Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Great time with amazing people for a very important cause. I have been pleased with the Becky's Fund events I attended in the past and look forward to more in the future!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have had the pleasure of working with Becky Lee and her non-profit for the past 2 1/2 years. I first invited Becky to come speak to my Issue's in Women's Health class at American University in the Fall of 2010 and have invited her back every semester since. As a professor at both American and GW it is great to have a local non-profit that is so accessible and can relate to college aged women on such an important topic. Every year my students tell how much of an impact Becky's Fund presentation had and often ask about volunteering with the organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Volunteering for Becky’s Fund has been one of the most gratifying experiences I have had as a student here in Washington, D.C., over the past few years. I first became involved with the organization after Becky Lee came in as a guest speaker on the issue of domestic violence in one of my classes. Becky Lee has a personally inspiring story in the founding this non-profit and the level of her devotion to ending and preventing domestic violence for all women. After that one guest lecture, where Becky put an end to certain myths surrounding DV that I had always heard repeated (such as DV only manifesting as physical abuse), I knew I wanted to work for her organization by contributing my time. When I come into the office, I am given research assignments on university policies surrounding sexual harassment prevention and resources available to students, or domestic violence is rural Alaska where resources are few and far between. I have also been assigned to work on video projects that target 12 to 16 year-olds on the warning signs of dating violence. In such an accomplished and strong organization, I have been thrilled at how much responsibility I have been handed and how respected my work has been, which drives me to work even harder! I feel as though the work I do here is truly helping to make a difference in domestic violence awareness. I plan to stay with Becky’s Fund for a long time to come and I look forward to working directly with clients in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Donating money to a charity is one thing, but donating your time and sweat is another. As I like to joke with Becky, time is not tax deductible. When someone is really moved by a cause they are willing donate their time and energy to help support that cause. I remember getting a text from Becky, "hey, can you come help me out for an hour? We just need to move a few things." 4 or 5 hours later, we have finished moving a "few" things. But that is the life of someone involved with a great cause that they believe in, long days full of countless hours of work. I have never seen someone work as hard as Becky to successfully help others in need. She is able to do what she does, because of her belief in the mission of Becky's Fund. That belief and passion is contagious, and makes it easy to spend countless hours helping out. Bringing awareness to and ending domestic violence is one of the most worthy causes I have volunteered for and I look forward to dedicating more of my time and sweat in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Becky's Fund was one of the most important experiences of my life as in immigrant woman . Becky made me feel and this was not an issue only for Americans that is really happening world wide and we need to so something about it. Is so hard to be on other women shoes that's why you never have to underestimate the pain and the struggle of other people. I'm proud to represent all Latin woman and this charity cause today ... because if we don't do anything about it this issue could affect the people you love the most.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Becky's Fund was one of the most positive working experiences of my life. In the eight months I interned at BF I feel like we made such an impact on the campaign against domestic violence. Before working there I thought of DV as an important issue, but I did not truly realize its magnitude. Becky's Fund showed me that DV is a public issue that has family, community, and national ramifications. One of the great aspects of Becky's Fund is its ability to influence DV on the individual level and the community level. Its programs such as Financial Planning Sessions for Women directly help survivors who seek out help in restarting their lives. Simultaneously its Men's Mentorship Program and College Tour work toward preventing DV by educating America's youth about the issue. Becky's Fund is a wonderful organization that works tirelessly on the anti-DV campaign and is always looking for innovative ways of preventing it. My internship at Becky's Fund was worth every moment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

A friend introduced me to Becky Lee last winter and through speaking with her I first learned about Becky's Fund and its mission to raise awareness of domestic and dating violence. I took particular interest in Becky and her story because I had never met someone who started their own nonprofit organization. It is a relief everytime you meet someone so passionate about a cause that had never previously affected them directly. I believe this represents an awareness of human conditions and experience that extends far beyond oneself. Becky informed me of the various methods Becky's Fund utilizes to help accomplish its mission. One of the programs that I took an interest in is the Young Men's Mentorship program. The purpose of the program is to reduce future instances of domestic violence by providing a role model and setting a positive example for young men who are determined to be at risk of potentially becoming abusers in adulthood. Becky introduced me to the program by inviting me to attend various program events. I discovered that Becky's Fund allowed me the opportunity to contribute to a great cause on a personal level that is missed out on when you just contribute through monetary donations. Becky Lee represents a degree of selflessness that is to be admired and possesses a wealth of compassion. It is a pleasure to work with her and Becky's Fund.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

I've been donating to Becky's Fund for a few years now after I'd met the founder, Becky Lee. Seeing how passioniate she was about this great charity inspired me to get involved. They seem to be constantly coming up with new and exciting ways to raise awareness and help to end domestic violence. I will continue to support this great organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

Like far too many others, my childhood family was marred by domestic violence. Frankly, until I met Becky I was satisfied just to avoid having it recur in my adult family. Meeting Becky, watching her dedication, hard work and learning from the experiences she shared from the many women she has helped changed all that. I now know, for example, that as deadly as it sometimes is, physical abuse may be the least painful occurrence. The psychological and emotional damage done to the "person" of the victim and to the children is devastating because, more often than not, it goes unrecognized and/or untreated for a lifetime. Becky helped me see that in my own life. One word is more appropriate that any other when it comes to Becky's Fund- GIVE!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

Over the past year of interning at Becky's Fund, I've gained valuable insight into the issues surrounding dating and domestic violence through Becky, the other amazing interns, the many enthusiastic volunteers, the numerous survivors willing to bravely share their stories, and so many others I have met through this organization. Each person affiliated with Becky's Fund has taught me so much about the horrors of domestic violence, the inner workings of DC area nonprofits, and life in general. Thank you, Becky and Becky's Fund, for the opportunity to spend my time helping you put an end to dating and domestic violence!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers