Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Write A Review
December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

Twenty plus years ago Bea Salazar was blessed with a vision and a mission after observing the needs of many low income apartment children. These many years later, hundreds of these youngsters have attained a high school diploma and succeeded in stepping out into life with strength and confidence in their future...some even with advanced education in mind. I bake a monthly cupcake treat for the Carrollton Center and am welcomed by the smiling faces of three rooms of extremely polite and well behaved youngsters eagerly finishing their homework with the help of caring volunteers knowing their dedicated help is giving these young minds a definite chance to grow and succeed in the years ahead. Thank you Bea Salazar for the long time success of "BEA'S KIDS" ... through your faithfulness to a much needed cause, your determined efforts have seen this wonderful program continue to grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Bea's Kids is a great organization!! Not only do they help the kids, they help the community which is great. I have been working with Bea's Kids for almost 3 months now and I love the kids and enjoy the people I work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been with Bea's Kids since I was in the 2nd grade and can honestly say that it is a wonderful organization. I have now graduated high school and am part of the program serving as the Farmers Branch Center Director. Everyday is both satisfying and rewarding, the fact that Bea's Kids helps all of these children do something better with their lives and keep them occupied on good things is a very good thing. Everyday I get to help kids with their school work as well as have fun with them, and let me tell you, there is no better feeling at the end of the day than knowing you helped make a positive difference in someones life. I can personally say that Bea's Kids can and has changed lives, it helped me become the person I am today. Instead of being out doing other things, everday I would go to the center and work on my homework as well as on other activities and thatnks to the daily encouragment and help I received from the volunteers and everyone else there I suceeded at school. There was not one day that I would not look forward to going to the tutoring center, everyday was fantastic. This truly is a great organization that I will be thankful to for the rest of my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I volunteered for four years at Bea's Kids as the Tutoring Manager. My most satisfyng outcome was the high school graduation of six students those four years. There is nothing like the feeling you are making a difference every time you tutor a student.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Bea's kids provided both my daughters with exposure to the non-profit world as well as to helping children. It inspired them to create an initative "Sitting for snacks" where monies they earned was used to procure heallthy snacks which were then donated to the center for Bea's Kids to have while studing after school. Many of hours were volunteered during the school years and during the summers. Bea's Kids allowed them to volunteer in accordance to their own schedule and was a win-win-win opportunity for all. After meeting Bea and understanding the origin of the organization, one daughter vowed to eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches almost every day at school to remind her of how fortunate she is and how others may not be so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been volunteering at Bea's Kids for a few years. Each time I volunteer feels great because I know that I can make a difference in someone's life and that feeling is priceless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Bea's Kids has been helping low income children after school for years and years. Their after-school program is often the help and encouragement and love these children receive on an on-going basis. I'm thrilled to help in every way possible!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 23, 2011

I've been volunteering with Bea's Kids for over five years. I've also served on the board for one year. I think it is a wonderful organization. Bea Salazar, the founder, is the most caring person I've... more

November 12, 2012

I've been volunteering for Bea's Kids for five years. They do a great job of providing a safe place for kids to go after school to get help with their homework. Bea Salazar started it more than 20 years ago because she saw a need in her community. She's still very involved in the organization and the good it does for the Dallas, Farmers Branch, and Carrolton communities. They encourage kids to stay in school and give them the tools to help them succeed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with Bea's Kids for over five years. I've also served on the board for one year. I think it is a wonderful organization. Bea Salazar, the founder, is the most caring person I've ever met. The kids who come to Bea's Kids enjoy having a safe place to go after school and get help with their homework. They learn that someone other than their parents considers their education very important. They also learn that there are other people out there who care about them and will listen to them when they have problems. I started volunteering with Bea's Kids with my daughter for her service hours for school. My daughter is now away in college, but I still volunteer as much as I can.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've volunteered as a tutor, helped with fundraisers and served on the board of directors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way for them to have more money in the budget. There is so much more that could be done for these kids if they only had enough money to do it.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers