows. The smaller of the two theaters is an intimate space which, depending on the production, can make you feel part of the play. I especially appreciate the collaboration with Oregon Shakespeare Festival to bring commissioned works to the Bay Area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers