Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I lost my oldest son Ryan in August of 06. He was Killed outside of Tikrit Iraq. Our family was devistated, Ryan who had just been home two months earlier and was two weeks from returning home left a unfillable hole in the hearts of his family. Being There Reaching Out offered me a place that I didn't have to explaine how I felt and gave me hugs and love that was second to none. I have developed great friendships in this group that no one ever wanted to join but now that we are a part of it .......would never want to be apart from the wonderful people and honor that this orginization brings to our families.

After 7 years I consider these families part of my own family. Judith Singer and her board of directors put their hearts and souls into everything they plan for us. I know that with the right funding and help from others that care about our families this orginization is on its way to being the best families of the fallen orginizaiton in any state. I wish that every state had a BTRO that they could be a part of.

A truely special orginizaiton with people that care about us and love us right where we are.....and sometimes that is not a very happy place to be.

I would urge any family member that has lost someone that served in the Military either KIA - DIS - or because of the open wounds from WAR - to join us in this orginizaiton to be lifted from the pit of hell with loving and caring arms of people who know what it feels like to SACRIFICE!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

inspire a BTRO group in EVERY State!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

My son was killed in action on 01-12-2008,
since that time I have had nothing but continued support from the organization
listed


Judith Singer an the other women an men who work thru this program
reach out an touch everyone in need of support ,love, an guidance
From
programs like WALK FOR THE FALLEN
to special events

I would continue on but I am just amazed at their hard work an effort to go out of their way

PEACE AN LOVE TO ALL IN THIS ORGANIZATION

Cynthia M. Allam
mother of

Private Keith E. Lloyd
KIA JAN 12-2008

ROUGH RIDERS FORT HOOD TEXAS ONE OF THE BEST

AMEN :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 10, 2010

I am a member of Being There Reaching Out and it is the most wonderful organization. I lost my son to the war in Iraq and they have helped with the pain of losing a child. We gather to share our pai... more

October 17, 2013

Being There Reaching Out is a Wisconsin group formed for families of Wisconsin Fallen Heroes. This is an amazing group that no one wants to be part of. As a group we share our loss of our heroes together and no one judges us. We are all in the same boat. Its a group I am so glad I found and so glad to be a part of. I am so thankful for all of them to help us on the journey of love and loss.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 10, 2010

I am a member of Being There Reaching Out and it is the most wonderful organization. I lost my son to the war in Iraq and they have helped with the pain of losing a child. We gather to share our pain, memories, and most of all being there for each other. This is a group no one wants to be a part of but once you are they are family. The group helps everyone deal with the pain of losing a loved one to war. We are all at different stages of our grief but somehow never having met each other prior to this we have become friends. Our goal is to have our loss never be forgotten, because having paid the ultimate sacrifice is something we live with each and everyday and this organization is there for us.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

sharing my loss and everyone helping me thru the horrible pain of losing a child to war.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Being there-reaching out has been a great experience for my wife and I. We are part of the organization which you don't want to be member as a Gold Star parent. We lost our Son in Iraq in 2005. The loss has been a big hole in our lives. BT-RO has given us hope thru supporting all the Gold Star families, weather you are a parent, spouse, son, daughter, brother, sister, uncle, aunt, grandparent. BT-RO gives us the support and helps open up to share our issues and grief. All the members embrace our ups and downs and can relate to our issues. We can lift each other up at times. The leadership is excellent and treat all the membership with the upmost respect.

Don and Kate Jansky

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Having an organization that schedules events for those of us who have lost military family members is so much more important than I can even put into words. Having others around you who truly understand your feelings and can help you deal with them has been the most amazing gift. After the loss of my brother, my mom joined BT/RO. I never thought it would be something I was interested in, but I have found it to be the most amazing group of people I have ever met. Having group activities for the Gold Star families helps us in so many ways, and we are all able to talk about our loved ones in a way we can't always do on a regular basis. It's a sad way for such a wonderful group of people to come together, but I feel so fortunate to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

We have been a member for three years.Our experience with BT/RO has been very heartfelt. Even though our son was killed on leave in a car accident here at home, this group has helped us deal with the loss of our son and also connected us with others going through the same pain. I thank this group a million times over for all the help they have given us. My husband who has a hard time talking to others has done a great job with this group, it has helped him very much. I could go on forever on what this group means to us, just want them to know they are our back bone.. Love to all if them and they really dont get enough credit for what they do... Thanks Lori and Scott

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing they do a great job getting us all to know each other for support...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Shortly after our son, CPL Stephen W. Castner, was killed in Iraq in July of 2006, we were invited to join BT-RO. I cannot put into words what the various associations with others who have lost their sons and daughters has meant to us. When I meet them, I know that they know exactly what I an feeling. I don't have to explain anything to them. They know. I cannot overlook the tremendous effort that Judith Singer has put into this organization. She started it, and she is the motivating force behind the activities. We all owe Judith more than a huge thank you. I am honored to count her as a true friend as a direct result of my association with this organization. This organization is unique. It has helped me move a few steps closer to accepting my son's death.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been a member of Being There Reaching Out for ten years now, since my step-son was killed in Iraq. Since he was only the fourth Wisconsin soldier killed in Iraq, BTRO has been a big part of our healing for ten years. Every year Judith Singer, one of the original founders, flawlessly, and seemingly effortlessly, organizes the most thoughtful and meaningful events for the Families of the Fallen.

Judith has quietly amassed an army of volunteers and people who show up at our events to support us and help us in any way they can. It has been wonderful to see how people with ties to the military help each other. And we help others, as evidenced by the fledgling Fischer House, which is being built on the Milwaukee VA grounds, as well as Dry Hootch coffee shops which service Veterans with PTSD.

There are just so many wonderful people who have touched our lives because of BTRO, including Joe Campbell, one of the founding members, and Dorothy Moore, our President. Joe knows many Vietnam era Veterans, and Dorothy knows many in state and local government, and the support for the families who have experienced terrible tragedies really helps to heal us.

BTRO makes a difference every single day.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

Being a member of BTRO has been a very healing time for me. To see these families connect and be able to talk to people who have been there makes all the gatherings so worth being a part of. BTRO is not just an organization it is a family in every way possible. You can just feel the love when everyone Is together. Like I said earlier we are FAMILY

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

So far I can see no changes

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I thought this group was just for parents. They coordinators lovingly pursued me and my son and welcomed us into the group with loving arms. We have been attending gatherings regularly in the past year and are incredibly grateful for their ability to meet us where we are. I feel we have permission to connect as much or as little as we want to without pressure. I still don't know how they found us (or how we found them) but I'm so glad that we did.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers