Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
November 11, 2013

more

November 11, 2013

I first was introduced to Becky's Fund while volunteering as a model in their 2009 Walk This Way fashion show. Although I was a victim of abuse as a child and had developed PTSD from the trauma, I had not been able to comprehend the common factors from my past experiences that were related to domestic violence. A few months after being introduced to Becky’s Fund, I found myself trapped in a controlling relationship, which quickly escalated to consist of regular and extreme abuse. After barely surviving 20 months of multiple brutal incidences, I miraculously gained enough strength, through the little bit of hope I had left, to leave the situation no matter what it took.
Despite being completely alone with no support and nowhere to go, the feeling of freedom that I gained for escaping that relationship made it all worthwhile.
This is not to say that everything in my life was suddenly remotely perfect. The reality proved to be quite challenging. Nonetheless, the self-confidence I had obtained through my experience left me knowing I could get through anything life was to put in front of me. This time around, I could feel something was different; I had a choice and had finally gained a voice. Since those events, I have had an immense passion to get involved and reach out to others in similar situations. I recently contacted Becky, the founder of Becky’s Fund, after being reminded through Facebook what this organization is all about. Becky’s immediate response, which showed so much interest, compassion and understanding, is the reason I have come to feel comfortable with speaking out, opening up and sharing my story with others. Thanks to the support of Becky’s Fund, I am now being given the opportunity to learn valuable tools that allow me to share my message in a more efficient manner and, most importantly, to continuously be educated on domestic violence, awareness, and prevention.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

Having always viewed myself as a very strong independent woman, I never thought i would fall victim to domestic violence. During this difficult time, a friend had suggested I seek help and guidance through Becky's Fund. Not only were Becky and her volunteers extremely helpful in getting me out of that situation, but they were also genuinely concerned for my well-being. This is a great cause being ran by an amazing woman.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2011

more

April 21, 2011

I guess I would be under Client Served and Volunteer. I will put client served though because that is the capacity where I have benefited most. I met Becky about 2 years ago, around the year anniversary of my rape. Since then, she has been a true friend and source of support through my struggles with that experience and dealing with other domestic abuse situations from before and since. I have especially appreciated her efforts to kick me in the ass so to speak, to push myself further to be of help to myself and to others. She believes in me and that has helped me have confidence that I am on a healthy road in dealing with myself and others. I am forever thankful that she pushed me to write for the Becky's Fund newsletter about an event that related to my experiences. I was so angry that she "made" me write! And it was one of the best things anyone has ever done for me because it helped me to move on in a way I had not been able to do for over a year. And she has had faith in me to give back by way of assisting with her Workshops for girls and young women. It has been such a rewarding experience to help inform young people to be self-aware and supportive of others. I did not have this kind of support at a young age and I feel blessed to have an opportunity to help children in any way.
More recently Becky has yet again been pro-active in helping me deal with more recent developments. She personally keeps up with me and encourages me. Through her organization I meet other like-minded people who have been a great source of support. Whenever I am around this group of people I feel so positive about the direction I am taking in my life. It has been a difficult road but one made easier to travel by the people at Becky's Fund.
I am looking forward to again helping with the "Becoming your own Heroine" workshop.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping young people at the "Becoming your own Heroine" workshops; writing about my experiences; having Becky help support me through my own ordeals and encouraging me to participate in opportunities available to survivors of domestic abuse; help with my resume; involvement the amazing events they hold throughout the year

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am so thankful to Becky and Becky's Fund. I hope to help in more ways. Becky's Fund is a very pro-active group that manages to see the big picture -- educating people about domestic abuse -- yet never loses sight of those struggling to leave an abusive situation. Through education and day-to-day assistance, this organization is making a big difference in people's lives on all fronts, including mine.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

through a hh where I met Becky

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

This group, especially Becky and fellow survivors, have encouraged me to have confidence in myself and the progress I have made in my life. They help me on so many levels, from finding a job to figuring out my finances to just having someone to talk to. And through them they remind me that, through my experiences, I have a lot to give back to others.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 28, 2011

more

March 28, 2011

I've had the honor of working with Becky Lee with an event that my colleague and I were throwing in DC. I work in a PR firm and one of my clients is the founder of a cosmetics line whose very passionate about the eradication of domestic violence through education & prevention. We thought partnering with Becky's Fund was the right & perfect choice and we're glad we did. Having worked intimately with Becky for about 3 months organizing this event, she has gone above AND BEYOND her role as Founder and partner for this great cause. She took the initiatize on every aspect of the event from liqour sponsorship to advising on guest lists, to coming to help out (along with 4 of her interns) the day of the event to help stuff gift bags. Not only is she extrmeley dedicated to anything she attaches her name and her organization to, but she also this way of making everyone around her feel comfortable and relevant upon first meeting. She's respectful in every way imaginable. She listens to every suggestion with full attention and gives the best possible feedback for all parties involved and not just wants what is best for her organization. Truly selfless and a trait hard to find in DC.
I've also had the honor and pleasure of being invited to her events and each is different and each is successful. And yet, through it all, she's humble. Another characteristic extremely hard to find especially for someone so coveted by the media and holds considerable influence over the social scene in DC. I cannot sing enough praises for Becky & Becky's Fund! So vote for Becky!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Full success! Washingtonians do not go out during inclement weather and despite a flood warning with considerable amount of rain, Becky's loyal followers still came and supported the event! That speaks volume!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly, nothing right now. It is a great organization with fantastic and effective (not to mention efficient) structure!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers