Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
April 10, 2014

more

April 10, 2014

I believe that God works in poignant and telling ways, which is exemplified by my relationship with Becky's Fund and Becky Lee. 4 months ago, I was finally able to end my abusive relationship, during which I lost my identity, was isolated from my friends and family, and suffered physical abuse. Before my relationship, I had had the opportunity to work with Becky’s Fund as a model in their annual charity fashion show as a model. I learned about the organization’s message, to foster awareness about domestic violence and eradicate it from our culture. And while I never realized I was in an abusive relationship as it was unfolding, I was lucky to have a light at the end of my dark tunnel, as I realized I was living with an abuser. As I ended my relationship, and looked for ways to heal and recover, I reached out to Becky, the founder of Becky’s Fund and asked her if I could come in and talk. She has been an amazing friend and mentor, in working with me in my personal journey to rebuild my life, and also helping me to reach others, and use my story to change the perceptions of domestic violence. I am so excited to continue to work with Becky’s Fund and speak to groups of young people, urging them to be more aware of abuse that might creep into their relationships and the relationships of those close to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Becky's Fund has been such a vital part in the DC Community when it comes to raising awareness for domestic violence. The organization doesnt just focus on working with victims, but rather works proactively in preventing further domestic violence as an issue in our community. I have had the pleasure and honor of attending many of the events and working on fundraisers and have seen just how dedicated the team at Becky's Fund is to each and every single program. I never felt that my time or money was going to be wasted because the organization stays in touch with its followers on keeping them updated with which programs they are funding and how those programs are making a positive impact. Just recently, I participated in the Tough Mudder fundraiser which brought diverse members of the DC Fitness community together to empower several dozen volunteers to raise money while bettering their own personal lives. Also, one program I want to highlight is Becky's Fund Men of Code which is a segment of the organization that works with local DC highschool male athletes and teaching them the importance of healthy relationships.

This organization continually strives to not only spread the message of its cause but to truly embed itself in the community and better it from within.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Becky's Fund has done such a great job in the DC Metro area that I truly do hope it is able to take its mission nationwide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

As Becky's work with victims of domestic violence expands. She goes into the community and attempts to get to the root cause. She tirelessly works with young adults teaching life skills that make a difference. This is paramount as the lessons learned now will give these young adults the tools and education to make the right decisions when difficult circumstances arrive.

I was honored to speak to a auditorium full of young athletes at a school so poor; for many the school lunch is their only meal of the day. Many in the audience are the primary caretaker of younger siblings while still being in high school themselves.

The level of engagement was extraordinary and I was surprised how responsive they where with me and how they reacted to Becky. While actively involved in other charitable organizations I was awed by her work and inspired to help in anyway I can. I look forward to further participation and cannot wait to see what she tackles next.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

As a new member of the DC business community and an active participant in my community, I sought out other business professionals that were making an impact on the community. Partnering my business in Georgetown, Fitness Together with Becky's Fund has been an incredibly enjoyable experience. As my team and I have worked with Becky and her team to get them ready for the Tough Mudder race, I have gained a tremendous amount of respect for Becky Lee and all of those involved with her organization. Donating our services to help Becky's Fund has been a truly elevating experience. I would highly recommend getting involved with Becky's Fund and learning more about her organization. Thank you, Becky for starting such a great organization and asking Fitness Together Central Georgetown to be involved with your mission!

Stacy Adams- Owner of Fitness Together Central Georgetown

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I am proud to support Becky's Fund as it strives to end domestic violence. Not only does Becky's Fund provide assistance to victims, they also encourage advocacy and foster awareness (equally important as these are preventative measures).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

Becky's Fund is a wonderful organization that focuses on assisting victims of domestic violence and helping them to transition from the abusive home environment into a safe lifestyle. My favorite part of the organization is the efficient work that its members do to make sure that the women being served receive the best possible help, not only by meeting their physical needs but also making sure that their emotional needs are met as well. In addition to the reactive work that Becky's Fund does, the organization also focuses on the preventive side of the domestic violence by teaching high school boys about healthy relationships, intimate partner violence, and what it means to be a leader in a relationship, in school, and also their community. Domestic violence is a complicated issue with many sides, and Becky's Fund tries to address every aspect of domestic violence in its community. The organization sponsors many fundraising events to unite the community against domestic violence and work towards a society that respects, honors, and protects women. Becky's Fund not only helps women, but it empowers them to take control of their lives and live as survivors instead of victims of domestic violence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Becky's Fund is amazing! Not only does it lobby for the rights of those affected by domestic violence, but it helps find shelter, legal resources, and other essentials to help victims regain control and normalcy. Any funds or efforts placed in this charity will be so beneficial in a number of ways, spent towards its youth programs, clients, empowerment workshops, and so much more.

Working for BF gave me insight of the problems that many domestic violence victims face on a daily basis. I now have more confidence knowing that I have made a difference in the lives of those that desperately need help, support, and comfort. Always lead by a devoted and hard-working team, I know that Becky's Fund will make great strides towards eradicating domestic violence in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

Becky's Fund exceeds beyond other non-profits as a one-of-kind organization dedicated to spotlighting on the issue of domestic violence. Its creative fundraisers fundraisers attracts supporters from all backgrounds in various ways, from the simple donations to auctioning items.

One of the
most outstanding feats of Becky's Fund is the importance it put on education and prevention programs in stopping domestic violence. I feel that many non-profits overlook this and Becky's Fund is dedicated to be the leader in changing this trend.

By volunteering with Becky's Fund, I get to see the ambitious, strong woman behind it all. Becky is truly an inspiration! And I got to see its loyal supporters from year to year. I am excited to see where Becky's Fund will be in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

For anyone who has suffered at the hand of domestic violence, Becky's Fund acts as a beacon of hope. I cannot sing their praises enough for the incredible work they do with spreading awareness and for encourging others to take a stand. The events they put on are not only creative and elaborate, they also attract people from all walks of life to come together to support a great cause. I am continually impressed by the drive and dedication they have to end domestic violence and help those in need. It goes without saying that they are a remarkable organization, and I am truly looking forward to future events!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Becky's Fund is a wonderful organization that I am proud to support. The passion behind the mission of Becky's fund is evident through Becky's tireless efforts to run the organization and make it a place where victims of abuse can feel safe. I've attended a number of Becky's fund events and the level of detail that goes into operating the organization, transcends into its events. The events are well planned, beautiful, and always classy. I would also say that the organization communicates messages that are frequent, consistent, and effective, which is vital to making sure that victims of abuse have a constant reminder that support is around the corner. This is truly wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers