Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.939395
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I found BBF when I was looking for a rescue for a gaited horse. I have since become a big fan. They do rescue right and always have the best interest of the horses at heart. BBF is one of a handful of rescues that I totally support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

Beech Brook Farm Equine Rescue is a wonderful rescue in South Eastern Connecticut that saves horses, and donkeys and perhaps a few other things. I know that save the heart and souls of the animals that they save and the time and energy that is put out by the founder, Ms. Deborah Finco is amazing. The volunteers work endless hours to fill the void of love that many of these animals have not had.

The location is in scenic and beautiful Mystic, Connecticut on property that perfect for the farm. Times are tough for everyone, but especially non-profit organizations such as this. If you love animals this is the place to make a tax-deductible donation so they can continue to do the great work in having animals from abuse and neglect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bless them with endless money for the cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

BBF Equine Rescue rescued my 2 newly-adopted mini donkeys from the Camelot auction lat Dec. They took wonderful care of these 2 yearlings and had them gelded. As a result, I am blessed to have these equine friends to greet me with little brays each and every morning. The adoption process was thorough but straight-forward and the adoption fee was very reasonable. Please consider adopting before buying, and check out the horses and donkeys available at BBF :-)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 14, 2012

Although it is small, Beech Brook Farm is large in spirit. Deborah Finco and her volunteers are truly dedicated to their equines and always put their needs before their own. more

May 16, 2013

Beech Brook Farm is an idyllic equine rescue in Mystic Connecticut dedicated to saving equines from neglect & abusive situations & provide them with a loving home for life.

I found Beech Brook three years ago when I was searching for an equine rescue in Connecticut to donate funds to and
was happy to find such a dedicated crew. The founder, Deb Finco and her crew of volunteers work tirelessly to save these equines from abuse and possible slaughter.

Just wish I could do more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more money, land and volunteers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2012

Although it is small, Beech Brook Farm is large in spirit. Deborah Finco and her volunteers are truly dedicated to their equines and always put their needs before their own.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2012

more

December 9, 2012

I found out about beech brook 2 years ago I saw something about it on tv And ever since I found out about it I've wanted to volunteer I started in September of 2012 the minute I set foot there I was in love the first horse I saw was gypsy then I saw tucker and It was love at first sight I met with Kathleen she is the volunteer coordinator she is the best she sat and helped me with all my questions and paper work we groomed out tucker he is a angel the most loving horse we cleaned one of the pens the one I was in had Chance and Quinn both very sweet horses Chance came right up to check me out made sure I was ok then just watched me she would come over every now and then to let me pet on her and rub her neck till this day she does that she has become my buddy I love her all of them really so much every animal at beech brook farm is loved and very well cared for Everyone I know who volunteers here love the animals yes the farm is small but is it big with love it's clean and is very well cared for by everyone i dont even know what i can say about Deborah I don't know how she does it she has a full time job and family with out her many horses wouldn't have had the lives they have now she has saved many and will save many more I am very proud to be apart of this amazing nonprofit and hope to volunteer here for the rest of my life I never want to leave

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

My husband and I adopted our wonderful little Merlin in August of 2011. We were so impressed with Deborah and her professional manor yet caring ways of taking care of all the animals. When I first visited with a friend, Deborah took us on a tour and introduced us to all of the animals at the farm. She told us their names and stories.......some quite sad. Really felt she knew these animals and their needs even if some were fairly new to her. What she does for these animals is truly amazing! I admire her HARD work and dedication! Merlin is happy, healthy, and fluffy! He spends his days keeping up with the big boys at home or out on the trails. He brightens the days of nursing home resident on special trips. Sometimes residents will come her to visit him. He makes the children smile when he swims in the lake and goes under the water and comes up like a rhino spewing water out his nostrils. He is the best friend to our rescue dog crazy Karma. But most endearing he has made a horse lover out of my husband!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Having been a horse lover my entire life, I now have the opportunity to volunteer at such a wonderful farm and rescue...the people are so great, and the horses know we are there to help...there are donkeys that have been rescued along with a lone alpaca...but my time spent is, I feel, time well spent....thank you, Beech Brook Farm, for accepting me into your family! I have been involved with non-profits in the past, but none that takes such pride in what they do for animals that have been mistreated, not properly cared for, or at auction ready to go to slaughter...I'm glad you are here....and even more glad that I can help!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 26, 2011

I adopted beautiful Bella from Beech Brook Farm in April of 2010. I had been looking at several rescue barns for several months before finding Beech Brook Farm. What struck me about Beech Brook was ... more

November 26, 2012

I adopted beautiful Bella from Beech Brook Farm in April of 2010. I had been looking at several rescue barns for several months before finding Beech Brook Farm. What struck me about Beech Brook was the amazing and tireless commitment of Deb Finco (the owner) and the volunteers. The farm was clean and the horses extremely well cared for in every way. Deb’s love for each horse was amazing. She knew each one’s medical background, personality, riding abilities and ground manners! Deb was up front about the good and the bad. Bella was one of the lucky ones. Unless more people get involved in either volunteering, sponsoring, fostering or adopting Deb will be limited in the amount of horses she can save. Over 90,000 horses are shipped out of the United States to be slaughtered. Bella is perfect in every way and it stuns me that she was hours away from being shipped to her death. During the past months since I adopted Bella, I continually hear from people “Bella is so lucky that you found her.” I always smile because I am the lucky one. She has made my life more fulfilled and meaningful. I would strongly recommend visiting the farm, getting to know the wonderful horses and meeting an inspirational woman. Most of us talk about making a difference in the world Deb Finco does it every day- with a smile on her face. Kristen Song, CT

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2011

I adopted beautiful Bella from Beech Brook Farm in April of 2010. I had been looking at several rescue barns for several months before finding Beech Brook Farm. What struck me about Beech Brook was the amazing and tireless commitment of Deb Finco (the owner) and the volunteers. The farm was clean and the horses extremely well cared for in every way. Deb’s love for each horse was amazing. She knew each one’s medical background, personality, riding abilities and ground manners! Deb was up front about the good and the bad. Bella was one of the lucky ones. Bella is perfect in every way and it stuns me that she was hours away from being shipped to her death. I would strongly recommend visiting the farm, getting to know the wonderful horses and meeting an inspirational woman. Most of us talk about making a difference in the world Deb Finco does it every day- with a smile on her face.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adopting the best rescue horse ever! Beautiful Bella enriches my life everyday and makes me a better person!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing-very well run.

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Beech Brook is a place where you feel like you make a difference. Training is top notch, safety a priority, and interaction with the horses encouraged! They have a volunteer page on FB where we can all chat and share great pics, and figure out new ways to contribute. Deborah is thoroughly involved and loves to share what she knows to anyone who asks. Money is always tight with rescues, so anyone with time, talent or money to give would find this a worthwhile cause! Love BBF!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been donating to Beech Brook Farm Equine Rescue for about 3 years. I am very careful about checking out 501(c)3's and BBFER passed muster with flying colors. I have contributed several thousand dollars annually, always in response to a real need and not merely a regular request which is so common with some charities. Deborah Finco has a solid business plan (not all that common for animal rescues, unfortunately) and while she also works a full-time job, she devotes a huge amount of personal time to helping the animals she rescues to rehabilitate and rehome them. I am not in a position to adopt a horse, but BBFER gives me a lot of satisfaction that I'm providing a level of help to horses that will be rehomed once they have been given a second chance by Deborah. Frankly, I consider it money very well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

muck, groom horses Volunteer