Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
December 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 17, 2014

NO! You were NOT at the Capitol Hill during the hearing of MY PANEL DISCUSSION ON IRAN'S NUCLEAR PROGRAM.

Ms. Lee and I expressly discussed the lies in this video when I returned from a conference in London in April of 2010, and I was under the impression that this video was deleted from
the internet.

When confronted with the lies in this video, Ms. Lee repeatedly apologized for her deceptive conduct (all of which is documented), and she assured me that she would take necessary steps to correct the lies perpetuated in this video, which took advantage of my international policy-related work.

It is an absolute disgrace that Ms. Lee continues to use others to further her attempt at reaching "celebrity" status and climbing social ladders of various kind. http://youtu.be/ES5TaeOk2no
April 10, 2014

more

April 10, 2014

I believe that God works in poignant and telling ways, which is exemplified by my relationship with Becky's Fund and Becky Lee. 4 months ago, I was finally able to end my abusive relationship, during which I lost my identity, was isolated from my friends and family, and suffered physical abuse. Before my relationship, I had had the opportunity to work with Becky’s Fund as a model in their annual charity fashion show as a model. I learned about the organization’s message, to foster awareness about domestic violence and eradicate it from our culture. And while I never realized I was in an abusive relationship as it was unfolding, I was lucky to have a light at the end of my dark tunnel, as I realized I was living with an abuser. As I ended my relationship, and looked for ways to heal and recover, I reached out to Becky, the founder of Becky’s Fund and asked her if I could come in and talk. She has been an amazing friend and mentor, in working with me in my personal journey to rebuild my life, and also helping me to reach others, and use my story to change the perceptions of domestic violence. I am so excited to continue to work with Becky’s Fund and speak to groups of young people, urging them to be more aware of abuse that might creep into their relationships and the relationships of those close to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 11, 2013

more

November 11, 2013

I first was introduced to Becky's Fund while volunteering as a model in their 2009 Walk This Way fashion show. Although I was a victim of abuse as a child and had developed PTSD from the trauma, I had not been able to comprehend the common factors from my past experiences that were related to domestic violence. A few months after being introduced to Becky’s Fund, I found myself trapped in a controlling relationship, which quickly escalated to consist of regular and extreme abuse. After barely surviving 20 months of multiple brutal incidences, I miraculously gained enough strength, through the little bit of hope I had left, to leave the situation no matter what it took.
Despite being completely alone with no support and nowhere to go, the feeling of freedom that I gained for escaping that relationship made it all worthwhile.
This is not to say that everything in my life was suddenly remotely perfect. The reality proved to be quite challenging. Nonetheless, the self-confidence I had obtained through my experience left me knowing I could get through anything life was to put in front of me. This time around, I could feel something was different; I had a choice and had finally gained a voice. Since those events, I have had an immense passion to get involved and reach out to others in similar situations. I recently contacted Becky, the founder of Becky’s Fund, after being reminded through Facebook what this organization is all about. Becky’s immediate response, which showed so much interest, compassion and understanding, is the reason I have come to feel comfortable with speaking out, opening up and sharing my story with others. Thanks to the support of Becky’s Fund, I am now being given the opportunity to learn valuable tools that allow me to share my message in a more efficient manner and, most importantly, to continuously be educated on domestic violence, awareness, and prevention.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Becky's Fund has been such a vital part in the DC Community when it comes to raising awareness for domestic violence. The organization doesnt just focus on working with victims, but rather works proactively in preventing further domestic violence as an issue in our community. I have had the pleasure and honor of attending many of the events and working on fundraisers and have seen just how dedicated the team at Becky's Fund is to each and every single program. I never felt that my time or money was going to be wasted because the organization stays in touch with its followers on keeping them updated with which programs they are funding and how those programs are making a positive impact. Just recently, I participated in the Tough Mudder fundraiser which brought diverse members of the DC Fitness community together to empower several dozen volunteers to raise money while bettering their own personal lives. Also, one program I want to highlight is Becky's Fund Men of Code which is a segment of the organization that works with local DC highschool male athletes and teaching them the importance of healthy relationships.

This organization continually strives to not only spread the message of its cause but to truly embed itself in the community and better it from within.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Becky's Fund has done such a great job in the DC Metro area that I truly do hope it is able to take its mission nationwide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

As Becky's work with victims of domestic violence expands. She goes into the community and attempts to get to the root cause. She tirelessly works with young adults teaching life skills that make a difference. This is paramount as the lessons learned now will give these young adults the tools and education to make the right decisions when difficult circumstances arrive.

I was honored to speak to a auditorium full of young athletes at a school so poor; for many the school lunch is their only meal of the day. Many in the audience are the primary caretaker of younger siblings while still being in high school themselves.

The level of engagement was extraordinary and I was surprised how responsive they where with me and how they reacted to Becky. While actively involved in other charitable organizations I was awed by her work and inspired to help in anyway I can. I look forward to further participation and cannot wait to see what she tackles next.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Simple curiosity first attracted me to Becky's Fund and then ........I had the occasion to speak with Becky and hear the story of how she abandoned the practice of law, my profession, and used her earnings as a survivor contestant to start the organization that she has built into the preeminent advocate for the victims of domestic abuse and violence. I accompanied her one Sunday afternoon on a visit to Baltimore to comfort a new client. I listened intently not just to Becky's masterful knowledge, but also to the compassion she demonstrated in speaking with a lady distressed at being homeless and fearful for her safety and that of her children. Having witnessed domestic violence in my household as a child, it was a most touching experience. Since then I have done all I can to support this great organization and I shall continue to do so. So should you!.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

As a new member of the DC business community and an active participant in my community, I sought out other business professionals that were making an impact on the community. Partnering my business in Georgetown, Fitness Together with Becky's Fund has been an incredibly enjoyable experience. As my team and I have worked with Becky and her team to get them ready for the Tough Mudder race, I have gained a tremendous amount of respect for Becky Lee and all of those involved with her organization. Donating our services to help Becky's Fund has been a truly elevating experience. I would highly recommend getting involved with Becky's Fund and learning more about her organization. Thank you, Becky for starting such a great organization and asking Fitness Together Central Georgetown to be involved with your mission!

Stacy Adams- Owner of Fitness Together Central Georgetown

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I am proud to support Becky's Fund as it strives to end domestic violence. Not only does Becky's Fund provide assistance to victims, they also encourage advocacy and foster awareness (equally important as these are preventative measures).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

Having always viewed myself as a very strong independent woman, I never thought i would fall victim to domestic violence. During this difficult time, a friend had suggested I seek help and guidance through Becky's Fund. Not only were Becky and her volunteers extremely helpful in getting me out of that situation, but they were also genuinely concerned for my well-being. This is a great cause being ran by an amazing woman.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

Becky's Fund is a wonderful organization that focuses on assisting victims of domestic violence and helping them to transition from the abusive home environment into a safe lifestyle. My favorite part of the organization is the efficient work that its members do to make sure that the women being served receive the best possible help, not only by meeting their physical needs but also making sure that their emotional needs are met as well. In addition to the reactive work that Becky's Fund does, the organization also focuses on the preventive side of the domestic violence by teaching high school boys about healthy relationships, intimate partner violence, and what it means to be a leader in a relationship, in school, and also their community. Domestic violence is a complicated issue with many sides, and Becky's Fund tries to address every aspect of domestic violence in its community. The organization sponsors many fundraising events to unite the community against domestic violence and work towards a society that respects, honors, and protects women. Becky's Fund not only helps women, but it empowers them to take control of their lives and live as survivors instead of victims of domestic violence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers